SG 20

Image of sg20
A manual backpack sprayer for professionals that maintains constant pressure.

Product Description

When working with compounds such as pesticides and herbicides, accuracy and control are top priorities. The STIHL SG 20 manual backpack sprayer helps ensure constant working pressure, thanks to a pressurized fluid reservoir separate from the main tank. Now you can maintain constant pressure, even through refills. The sprayer is also comfortable and lightweight, helping you get through the day with less fatigue.

Model Features

  • Adjustable Support Harness
    STIHL backpack blowers and sprayers are equipped with an adjustable support harness that distributes weight evenly across the shoulders and back, reducing user fatigue.

    See it in action!

Specifications

TANK CAPACITY
18.0 L (4.75 gals.)
WORKING PRESSURE
40 psi +/- 10%
WEIGHT WITHOUT LIQUID
5.1 kg (11.2 lbs.)
 

Important Information

Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn Moreā€¦

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

SG 20 is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 95.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems like a nice unit. Wish reserve tank was larger. The sprayer seems to be well built. Builds good pressure quickly, the heavy duty Continental hose should last a long time, and the nozzle is impressive too.Assembly is simple, and maintenance is easy and reasonable. My only gripe is the unit doesn't stay pressurized for long during use. Upon reading the summary of the unit, I had assumed I could pump it and use it for a few minutes before having to pump it again. If you want good flow, you are going to have to pump it constantly. This makes use rather fatiguing.
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't do it I bought this sprayer last year. I wanted a quality sprayer and bought the Stihl name. Sprayers aren't chainsaws. I used the sprayer only once last year. I just tried to use it again and the pump won't build any pressure. This product has a bad rating for a reason.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product was made cheap. I would not recommend. I purchased the SG20 4 years ago, the first two years it worked great however last year the shaft cracked and broke. I took it to my Stihl dealer and he fixed it, unfortunately it wasn't under warrant. Now going into my forth year of use and the pump won't hold any pressure. So once again ill have to have another major part replaced. Other complaints I have with this sprayer are the flimsy wand and the hose tends to kink near the pistol handle. I use the spray 5-10 times each summer and clean it out after each use so it hasn't had a hard life. Stihl makes some really good products just wouldn't recommended their sprayers.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Purchased 5/30/19. First time use of a back pack sprayer. One acre 500+ weeds w/ 4 gls on first use. Purchased today 5/30/19. Admittedly read most of the instructions. Adjusted on back while empty. Ran a gallon of water through it. Checked for leaks. Put a drop of machine oil on the pump piston. Adjusted straps. Put 4 gls water and added herbicide. Set the sprayer on a 48" shelf. Much easier to put on a full sprayer that way. Sprayed one acre. Probably 500+ weeds/sprays. Sprayer worked flawlessly. Make sure all parts are finger tightened properly before use. I thought it was comfortable even while full. I am 60 and have back problems that I deal with daily but use of this Stihl was almost as easy as a hose end sprayer. Much easier than hauling a 2 gallon hand held sprayer all over the yard.
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money Firstly, I have a long time love affair with Stihl products. I bought this sprayer for it's perceived quality. WOW, was I wrong. This thing is horrible. My Stihl dealer will repair it, it will work once and that’s it. I follow all of the instructions...cleaning it, etc. I’m so sick and tired of loading it up with expensive aquatic herbicide only to have the thing not work. Don’t waste your money on this sprayer. It’s been such a piece of junk and has me so irritated that I’m thinking of abandoning Stihl altogether and going with another brand.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent so far Adjustable spray tip helps spray threw 4 gallons fast. Strong . Would recommend
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from inferior plastic screw fittings Good sprayer, but has one MAJOR flaw. The plastic nuts that hold wand together: Spray tip,etc. are junk!!! They break easily.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ignore the Haters I am a university Grounds Manager. I operate only Stihl Products. While every machine has its flaws, Stihl is universally the best Landscape equipment manufacturer in the country. Specifically, this back pack, is easy to load, haul, wear, and use. It is as rugged for the price point as it can be. It has parts that wear out like , all do. The replacement parts are readily available. They don't sell Stihl at box stores. I know my local Stihl Dealer is trained and knowledgeable in order to service my equipment.
Date published: 2019-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting I used to use the Solo sprayer for years but the tank mounting tabs were garbage after they cheapened the design to save a buck.I have used multiple other sprayers but am sold on the SG 20 now. You do need to lube the shaft that pressurizes the tank every now and then or it becomes hard to pump.The backpack straps last longer then the other and are more comfortable. The hose comes out of the side of the tank instead of the bottom so it not always getting pinched by the weight of the sprayer.Like any sprayer it's good to buy extra parts if it's for commercial daily use. I always keep extra spray wands in stock because I know they will get broken. All spray wands are similar so I do still use Solo replacement wands since I can get them shipped to me while Stihl would make me run to the dealer.
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sprayer I have used I’ve used a lot of different back pack sprayers over the years, tried many different ones both cheap and expensive. I wish I would have purchased one long before. Most reliable one I’ve found. Well built with brass fittings instead of cheap plastic. Sprayer head adjust easily from a fine mist to stream. Broadcast sprays very nice and has a wide spread. Rugged design. Has held up well to abuse and bouncing around in truck bed. Zero problems
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Steer clear from a Fighter pilot Look elsewhere. I have two of these for landscaping company and they’re horrible. Difficult to maintain, don’t last, leak excessively. Tempting for commercial use yet terrible.
Date published: 2018-10-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only bad product Stihl makes Have had an SG20 for about 3 months now, and have had nothing but issues with it. The first problem (first use) was a leaking hose connection. Took to the local dealer and they wanted me to leve the hose for diagnostics. I fought just to get a new hose and finally the dealer gave in. Two weeks later the trigger mechanism began to stick, a week after that I could not make the wand stop spraying, ruining several lawns, costing me a lot of money. The dealer again wants me to leave the trigger mechanism for inspection, leaving me with no equipment for a week.I called Stihland wanted my money back, but they Won’t do that. They blame it on operator error( lack of cleaning***)*** I have had a $40 Home Depot sprayer for 4 years and never had any issues with it( always cleaned it the same)PLEASE DONT BUY THIS PRODUCT FROM STIHL!!!!!!!STIHL, ALL I WANT IS MY MONEY BACK!!!!!!M
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge disappointment I own 2 of these, both have seen light use and both have suffered silly failures. My first one had the cheap plastic nut that connects hose to tank break. The other had the hand piece split so it leaks chems constantly. They have an awkward pumping motion and a flimsy design. They seem reasonably priced because they are junk.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have two and I love them I have one for a mold killer and one for a weed killer. I have had one for two seasons and the mold killer unit was bought at the start of this year. I like everything about them. Work great for me, thank you STIHL, my place looks great because of your fine products.
Date published: 2018-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Just bought new stihl71 backpack sprayer and am very disappointed with it, you need to redesign this product and quit using plastic fittings. Go back to the old sprayers, never had the problems with it that I’m having now. Can I expect my money back and do you have a decent product that I can purchase? Do you make a adjustable nozzle for this?
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from SG 20 I have mine for a couple of years and the plastic part of the end of the hose broke that connects to the wand and now I can't find a replacement part .
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unreliable We own probably 60 pieces of Stihl now and have liked most of it. Bought a few of these and thought I’d get one extra for my house. Might’ve made it through two tanks of glyphosate and it won’t work. Guys had complained about the pumps. Prob should’ve listened to them. Take it to dealer to replace my personal brand new one and no dice. Don’t buy one of these. Stihl makes some great products but this isn’t one of them.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this product is not good for regular use The nut on the end of the wand that connects the wand and hose to the tank is cheap plastic and continues to crack.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not traditional Stihl quality. Was very impressed with the sprayer the first season. Second season the sprayer handle started leaking and replaced the Orings. Slowed the leak until the hose started to leak. I did not use any type of solvent that would accelerate wear or deterioration of the rubber parts. Cleaned every time after usage and allowed to dry before placing the tank lid on the tank. Seems all sprayers have problems with leaks of some type and Sthil is no exception. I really like the unit except for the leaks that cause a big mess and makes the unit dangerous to use depending on the chemical being dispensed.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely Satisfied with Performance and Quality I have several sprayers from 1 gallon to 40 gallon capacity for different applications and spray types. The SG20 has become my favorite sprayer for general exterior manual foliage spraying due to the ease of carrying the loaded sprayer, excellent spray pressure for coverage, and the ease of pumping while spraying. It's well designed, comfortable on my back, and easy to clean and maintain. I read a lot of positive reviews and also some negative reviews regarding the wand and other plastic parts being weak before I bought it. I found very little merit in the negative reviews when I inspected the sprayer before buying it. Anything can be broken by abuse or misuse and the .0001% defective part may get used but I have concluded that users who follow the recommended pre-use maintenance checks and oiling should have a good experience with it. I have had no issues whatsoever and expect many years of service from the SG20. The SG20 is one fantastic sprayer for the price.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolutely Worthless I have bought five SG 20 sprayers. Four of them does not work. The most recently was purchased two weeks ago. It has only had basic Roundup run through it and already stopped working.The pump locked up on a sprayer only a few months old. All these sprayers have been cleaned daily and serviced. One sprayer the bolts that hold the tank on the frame fell out and the sprayer fell off in the highway. I am a licensed landscape contractor and purchased these items only based on the quality of other Stihl items that I own. This item is absolute junk. The biggest disappointment however is the poor customer service that I received from the people at Stihl,s technical support. I would rate this product no stars if possible.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke after one season Worked great last summer and went to use this spring bam pump is all locked up. All this thing has to do is hold liquid, pump and spray. Dang it! Great used it 2x and now the tool that was supposed to save me time needs to get repaired.
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sprayers are not worth the money I purchased the predecessor to this sprayer and I was only able to use it for 18 months and about 25 gallons of product before the pump failed. Of course, the 12 month warranty had expired. There are too many parts that are made of plastic. I do not believe that sprayers are Stihl strengths. They do not last as well as chain saws, string trimmers and so forth. I would carefully evaluate product designs before purchasing a sprayer.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the dependability of the sprayer First one used used it 2 years no problems. Still in use. Then I bought another one ( lots too spray ) have had it about 2 years, and bouth are in good shape. Ordered a 3 rd on to day ,so I’ll have 3 all in good working order. Tried other sprayers none compared too the STIHL SG 20 sprayers,And I use them a lot put hundreds of gallons through each one of them. I will never buy any other brand.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from $80 in repairs in 7 months and still has a leaky handle! Title says it all. Replaced handle and tip. Replaced gasket in top of the piston. Still has a leaky handle. I don’t know if I’m going to fix it. Definitely not the dependable product I expected from Stihl. I bought this sprayer new 8/21/17.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Time to redesign stihl It’s time to redesign this sprayer stihl! It’s a piece of junk I’m constantly replacing parts on it I have broken the pump handle and had to replace almost every o ring on it. This sprayer is very heavy when it’s on your back I would really like to see more comfort added like better pads I am still thinking about buying some br 600 pads and fitting them on.... I’m a huge stihl fan but I think this is one tool most landscapers use on a daily basis and we would l8ke to see a better product!! Can’t wait to see what y’all come up with
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the quality that usually comes with Stihl name........ watch out for the cheap plastic parts that the handle and nozzle are made of. I have had a little less than a year and the handle assembly has completely broken apart?
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from To many cheap plastic parts. Spraying wand is made of cheap plastic and therefore not very durable. Otherwise sprayer is ok and much easier to use than traditional garden sprayers.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed with this sprayer After only minimal use the wand connection failed and it has to be tinkered with over and over so that all the liquid doesn’t just run down my pants. I have now resorted to holding constant pressure on it with my left hand and spraying with my right. Super aggravating.Usually you get what you pay for. This sprayer isn’t the case. On top of that the local dealer seems to think it must be a problem with me.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longest lasting in the market I couldn't disagree more with these sprayers reviews. We have over 60 of the sprayers some of them are several years old and still going. It takes a little bit of working knowledge in maintenance but they will last and last
Date published: 2017-12-13
  • y_2019, m_11, d_18, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_sg20, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

For Your Safety

Support

Product Instruction Manual (PDF)

STIHL Limited Warranty

Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer