HT 133

Image of ht133
The ultimate telescoping pole pruner, built with the same features as the HT 103, but with a larger displacement engine.

Product Description

Reach for high branches with ease thanks to the HT 133 Pole Pruner. Its gearbox reduces weight at the cutting attachment compared to the previous model to provide easier handling and less fatigue. A powerful fuel-efficient, low-emission engine makes the HT 133 the ultimate choice for heavy tree maintenance tasks. Plus, with its squared shaft, users can prune high branches with ease and precision while the large fuel tank allows for 30% longer run times than the previous model. The HT 133 is packed with all the features of the HT 103, but with 35% more power for tough pruning and trimming jobs.

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle helps makes it easier to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Purge Pump Primer
    At the press of a button, this small fuel pump delivers fuel to the carburetor, reducing the number of starting pulls needed after an extended break between uses.
  • Telescoping Pole
    With an adjustable shaft, telescoping pole pruners can cut branches up to 16 feet above ground.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
36.3 cc (2.2 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
1.4 kW (1.9 bhp)
OVERALL LENGTH
7'6" to 11'6"
FUEL CAPACITY
710 cc (24 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY
220 cc (7.4 oz.)
OILOMATIC® Chain/Guide Bar Size
1/4" STIHL PICCO™ 71 PM3 / 35.5 cm (14")
POWER SOURCE
Gas
WEIGHT*
7.2 kg (15.9 lbs.) with cutting attachment
The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on the gear head design. *Dry weight.

Important Information

WARNING! Cutting blades are sharp. Do not touch or contact the blade with any part of your body. To reduce the risk of loss of control, always maintain secure footing. Improper use can result in serious or fatal injury.

WARNING! Risk of Electrocution: These tools are not insulated. Approaching or contacting electric power lines with tools may cause serious injury or death from electrocution. Electricity can jump from one point to another by means of arcing and/or may be conducted through damp branches. Maintain a clearance of at least 50 feet (15 meters) between the tools and any electrical line carrying live current. To reduce the risk of injury from falling objects, do not cut vertically above your head. Always wear a helmet and eye protection. Keep bystanders away. Use only STIHL authorized cutting attachments.

Danger! Risk of Electrocution Pole pruners are not insulated. Approaching or contacting electric power lines with these tools may cause serious injury or death from electrocution. Electricity can jump from one point to another by means of arcing and/or may be conducted through damp branches. Maintain a clearance of at least 50 feet (15 meters) between the tools and any electrical line carrying a live current. To reduce the risk of injury from falling objects do not cut vertically above your head. Always wear a safety helmet and eye protection. Keep bystanders away. Use only STIHL authorized cutting attachments.

Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

HT 133 is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 99.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional grade I always try to get the toughest, best built equipment I can afford. This unit is a bit pricey but does not disappoint. Unit is heavier than expected when extended. However, it is quite manageable. The strap is good for carry and that is about it. When using the saw, remove the strap and collar. Might consider the upgraded backpack style for extended use. Love the way the included Pico chain cuts. I do want a wider kerf however. One thing to note, do not get aggressive with the undercutting or you may find the saw pinched..... At first I thought the RPM,s of the saw was slow as I was accustomed to using traditional 2 cycle saws. This 4 cycle saw has plenty of speed and power and cuts rather quickly. Overall, a good investment for the farm.
Date published: 2019-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stihl tool ever bought I bought this pole trimmer to perform a couple of jobs around the house. Since having it I have used it more than I thought I would have. Just a good tool to have around. It is on the heavy side though especially when extended fully which is expected of a great quality tool.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Is What It Is....A STIHL Just began using the pole saw and it's a monster on tree limbs. I have too say that the saw is a bit on the heavy side, but once you start working you forget how heavy it is and notice how powerful it can be. I am not going to say that I know everything about the HT133, but I am getting to know it very well. I guess I'll get used too it (the weight) after a few times with it.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful Hard-Working Saw but still hard Work for the Operator I bought the HT-133 about 2 mounts ago and have used it about 12 hours. It starts on the first or second pull every time, I always use premixed fuel. I have 2 acers with 75+ mature oak trees that had never been trimmed. This saw has done everything I have asked so far, trims branches much larger than I expected with no issue. Be aware this is a workout especially when extended out all the way, this saw is heavy just getting it from the ground up to the branches 11+ feet away and holding it there for a long time. I am 44 and in decent shape after a few hours of use I feel it in my shoulders, hands and arms. When using at the shortest length it is great, you feel very safe being 6’ away from the blade. I have learned to cut the larger logs to length when still on the tree, don’t have to worry about the dirt on the ground. I would buy this saw again. I have just started on my trees, being on ladder or in a tractor bucket for this many tree is not an option. If this was for a commercial crew I would be concerned. I am very careful, if you don’t take care of this saw I can see it needing repair very quickly. This saw is made of plastic by the bar. (if it was metal if would even be heaver). Make sure and check the bar oil before you run out of fuel, It will run out first.
Date published: 2019-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Running Capability, Ridiculous for the Price... I have 2 Stihl chain saws: one is 35 yrs old, the newer wood boss is 15 yrs old. Both run like a top with my usual simple home owner maintenance.Bought my HT 133 pole saw a year ago, and it will start with one pull and then as it gets to operating temp, it will bog and then stall. Repeatedly...took it back to local dealer, (who doesn't care unless they 'know' you), and 2 weeks later got it back with a new 'engine head'.Still starts on one pull and still bogs and stalls when fully warmed up. It will start again, idle for half minute but any throttle app causes it to bog/stall/quit again.Pure gas/oil mix, blah, blah, blah...The twist lock for length is also very weak and the 'balance' of product is OK for an NFL player, not so good for above avg in shape home owner.It has quickly become a pricey garage ornament....Stihl has obviously dumbed down on their newer equipment, and the cost accounting guys seem to have the final word. This is my last Stihl product and last purchase of any kind from our local Waynesville Stihl dealer.
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and powerful Powerful saw, easy to use. Cut off the small branch tips and the thicker part of branches you can make firewood as you cut. A quiet runner you don’t have to wind it out to make cuts or lift up on pole when cutting, does not stall chain while cutting.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very good saw terrible harness attachment I opted for getting the expensive deluxe aluminum support harness because of the number of pruning projects I have. It attaches to the saw with a spring tensioned plastic clamp. This is a recent “improvement” on the previous style of clamp. My son has the same pole pruner, but with a different style of attachment that pinches the shaft with the weight of the saw and it works well.This new clamp does not hold the saw in position. Because of this the saw continually wants to rotate and hang upside down and it slides all over the on the shaft. You can’t balance the saw. This is particularly bad in the rain as the clamp slides even more easily. It makes any project very frustrating and unnecessarily tiring. I cannot believe that Stihl would sell such an ill conceived, poorly engineered attachment. I was told when I complained that the company responded by saying that the harness wasn’t designed to support the saw during use, but rather to hold it when you’re moving it around. It is a joke. I am trying to get an older style clamp from the customer service agent, but so far no satisfaction.
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable and Powerful Starts very easy every time and is very powerful. I am extremely happy with this product
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent this tool rocks!great reach - easily adjustablepowers through tough stuffwell balanced and durablestarts easily and lots of power
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from After 4 tanks of gas We had a freak snowstorm in S Oregon, and with all the trees down, I went shopping. We have 4 Stihl dealers in the area, all with the same prices, I just went to the most convenient one and got this. I have the double handle weed eater with the 131 motor which is a beast, and this is turning out to be true with this. I'm able to cut thru 12" diameter rounds (Oak, Madrone, Doug Fir), in about 15 - 20 sec. All the smaller branches are quick. Most of the time the motor is hitting the governor, unless I'm in a good size round and putting pressure down on the saw. This is saving my back a lot of agony, since I can stand back and do a lot of branch cutting standing up. With the chainsaw, I'm in the thick of it fighting for footing and constantly bending over. Downsides so far: Ridiculous single shoulder strap sold with saw - very uncomfortable for any length of time, and difficult to keep saw in correct position. For the a couple hundred dollars less, my weed eater came with a much better harness, that actually works fairly well with this. The back pack accessory for this saw is priced way to high for the home owner, but may be worth it for someone using this saw daily for long hours. The other problem with the clamp on the pole is that the saw motor's center of gravity is above the pole, so the motor is always trying to twist the pole in your hands - bad enough that I doubt my wife can run it very well. It also makes for a sore shoulder as your always having to reach behind you to run the throttle.Thought it would make sense to fill chain oil when filling with gas - turns out it runs thru the oil tank completely by half tank of gas-hope I haven't ruined my bar already. Its a bummer because I have to pack the oil with me when walking around the property and remember to check it.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! Used throughout the Black Hills. It eats through the pine without a snag. Great product for the all day jobs.
Date published: 2019-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The pole saw met the youtube hyp The saw met most of expectations but it does tend to get kind of heavy after 50 to 60 trees. I had to clean the spark plug to get it to started after a couple days of heavy pruning pecan trees.With out to much more pomp, I was satisfied with the saws performance.
Date published: 2019-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome pole saw This pole saw performance is awesome , It cuts any limbs easily. Plenty of reach for those high hardwood limbs, easy telescopic release to adjust length of the pole. Easy to start, and stays idling until ready to cut. Pole saw takes strength to perform safely. If needed use a harness for this saw working long periods.
Date published: 2019-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real workhorse Work for a municipal park department and we have 3 of these that are used almost daily. We use them for routine tree uplimbing, lower scrub clearing and regular desuckering of numerous types of trees ranging from red oak to bois de arcs. They have excellent reach, power, balance and maneuverability. Have read a lot of reviews by people who have had issues with breakage. Key with this as any piece of equipment is keep it oiled, chain sharp and machine cleaned and serviced after use. Our department depends on these to get our daily work done quickly and professionally and these saws have not let us down.
Date published: 2019-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It’s a buy. I would recommend it.Good Stihl quality.Many uses like clearing low limbs so you can get in close with a chainsaw without having to fight the underbrush.
Date published: 2019-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great saw. This saw performed flawless , has plenty of power, went through those tree limbs like hot butter. I was so pleased with it. It had plenty of reach, I didn't have to climb any of those trees. Starts quickly and runs great. I just wish I had purchased one 23 years ago. Anyone who owns a home and has trees should own one of these pole saws. Thank You Stihl
Date published: 2019-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing product I'd advise you to buy it without hesitation amazing product I'd advise you to buy it without hesitation
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good power bad drive shaft Drive shaft is very easy to break hate the new design the ht131 is a much better product by far.
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So mad I m so mad its broke again for the 4th time in under 2 mo thThe drive shaft is too weak for the powerThis pole saw was not made for commercial use stop telling people to buy this as tuffMaybe it's the gourvener the problemHt 131 was better not as clear cut but at least reliable
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This model has met and exceeded all my expectations. Better eat your Wheaties© before going to work with this beast! Unstoppable power for trimming and cleaning multi species of trees. Hardwoods cut as easily & cleanly as softwood species. ZERO problems if you pay attention to your bar oil & chain sharpness. Starts every time with minimal effort. This model has exceeded my expectations as to what it can handle and how tough it is. Don't let the whiners who complain about the plastic outer components deter you from buying this product. It is commercial quality and built to last.
Date published: 2019-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power I've had the older version of this saw for about 5 years now. Great power, I can lay mine on a 10" oak limb and it's taching out the whole time it's cutting. The biggest thing people do wrong with these is let them get dull. If it's sharp you won't find a better saw and I'm a Husqvarna man. The only problem I e had with this was my fault when I cleaned the saw with some purple power which took the oil off the clutch and caused it to rust. I replaced the clutch and no more problems. It sits for months at a time and fires right up. Well worth the money you'll pay.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice reach with this saw Seems like a good saw. a bit heavy but for the added power it is worth the extra weight. Thanks to John Sral at Baniks he really knows his products.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power and light weight I have manual tree trimmers but don't have the power I used to. This trimmer is light weight and very powerful to do the job. I was very impressed all you do is set blade on limb and it goes right thru. I would recommend buying this trimmer. It has a unique sound too.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Latest and Greatest A must have tool for proper tree pruning. I replaced my old Stihl pole saw with the HT133. My old Stihl pole saw was giving me some problems to I went to my local Stihl distributor and told them I wanted their biggest and baddest pole saw .... thus the HT133. It was after the fact that I read all the reviews .... many of which were not the greatest. I have since used the saw and would like to say it has performed well. In my opinion it is a finely designed tool that should be treated as such. In my opinion it should be treated with respect and I feel it will continue to deliver the outstanding service that is expected.
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent improvements I recently purchased the ht133 because of major mechanical failures with my Ht131. What a great improvement the ht133 has with the telescopic pole. Since it is somewhat thicker than the older ht model, itso not flimsy when it's fully extended. You do notice less power when cutting, but with sharpened blades it shouldn't be an issue. The stand they added to it for the engine to sit up without it rolling over is ok, but needs more thought into it because the trimmer protection bags doesnt fit over it.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money I run a small tree service and this saw was a replacement for the 131. This saw has been a disappointment since purchase. Head leaks oil, can’t hardly extend or retract it. Took it back to shop, not under warranty mind you, and I was told my problems are normal and nothing is wrong with the saw. Save your money, complete piece of junk!
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Please with the HT133 I purchased this pole saw for my farm. So far I’ve been pleased with it. I’ve used it several times over the last 2 weeks and it works perfect for pruning those hard to reach limbs. Most of the contractors I spoke with said not to purchase the HT133 due to its heavy weight and that it stayed torn up. My experience has been nothing but great. It’s easy to start, does exactly what it’s intended to do and my personal opinion is that it’s not heavy for what it is. I’m very pleased up to this point.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Addition to My Arsenal I've been using a cheap electric pole saw for a few years and have been disappointed with it ever since I got it. I upgraded to this gas powered saw and couldn't be happier. It cuts through pine branches easily. It's on the heavy side, so it doubles as an upper body workout - and I'm OK with that. I have also found another use for it - for particularly dense and thorny bushes, it works better than my forest clearing saw, because you don't have to get close in. You can reach in and slice the bush up at the base without having to push branches aside or getting thorns in your arm.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor quality Bought this unit and it broke the first use was cutting a limb and it shifted a bit and cracked the housing on the oil reservoir assembly seems like 600 bucks and now gotta invest another id say 100 bucks to repair it so not so pleased with quality
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Owner Product is Fair The saw is heavy and poorly balanced and it will roll over to the left unless you really hold onto it forcefully. When you squeeze the trigger to run the engine full throttle it seems like the engine opens up about what should be 1/2 or 3/4 throttle but will not run at a high rpm. The chain that is on it has a hard time cutting a branch about 2 1/2 inches in diameter. The 1/4" chain teeth are not quite big enough to cut quickly and spit out the wood. It does start easy and the kill switch is conveniently located. The tightening mechanism for the adjustable shaft is very bulky. I own a lot of older Stihl equipment but this saw is a big disappointment for quality. If you want a saw for pruning small diameter branches and don't have to extend the pole shaft very far to keep the saw balanced this is the saw for you.
Date published: 2018-08-13
  • y_2019, m_11, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_99
  • loc_en_US, sid_ht133, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer