SG 31

Image of sg31
A versatile, easy to carry sprayer.

Product Description

The SG 31 sprayer is a powerful, easily portable piece of equipment. Equipped with a 5-liter tank, the sprayer falls between the SG 11 and the larger SG 51 in terms of volume capacity. This multipurpose sprayer can be used to apply fertilizers, pesticides, herbicides, and insecticides to your plants. It’s built with lightweight materials, making it a convenient tool to carry with you both in the yard and on the farm. The easy-to-use design includes a pump handle that can be locked into place for use as a carrying handle, along with a translucent tank for optimal visibility of liquid levels. The sprayer wand comes standard with a non-adjustable hollow cone brass nozzle, and a wand holder for secure transport and storage.

Specifications

TANK CAPACITY
5.0 L (1.32 gals.)
WORKING PRESSURE
29 psi +/- 10%
WEIGHT WITHOUT LIQUID
1.8 kg (4.0 lbs.)
 

Important Information

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

SG 31 is rated 2.0 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Plastic wand is fragile First use, plastic wand was in the side holder fell over in the back of the truck and snapped. For the cost it should last, but it didn't.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not user friendly... As the other reviewer's stated the hose on the SG 31 kinks often and loosens at the base of the tank a lot. Called the manufacturer and found out they don't make an adjustable tip or a fine point tip for spot treating weeds(bummer). Now I'm going to have to change out all the whole wand to accommodate my spraying needs. I expected more from a "Stihl" brand. :( The only reason I gave it a 2 rating is that the tank construction and pump works great.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Product does not last I've owned 3 of these and 2 of the 3 have failed in the same aspect. The pressure release valve fails and stops holding air. It is not repairable so the unit is trash.
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disposable at best the threads on the can stripped out before the safety valve activated !! almost took my head off !! put a dent in the shop roof
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Big stihl owner, sprayer is big let down I am a very loyal stihl owner and homeowner that has a lot of stihl equipment. This sprayer has hose issues as right where the hose meets the sprayer it kinks when you put it in the tank holder., now it has sprung a leak. Cheap hose and bad design. Stihl should replace at no charge.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What an utter disappointment I bought this very expensive sprayer because it was the Stihl name. I have tons of stihl power equipment and love the power and reliability. The locking tabs broke off with very little force. The nozzle never sprayed an even pattern. What poor quality.It's going back to where I bought it.Don't buy this sprayer.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice features but weak wand I have used for more than 15 year another sprayer around the house. But the seals in the control mechanism started too much leakage. Went with a name I trust. Stihl.Was out spraying today and dropped the wand. It snapped in half. Cleanly in half. That alone is enough for me to take the time to go online and write so others will know to be weary.Odd for a piece of plastic tubing break so cleanly.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheaper ones are better I own every type of Stihl product in their lineup and am a huge fan, but this one is a let down. The cheap sprayers from WM are just as good : (
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money. Very disappointed. Spray pattern is not adjustable. First sprayer that I ever bought that did not have an adjustable spray pattern. Worst sprayer that I ever purchased and I have bought a lot of them in my lifetime. I have a lot of Stihl products and I am shocked how bad this sprayer is. Makes me think twice before I buy anymore Stihl products.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It's a piece of junk I bought the sprayer thinking it was a reliable stihl product ,used it three times pump and pump and pump and pump it will not hold pressure very disappointed with this product. It's less than three months old. I wasted a lot of money buying this product
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from nozzle poorly designed Nozzle sucks for being a stihl product. to get it to one stream you have to remove the plastic part inside nozzle. very poorly designed. stihl company why not include a brass adjustable nozzle with this sprayer.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sprayer all the way around. I post a lot of reviews because the Exterminating Company I own uses a lot of Stihl products. We believe in this brand. I personally use the SG 31 to treat carpets for fleas and upholestry it gets the job done beautifully, a highly reliable sprayer. Do not let the fact that it is made out of plastics fool you about the durability. I like the fact it's a higher volume spray than the metal sprayers we use. It is a great intermediate sprayer between the full size backpack sprayer and the smaller handheld sprayer. Also another great feature is the strap because when it's full it can get heavy and that certainly helps maneuver around homes when we're treating them. The biggest testimony I can give about this product is it went From a backup product to a mainstay product for different applications.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tool, Needs Minor Design Improvements I have used this product for the entire season, primarily to spray deer repellent on our gardens. This product is every bit as good as the other Stihl products I have used for many years including two leaf blowers, a string cutter, SG 21 backpack sprayer and a power edging tool. It is well constructed, holds excellent pressure and the nozzle does not clog like other cheaper brands. It holds enough liquid to do a complete spray job without being too heavy. The two minor limitations are: 1. the carrying strap is poorly designed in the way it loops through upper housing, thus limiting how it can be adjusted and used as an over-the-shoulder carry -- and -- 2. the hose is connected with a plastic nut at the bottom of the tank, which is prone to coming loose when used over time. I strongly recommend users ensure that nut is tight before ever use. Otherwise, it will work its way loose and the contents will come gushing out of the bottom of the tank--an especially unpleasant experience if it sprays all over you.
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unsure at this point. I purchased one based on the reputation and positive experience of owning multiple Stihl products. Tired of the throwaway ones (other brands) sold at the big boxes. The quality looks to be great. Unfortunately I discovered it doesn't come with the fan nozzle. I need to spray large areas and not just one weed in a sidewalk crack. The manual shows an optional nozzle for fan spraying and the picture appears to show another nozzle that is yellow which must be that one (the included one is brass). My dealer tells me they can't get the other nozzle which makes mine very limited. Is this nozzle available or will it become available? Mine is awaiting use till I get the nozzle. I suggest they bundle the nozzle with the product even if they have to add $5 to the price or whatever. Help! I need the yellow fan nozzle.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very well built sprayer this sprayer is a must have for any homeowner. very easy to use and maintain. lightweight even when full of solution. feels to be built very solid compared to other sprayers I have had before.
Date published: 2015-05-09
  • y_2019, m_11, d_18, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_sg31, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

For Your Safety

Support

Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us


Share

My Preferred Dealer