FSE 60

Image of fse60
This electric trimmer is lightweight and exceptionally quiet.

Product Description

Make every cut a clean cut. Part of our environmentally responsible line of trimmers, the STIHL FSE 60 electric trimmer brings the power without the exhaust emissions. With an easy squeeze of the trigger, this lightweight grass trimmer is capable of handling small to moderate yard work while remaining powerful and surprisingly quiet – under 60 decibels when equipped with STIHL Quiet Line™.  Re-filling the line on the FSE 60 is easy thanks to the TapAction™ AutoCut® C 6-2 cutting head. This trimmer is the perfect choice for homeowners that value convenience that’s easy on the ears and easier on the environment.

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart
    Need help selecting a cutting head or blade for your STIHL trimmer or brushcutter?

    Click here to view the Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart (PDF Format).
  • Built-In Cord Retainer
    The built-in cord retainer helps prevent the power cord from becoming accidentally disconnected.

    See it in action!
  • Loop Handle (R)
    Loop handle grass trimmers and brushcutters are ideal for trimming between bushes and shrubs and other areas where space is limited.
  • TapAction™ AUTOCUT® Head
    TapAction™ AUTOCUT® C 5-2 cutting head for easy line refilling. Simply tap the head to feed the double nylon line.

    See it in action!
  • STIHL Electric Motor
    Lightweight and compact, STIHL electric motors require minimal maintenance and feature low noise levels and reduced vibration.
  • Start/Run/Stop Controls on Handle
  • High Tech Polymer Housing
    Housings are lightweight, withstand greater impact and are corrosion-resistant.

Specifications

WEIGHT*
4.0 kg (8.8 lbs.)
CUTTING SWATH
35.5 cm (14")
MOTOR OUTPUT
0.6 kW (5.3 amps)
VOLTAGE
120 volt (60 Hz)
POWER SOURCE
Electric
*Weight without cutting attachment or deflector.

Important Information

WARNING! Improper use of any trimmer/brushcutter can cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow all safety instructions in your instruction manual. To reduce the risk of injury from blade contact, circular saw blades may be used on FS brushcutters that have a limitstop, a bicycle handle and double shoulder harness and not on FS brushcutters with a "J" handle or loop handle. Other rigid blades may be used on FS brushcutters having a bicycle handle, a "J" handle or a loop handle equipped with a barrier bar. To reduce the risk of eye injury always wear proper eye protection. Always use the appropriate deflector for the type of cutting attachment, as explained in your instruction manual.

Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

FSE 60 is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 147.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 3 yrs old, shaft broke As others have noted, line loading is difficult but I tolerated that, It eats a lot of line, check. But in about 3 years the shaft that turns the head broke where it attached to the motor. Surprisingly I can still make it usable by pulling up snugly on the handle. But that's a pain. This thing gets used maybe 6-8 times a year and I would have expected to last longer
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from JUNK! I have had this product for over three years, and as a result I find it a wast if good money to purchase this item. First to replace the string on the machine is a major ordeal, it is never easy and as of today clogged the shaft and burned up the motor. Needless to say I would not recommend this item even to the most skilled. Do Not WASTE YOUR MONEY!
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A line-loading nightmare. You can only load 6.5 ft of line, so reloading all the time. And each time, a struggle. I called the local Stihl dealer about getting the easy-load head replacement. He said it was not available for electric. Came here to verify that—but cant find the info.
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way more time spent with string problems that weed wacking! When this product is working it works very well but the fact is I have spent 99% of my time trying to load the line and 1% actually using it since I bought it. For an expensive item it is the worst piece of equipment I have ever bought. For the price I paid this was a disastrous purchase. I would recommend buying something else unless you have endless hours available for trying to get it to work.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is a great workhorse My old different brand, single-line trimmer was very hard and tedious to use. This Stihl, double-line trimmer "almost" made it fun to whack weeds! I use it on a large property with a slope, in the mountains (as a lawnmower, because a lawnmower cannot be used there). It handled heavy weeds and other brush beautifully. Some of the weeds were wet so I could not use the automatic line feeder, (there was no place to tap it). So I would stop, push the top with my hand, and pull the lines out. An extra step at times, but it kept me going to finish the job with a smile!
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer Being an older woman that does her own trimming, I love this trimmer. It’s well balanced, easy to use, and relatively lightweight. The motor runs very smooth so I don’t get terrible vibrations going up my arms as with other brands. I’m very pleased with this product.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from crap it's over engineered by a factor of 10000000.you had one job FSE 60- make trimming the stuff easy.i hate this thing. it is the hardest line loading design ever created by human beings. it's broken forwards and backwards.don't do it ........don't!
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Hard to Load the Line I've had this unit for a bit over a year. I have a fairly small yard so dragging around a cord is no big deal since I've been doing that for years with other tools. Other Stihl brand products I've owned have been great so was looking forward to using a decent string trimmer for a change.This one has lots of power and tackles the job well. Until it's time to replace the string, which unfortunately I have to do after each use. This thing really eats through the string, especially if you're trimming around concrete pathways or especially on chain link fences. As many others have mentioned, it's extremely difficult to wind the string onto the spool. I like the idea of being able to poke the ends into the spool without removing it, and then just turning the spool to load it up. However, it constantly gets caught making it difficult to turn. This is absolutely the most frustrating and aggravating lawn maintenance chore - respooling the stupid line.Since you're paying top dollar for Stihl I just suffer through it every time and will keep using it until it dies, or until I finally get fed up and toss it into the street.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A waste of $$$ I am in the one star camp. Very very frustrated trying to load the line. It worked great the first few times I used it, but then it would not keep the line wound on the spool. I even downloaded and followed the manual from the web. Took it back to the store and asked them how to load the line, but was NOT successful. Yep, you guessed it...NO REFUND or exchange. This trimmer has been taking up space in my garage for about 8 years now and reminding me of my frustration everytime I look at it. I only got to use it about 6 to 8 times years ago. It's now going in the November Neighborhood yard sale. Maybe I can recoup a few dollars for an edger.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not as sturdy as the first one. This is the third FSE60 I've owned, and I like just about everything about it. It is not inconvenient to use a 100' extension cord (sorry gas hogs) and it is powerful enough to handle anything around the yard. It is quieter than any gas trimmer and starts with the pull of a trigger EVERY TIME. That's a huge plus. However, this latest model doesn't feel as sturdy as the first two. I had problems with the feed head immediately (had it apart three of four times on day one, one of the eyelets was missing from the same feed head and it took some doing to finally get the bump-and-feed thing to work properly. It has been fine ever since. I use it both to edge (flip it and run it - no getting burned from a muffler) and to trim. I would recommend it again. It also took almost an hour to get it out of the store. Although there was one on the rack, the gentleman from Ace went to the back and got a different one out of the box. It took an eternity.
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Make it work I have had this for a year now. I read the reviews before I bought it and thought I could handle it. It has been reliable although I carry a set of pliers with me when I use it so I can get the twine to advance. I have rewound the twine numerous times and ways and it auto-feeds about 20% of the time. The rest of the time I have to pull the twine out with the pliers. Very frustrating on a hot day.Also the rpm’s that the head turns does tend to blow my Bermuda grass down and make it difficult to get the desired cut.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I cautiously recommend this FSE 60. Be sure to use Stihl line and not the store brand. I've have my FSE60 for about 5 years. It was the biggest headache for years until I read on the internet you need to use Stihl's trimmer line. Yep, I was using cheap so-called premium X line from Home Depot and getting mad every time I tried to trim. It wouldn't feed as expected and I was ready to sell it. This year (2018) I bought a small spool of Stihl line and those issues mostly vanished. Two benefits here - It feeds better and it sure as heck holds up better.I will mention one problem I had earlier this year. I dropped the FSE60 on concrete and it stopped working. I opened the unit and found the power connector slid off, probably from the force of the drop. Easy fix but odd to engineer it this way.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hate this trimmer Hate this trimmer. Difficult to use - Trims unevenly. IMPOSSIBLE to reload line and difficult to have the line advance. Now I can't get the line to advance at all and can't get it apart to get the line that is still in there out. Had a another brand for over 20 years and needed to replace it ASAP. Store did not have the brand a wanted so I got the Stihl. Big mistake.
Date published: 2018-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use Poly Cut Head for trouble free trimming Great plug and play trimmer. Avoid trimmer line problems by buying the FSE with Stihl’s 3-6 poly cut trimmer head. Works like a champ and is the best of both worlds: no hard starting engine, and no hassle cutter blades.
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT BUY! The casing around the plug prevented me from using a standard extension cord (I tried 4 different ones). The fun didn't end there. It is extremely difficult to replace the line in this machine and it eats through the line in minutes. In 3 hours of work, 1.5 was spent trying to replace the line and 1.5 was spent whacking weeds.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of bang for the buck -- I'm a fan FSE trimmer is perfect for me. Do not want to deal with gas engines and storing gasoline. It handles pretty heavy brush on my property and is light weight enough so that I, in my 70s and not an athlete, can deal with a lot of area and even small woody brush.i am now on my 4th FSE which is absolutely no criticism of the trimmer -- I use it really hard and it performs well. And comparatively inexpensive to replace. I'm a fan.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a stihl Easy to use. dependable corded electric trimmer. don't waste your money on battery powered. will not last... I'm an experienced user if trimmers so loading line naturally I took spool apart to load. better this way, clean out head frequently and no problems with auto feed. important to clean out the head of your trimmer!!! grass will build up and cause problems.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best trimmer I have ever used. I have been using a trimmer ever since I was 12 years old. I used to endorse the CRAFTSMAN product. I did alot of research on electric trimmers. Poulan, craftsman, .etc. before I was introduced to this STIHL version. I have read reviews about the head on the STIHL trimmer not properly sending out enough line. Please try it on the grass at maximum speed. No problems what so ever. It is the heaviest electric trimmer I have used, however, it is the most powerful also. I love it.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to operate and use in general its a beast, cuts down some tough stuff, goes through grass like butter
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight and powerful this tool is a pleasure to use edging my flower beds to perfection
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer - works great but - who can possibly load the trimmer line? I really like the Stihl trimmer. it works great. Only one HUGE problem - extremely difficult to load my own line. Extremely difficult. It takes lots of male type muscle to turn that stupid thing. I am sorry I purchased this model for this reason alone. If you have the muscle, go for it. if you don't - and I do not (I am older female) get something else that either doesn't depend on trimmer line or another brand. I've gone back to dealer, he loads it for me. However I refuse to go back each time. Recommend Yes if you are strong; NO if you are average strength.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from great motor, very poor string feeder design As others have written, this trimmer has good quality parts, but its functionality is well below par. The trimmer head is poorly designed and is prone to jamming. In addition, winding string and attaching successfully is very difficult. I donated mine to salvation army within 3 years of purchasing it. Disappointing.
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Will not feed I have had this trimmer for three years. I love the power of the trimmer, but it will not feed the string. Every time I need more string it is jammed and I have to take it apart, rewind the spool and use it until I need more string. It's a shame this is a problem because it is a far superior trimmer than any I have owned.
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trimmer Cord Does Not Feed This is the worst trimmer I've owned. I spent a lot on the STIHL and I wish I would have stayed with the much cheaper brand I had that lasted for more than 10 years. The trimmer cord does not feed out like it should. It takes triple the time it should to trim my yard because I have to stop every few feet of trimming and try to fix the cord. I regret this purchase. I took it back after the first time I tried to use it, but the dealer would not let me return it. I've now had it two years and my frustration continues to grow!
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wanted to like it... I have owned this trimmer for nearly 7 years now. This week the line on one side was already not loading and the other side the line has broken off inside the spool and I can't get the bump head off to fix it because of wear and tear over the years.I loved the idea of not having to deal with oil and gas and less maintenance but the line loading was rather challenging for me. It doesn't seem difficult (you just stick the ends into the eyelets and twist the bump head) but for me the 2 sides (the internal and the external) islets never seemed to want to line up right even when the arrows were lined up.Having to deal with an extension cord wasn't enjoyable either but I knew it would be required up front and every drive system (gas, corded, batteries) all have their downsides. I will be going with a battery powered one this time though.It does have a good amount of power and it is relatively durable, balanced, and lightweight.
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A lemon Looking at the other reviews, I must have purchased a 'lemon'. It takes a lot of muscle to open the string compartment and it will NOT send out new string when it's needed. I would not recommend this for anyone. The string needs to be replaced frequently IF you can get it to send any new string out at all!
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best pieces of equipment on my farm Just to mention I never write reviews and I am discouraged with most of the products on the market. But I have been buying the FSE 60 trimmer since it first came out. I use it to cut the grass and brush in my orchard. The balance is great and I am able to work all day with it without getting tired. This powerful little motor is able to cut grass up 2 feet with several passes. .The line is easy to replace. The only improvement I can suggest is to make a straight shaft without the bend at the bottom.This would have less stress on the cable inside.While I am not happy about having to drag around my extension cords, I do not like the vibration and hassle with a gas driven weed eater or the uselessness of one that is operated with a battery.Stihl you have a great little product here. Please do not discontinue making and selling the FSE 60.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! I purchased this trimmer because I didn't want to deal with 2-cycle gas-oil mixing. Likewise, I didn't want a battery model because once the battery goes dead there may not be a replacement available. The unit is quite powerful and does a decent gob of trimming and edging along the walks. Putting new line in isn't all that difficult. If you can live with using an extension cord I'd say GO FO IT. I'd give it 5* but I've only had it it a few weeks so until I get a better insight on reliability that's the best I can do.
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Very Best! I've owned and used many string trimmers in my life, and this Stihl is the most powerful electric trimmer I've ever seen; a real bargain!
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loading the string I purchased my Stihl FSE 60 trimmer a few years ago and have had some trouble loading the string. I found it difficult to turn the knob to load the string so made my own device with pvc pipe and a Dremel rotary tool to wind the string which made it much easier to do. Sometimes however, when winding new string onto the trimmer it seems to get stuck so have to remove the inner portion, remove the new string and start over again. But generally I am satisfied with this tool.
Date published: 2018-05-12
  • y_2019, m_11, d_15, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_147
  • loc_en_US, sid_fse60, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

How to Wind a STIHL Trimmer Head - Video
Cutting Heads & Blades Selection Chart (PDF)
Download Instructions on How to Rewind Your Trimmer Head (PDF)
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer