FS 70 R

Image of fs70rce
This professional-grade, straight-shaft grass trimmer is fuel efficient and produces low emissions.

Product Description

As a professional, your time is valuable. The STIHL FS 70 R grass trimmer understands that. It features a powerful and fuel-efficient engine, which means longer run times and fewer refuels. The FS 70 R is also powerful (more powerful than the FS 56 RC-E) and makes quick work of your daily landscaping tasks. Need more line? Just tap the cutting head on the ground and watch as its AutoCut® head automatically feeds out new line. The trimmer is also built to last, featuring a durable cable drive shaft, a high-durability, forged connecting rod and a 4-bearing gearbox. And it’s all backed by a rock-solid two-year limited warranty.

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart
    Need help selecting a cutting head or blade for your STIHL trimmer or brushcutter?

    Click here to view the Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart (PDF Format).
  • Loop Handle (R)
    Loop handle grass trimmers and brushcutters are ideal for trimming between bushes and shrubs and other areas where space is limited.
  • Shoulder Strap / Carrying System
    Using a shoulder strap or carrying system helps distribute the weight of the equipment for increased operator comfort and improved maneuverability.
  • Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle makes it easy to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Purge Pump Primer
    By pressing the bulb, this small fuel pump delivers fuel to the carburetor, reducing the number of starting pulls needed after an extended break between uses.
  • Upright Translucent Fuel Tank
    Allows operator to easily check fuel level before starting work. Upright position makes it easier to refill.
  • Protected Spark Arrestor Muffler
    Has large baffles which reduce noise level and contains a screen designed to reduce the emission of sparks.
  • Protected Spark Plug
    Protected yet easy to change.
  • Simplified Starting Procedure
    To get started, simply pump the fuel primer, set the choke and pull the starter cord. The built-in stop switch allows the user to turn off the engine with a simple press of the button. When the engine is off, the throttle lock automatically returns to the “start” setting. Your power tool will be ready to be started when you’re ready to get back to work.

    See it in action!
  • Heavy-Duty Steel-On-Steel Clutch
    Centrifugal clutch is designed to reduce slippage.
  • Protected or Enclosed Control Cables
    Eliminate dangling and loose wires.
  • Air Filter Cover
    Easily removed for fast and easy filter cleaning or replacement.
  • Throttle Trigger Interlock
    Must be depressed before the trigger can be activated.
  • Protected Choke Lever/Knob
    Helps prevent damage.
  • High Tech Polymer Housing
    Housings are lightweight, withstand greater impact and are corrosion-resistant.
  • Fully Lined Drive Shaft
    Provides smooth operation and less vibration.
  • Adjustable Front Handle
    Adjusts for comfort.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
0.9 kW (1.2 bhp)
WEIGHT*
4.8 kg (10.6 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
340 cc (11.5 oz.)
CUTTING SWATH
16.5"
POWER SOURCE
Gas
*Weight without cutting attachment or deflector.

Important Information

WARNING! Improper use of any trimmer/brushcutter can cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow all safety instructions in your instruction manual. To reduce the risk of injury from blade contact, circular saw blades may be used on FS brushcutters that have a limitstop, a bicycle handle and double shoulder harness and not on FS brushcutters with a "J" handle or loop handle. Other rigid blades may be used on FS brushcutters having a bicycle handle, a "J" handle or a loop handle equipped with a barrier bar. To reduce the risk of eye injury always wear proper eye protection. Always use the appropriate deflector for the type of cutting attachment, as explained in your instruction manual.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

FS 70 R is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 312.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good power for yard maintenance I use this trimmer for keeping a couple of homestead acres trimmed. It has plenty of power for my needs. With the auto-feed head, it's fairly easy to use. The only problem is that its rotation is reverse from my older, smaller Stihl curve-shaft trimmer, so that takes some getting used to so that the debris flies ahead of you and not back into your ankles and legs. Definitely wear eye protection because with the power, stuff flies at high speed when cutting.I don't mind paying the Stilh premium for the Stihl dependability.
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my needs Stihl is always a great product and this is no different. Great trimmer for more than average homeowner usage. I use it to trim the neighborhood’s pond/lake area and it tackles most anything I throw at it. Also use it to trim local hiking/biking trails. Starts fast and reliably. Runs great for hours. It does go through line quickly, even with tougher gauge line, so a bigger spool would be nice.
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trimmer! Very easy to use, ergonomically it's very easy and comfortable to handle. Line replacement is kind of a pain, but the replacement pre-wound spools are handy when time is short. I definitely recommend this trimmer for a professional or a homeowner with a lot of yard to keep up.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from When it's up and running, it's great. But . . . This is my fourth gas trimmer, and my first Stihl trimmer. I'm extremely disappointed . . . and this is supposed to be one of the "professional" grade models. I'm glad my livelihood isn't depending on it.1. Floods and won't start almost without provocation. Even on a hot, 95+ degree day, it is the most flooding prone motor I've ever used. If I follow the instructions to the letter, it still floods. So, I devised my own starting procedure - basically, I don't use the prime bulb and only use half choke. But, it's rediculously prone to flooding on a "cold" start, even on a HOT day. Once the motor is hot, then everything's fine . . . except for:2. I have not yet made it through a session of trimming without having to stop and disassemble the line reel (still the factory line) to re-thread the line. It has the annoying habit of, when you tap the auto-feed to get more line out, instead it SUCKS ALL THE LINE BACK IN! I've never had a trimmer do that before, ever! It has done it every time I've used it, and it really pi**es me off to have to stop and disassemble the reel every time I'm in the middle of working on a 95 degree day.Had I bought any other brand of trimmer at a major hardware chain store, and it behaved this way, I'd have already returned it for a full refund. BUT NOT STIHL. You buy it, you own it and you can't return it. So, I'm stuck with making it work for however long into the future. Not happy with it.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Trimmer Bought this trimmer today after months of research and it rocks. Just finished trimming my 3 plus acre yard and man what a difference from my other one. Started right up, easy string dispenser, and plenty of power. Went through two tanks of gas in no time and no looking back. Trimming was easy, fast and affordable. Awesome machine STIHL loyal customer forever.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy. Lots of power, starts easy. 3rd season I have used it and it's showing no sign of slowing down. Only down side is it is a little on the heavy side.
Date published: 2019-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oustanding Trimmer Once I put high quality line on it (the line provided by Ace Hardware was old and not installed correctly) it worked like a champ. Very easy to start. Although a little heavy, it's well balanced so cutting through a lot of brush for over an hour wasn't as tiring as I feared. Best of all is that it blasts through all kinds of scrub brush up to 1/2" thick. I will cut thicker stems, but not quite as easily. Adding new line is very easy requiring just a few minutes.Use high quality line and you'll get the best results from this well built machine. I'm currently using Shakespeare .95 Ballistic Triangular line.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fs 70 R This weed eater goes to work with me every day Very dependable
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is well made, tough, with plenty of power for its weight. This is the second trim of this model I have purchased. The first unit still runs great. These units are used on large properties (100 plus acres). I select them for their weight, ease of use, and power. They are light enough to use without a harness, edge the lawn, yet rugged enough to trim the pump areas, gates and pasture areas, and other large locations.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buy a Redmax trimmer I've had other Stihl products which are fantastic but it seems these new trimmers are at a Homelite level. Garbage. correction, overpriced garbage. My FS 85 and FS 80 were good trimmers. Not great but good. The FS70R is terrible. I used it for just 10 hours and it broke twice in me. I was told not to worry because it was under warranty. I don't want a warranty, want a string trimmer that works. Period. I took it back to Montigue Tool and left it on the floor. I then drove to Campbell small engine and bought a RedMax. I'll never buy another Stihl product again. I have now experienced quality.
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I had a Stihl FS 85 in the past and was looking to replace it, and was a little skeptical how the FS 70R would compare. I was super impressed! Better power, easier starting and better balance makes me wonder why I didn’t do this sooner!It has plenty of power and I like the ability to put a blade on it as well if I need to.
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from motor gets a 5 Auto line feeder gets a 0 I love the easy start and that it runs forever. Great design so I don't get a sore back while using it. But...... The auto line feeder is terrible! It doesn't feed when you 'bump' the head. You have to slam the head down. Thats if it's not tangled inside. I spend more time rewinding and adjusting the line than actually using the machine. I'm going to see if I can replace the head with a one that you feed the cut line into. Otherwise, not sure how much I'll even be able to use this.
Date published: 2019-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bang for buck. I purchased this trimmer at my local dealer. And i am very impressed. I’ve used STIHL in the past at an old job which is why i chose STIHL. This trimmer is fairly priced and i changed out the head that it came with for the aluminum head and used thick string like really thick stuff that is used in those big weedeeders with the wheels. And it still has a lot of power and i can easily cut down thick weeds and since the string is so durable i can go forever. So i highly recommend this trimmer.
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good quality trimmer at a reasonable price I am a long time owner of Stihl chainsaws, backpack blowers and trimmers. I tell people that ask that Stihl vs competing brands (like the other orange ones) is like the difference between a Mercedes S class and a Chevy Impala. There really is no comparison. The Stihl pro line products are better designed, better built, and last longer than other brands. I know because I have owned quite a few competing products. You may pay a bit more for Stihl but their products are well worth the extra expense.The FS70R is well balanced and reasonably powerful. I own an older FS130R and the 70R is noticeably less powerful. However, it is adequate, even for bigger tough jobs. My only real gripe is that the trimmer did not come with s shoulder strap. If you’re using the trimmer for 10-15 minutes not having a shoulder strap is okay. Working for 30-60 minutes really requires a shoulder strap. The dealer where I bought the trimmer did not have shoulder straps in stock when I made my purchase; if they had, I would have purchased a should when I bought the trimmer. The design of the throttle and kill switch is an improvement over the older FS130 I already own.If you’re looking to try Stihl products this is a good model to try because it balances cost and performance well.My only advice is that you use Stihl two cycle oil and non-oxy premium gasoline; if you do your Stihl will start when needed and run for many years without giving you trouble.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is always dependable Always easy to start, string feeds easily and has the power needed and good for running at long periods of time. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bolts loosen easily The head loosened and the bolts and blades fell off.I lost one nut and one bolt completely. I had to stop for the day. Bought new screws and nuts. My husband tried i t next and the head and blades fell apart while using it and he also lost the nuts holding it in. Had to quit until We get more bolts and nuts. I wish I never bought this! The bolts and nuts rattle off with normal use. I haven’t had it work long enough to know how ofteni it needs to be tightened while working. I never had one that required constant maintenance just to do normal work. I watch landscapers and I don’t see them stopping and tightening bolts every 10 minutes or so. This is the worst model I have ever had. Sure glad I had my other model older trimmer fixed so I can get some work done next time. The trimmer has great power and works good when it stays together. I would definitely not recommend this product. I don’t even want it. It’s just frustrating.
Date published: 2019-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot better than expected I have used many weed eaters last one being a 4 cycle and this one blows it away with power ..surprising power associate told me there is no comparison and he wasn't kidding ..I mean how can you go wrong spending just a little more for a tool that you know will last and be worth servicing compared to spending just a little less and having to replace it when it goes down..... if you are going to do it, do it once and do it right
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Trimmer Great trimmer, starts and runs without any trouble. Does a very good job in trimming all grass and weed on my property.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Vibrates BAD! I normally am a big Stihl fan, but this one is not one I recommend. It vibrates so bad, my hands are numb for hours afterwards. It also is a little underpowered, it tends to bog in thick weeds. Another thing, it could use a better deflector, it does a poor job of keeping debris at bay. I wouldn't reccomend it.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Trimmer I am a homeowner and bought this for personal use on roughly 1 acre. My property has a lot of mature landscaping, as well as a long rock-lined drainage ditch. My old trimmer would constantly run out of fuel or line, stall, wrap grass around it's head, or all of the above, right in the middle of working. That grew tiresome enough that I decided to upgrade to a professional-grade trimmer. I am glad I did. This trimmer starts on the first try, every time (I don't think it has ever required more than 3 pulls). I have yet to run out of fuel during my work. I use the pre-mixed fuel. It is more expensive, but I view that as protecting a large investment. It does occasionally run out of line, but my drainage ditch is lined with river rock and any trimmer would burn through line there. It is a relief to have a tool that starts when I want it to and has the power to trim everything I need it to. I do wish the head had a speed spool feature (i.e. Echo Speed Feed), but for the once per week that I use the trimmer, it is hardly a deal-breaker. Also, I don't know yet if I will regret buying a model that doesn't allow me to grease the gearbox. I haven't had the trimmer long enough for that to matter.I have saved countless hours by upgrading to a strong, reliable machine. It is on the high end for price, but it is worth it and does exactly what it is supposed to do.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer. Tons of power. I love this FS 70 R. Runs like a dream. Tackles high weeds with no problem. Easy to start. Easy to use. Keep up the good work!
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome trimmer worth the money Great power , easy starting and sthl dependability. I like the extended warranty using the sthl oil / fuel. I
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl is #1 Purchased in 2011. Always starts and no repairs in first 8 years. A bit heavy but once you get used to it I wouldn't have any other weedeater. I used Echos for years. They are good and lighter but tall grass will wrap around the cutter housing causing you to stop and untangle This never happens with this Stihl trimmer!
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good balance and plenty of torque to power through tough weeds. Have only had a month now but am enjoying the easy starting as well as the precision of this trimmer. Plentiful power and torque at low speeds. Easy to modulate trimmer speed to get around delicate yard ornaments and solar lights without damage. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and trims all of my needs I have two trimmers and only one is a Stihl. It's by far the best of the two. I tell all of my friends and family to buy Stihl.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerfull Well balanced. Comfortable to use for long periods. Easy to start when cold or hot. Plenty of power. Smooth engine acceleration and precise throttle control. At full power, using only line, large thick weeds, like thistle, cut easily. The line cutting head removes easily for line replacement.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pull rope On my recently purchased FS70R the pull rope come all the way out and I must disassembly and fix. Design should be better than all plastic in this area which gets a lot of stress.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has worked good in the first 2 months of use. Smaller gas tank so it seens to use fuel faster then some models, but I like the tank size because its a little more forgiving on the lower back and shoulders with all day use. Good value for the money.
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply-Put ! This is Stihl the "BEST" trimmer I have ever owned... Works better than any other trimmer I have ever owned. The engine has a very-high rate of speed and, is very easy to start once you learn how the choke system is set-up to function. The "Dealer" was Truthful about the quality of this trimmer. The care and maintenance of this trimmer is simple if one takes the (time) to read and follow the care instructions /manual. Trimmer line is easier - maintained if running at full speed when being tapped for line extension. At a lower speed the line will not release properly and can become a problem for the Trimmer to function properly. Most people do not seem to realize this fact and, blame it on the trimmer its-self. all lines will eventually break, some sooner than others depending on the type of Terrain being used on but! there are ways to help extend the life of any trimmers line.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine. It is working very well for me No complaints! Starts up every time and runs well. Has an appropriate amount of power. Does not steal my cheeseburgers.
Date published: 2019-05-30
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_312
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs70rce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Optional Accessories

  • Straps and Harnesses
    They distribute the load from your hands to your shoulders. They also help reduce operator fatigue and make it easier to use trimmers, brushcutters and clearing saws for extended periods.
  • Trimmer Line
    There's high-performance STIHL trimmer line for every operating condition. 
  • Trimmer Heads & Blades
    Many trimmer heads and blades are available. Find out which ones to use with this model in this chart.  

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Trimmers
    View the features common to many STIHL trimmers.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

How to Wind a STIHL Trimmer Head - Video
Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart (PDF)
Download Instructions on How to Rewind Your Trimmer Head (PDF)
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer