HT 56 C-E

Image of ht56ce
A fuel-efficient pole pruner with a lightweight gearbox and Easy2Start™ technology.

Product Description

Don’t let overgrown branches loom over your property. Prune them with the redesigned STIHL HT 56 C-E pole pruner. It features a lightweight gearbox that enhances maneuverability and user comfort. It also features an inside (left-hand) guide bar and saw chain mounting system, providing a better view of cutting. Starting is nearly effortless thanks to STIHL Easy2Start™ technology – just give it a light pull and hear the engine come to life. The pruner also includes a unique, two-piece shaft design for easy storage and transport. It’s a great addition to your landscaping arsenal, all for an affordable price.

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL® outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL® products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Unique Two-Piece Shaft Design
    This unique shaft design provides easy storage and transport.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
0.8 kW (1.07 bhp)
OVERALL LENGTH
9'2"
FUEL CAPACITY
340 cc (11.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY
220 cc (7.4 oz.)
OILOMATIC® Chain/Guide Bar Size
71 PM3 / 25 cm, (10 in. Bar)
POWER SOURCE
Gas
WEIGHT*
5.8 kg (12.8 lbs.) w/ cutting attachment
The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on. *Dry weight.

Important Information

WARNING! Risk of Electrocution: These tools are not insulated. Approaching or contacting electric power lines with tools may cause serious injury or death from electrocution. Electricity can jump from one point to another by means of arcing and/or may be conducted through damp branches. Maintain a clearance of at least 50 feet (15 meters) between the tools and any electrical line carrying live current. To reduce the risk of injury from falling objects, do not cut vertically above your head. Always wear a helmet and eye protection. Keep bystanders away. Use only STIHL authorized cutting attachments.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

HT 56 C-E is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 112.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cutting power. I finally upgraded from a batter powered pole saw to the 56C. What a machine. It cuts fast and clean and has never ending power. It has made my life so much better when needing the many trees on my property trimmed.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job well! The homeowner pole pruner is light enough to allow a weekend user to handle with ease, but effective on serious limb cutting.
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and easy to maneuver with plenty of power This pole saw was exactly what I needed to get some tree branches away from my siding and gutters. It also pruned my apple orchard and got my Filbert or Hazelnut tree under control. I had no issues with the saw feeling underpowered and the hook near the bar was very helpful in pulling out branches that hung up out of my reach.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pole Saw! Really was worried with this being a homeowner saw that it wouldn't be able to hold up to a full day of cutting. Boy I was wrong. This is a great saw. I sharpen every other tankful of gas. Only issue I have had is with the chain falling off. I think I have it figured out by now though! Great saw, if you are on the fence about this saw, just get it! You will love it! Just keep a Chainsaw for bigger stuff on the ground.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Gas Pole Saw It is very convent in that it comes apart in two sections. It makes it very easy to transport and store. It is very easy to assemble and use. Easy to maneuver around and the strap provided helps reduce the effort required in trimming. The motor provides great power and can cut through large branches easily.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very efficient. Be careful, once you get started trimming. You might look back like I did and realize you cut a couple more trailer loads than you wanted for that day!!!
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the homeowner Own many still products and this one is a great addition. Well pleased with the performance and weight. Not sure how the micro chain will hold up. Only time will tell. Haven’t done much cutting yet. Have cut some fairly large branches and it’s done well. Really wish it was a little longer or even an optional extension would be great. 12 or 13 feet would be perfect.
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad move I actually have the attachment for the power head. I bought the pole saw attachment for the durability of stihl products but decided different when I realized when to get a replacement chain and no one stocks a micro chain. It had to be ordered from a stihl dealer. When I got the new one and made 4 cuts it was dull.Stihl go back a normal chain, sprocket and bar and you will have a great product. No other manufacture uses the micro chain anymore because they are junk. Sorry but very disappointed
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very efficient tool As an owner of several Stihl products I had high expectations and I was not disappointed. This is one of the most efficient tools I have even seen. It does exactly what it was designed to do quickly, directly and efficiently. My other Stihl products were easy to star and run well, but as a bonus, this one is exceptional. I couldn't be more pleased.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent choice nice pole saw .still starts easy .cuts through pretty good size limbs with ease .someone musta been absent on blade day or they put em on backwards on purpose maybe .
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size for home/hunt club work Love this thing! I've used it heavily for a couple weeks now. It is durable, light, and very effective at trimming trees and brush! It starts on first pull. It idles perfectly. It has enough power to cut through large branches and some small trees. Largest I've cut so far is 6" in diameter. Went through it like a hot knife through butter!! Love it!
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal for the home owner. I have enjoy this saw on many projects so far. I am disappointed that the cover (dust cover cap) for the exposed ends when the saw is broken down in 2 pieces for storage and transporting was not in the package when I bought it was not in with the tools/manual package. This item was mention in the manual as it being supplied with saw but the Stihl dealer it was not included, I can only assume since it came already assembled on display that the dealer thought it was just shipping material and threw it away when they assembled it for display.
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tool for the job Easy to maneuver and plenty power for the job compared to similar products in this class. While there are much more powerful products (from Stihl or others), satisfied with the value and power at this price point. Great easy work. Store where purchased is A++++ professional and helpful.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgrade the bar and chain Great tool. But if you don't want to rev your engine for long periods cutting a three or four inch branch then upgrade the bar to a 14 inch and thicker chain and you will need a bigger chain sprocket. Now! It cuts through quick and the bite is thick. And the engine doesn't rev up as much or as long. Very happy with Stihl products.
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good product except the included bump head Nice product except the included line bump head string breaks everytime the strings hit a solid object. When this happens it takes15 minutes to get going again after rethreading the lines. A few days after purchasing I had to spend more money on another trimmer head and string refill pieces leaving me with the original unuseable trimmer head.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pole saw This is a great tool to have if you need to trim trees. Stihl products are great to have in your arsenal of cutting tools. Doesn’t get any better. Highly recommended!!!
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pole saw! This saw is heavier than I expected but it is balanced and the weight helps cut through limbs 4 or 5 inches thick like butter. The carrying strap doesn’t fit well but it’s not always needed. It starts on 1 or 2 pulls and idles as long as you want. I now have a Stihl pole saw, chainsaw, weed eater, and tiller and I’m happy with all of them.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use After reading many reviews I decided to purchase this pruner. We have a lot of fenced pastures with tree limbs hanging over which are difficult to trim. after 20 minutes of sawing all the overhanging branches were down and the fences are free from dangerous limbs. Awesome product like other Stihl products I own, highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and gets the job done! This pole pruner is a great tool every home owner needs, I had been looking at low hanging branches that were to big for my lopping/manual pole saw for a coupe years, I picked this HT 56 C-E unit up and was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to start and operate and also like the way it breaks down into two pieces for transport and storage, the only thing that could have been better is if I would have had more branches to trim!!
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a must have for any small lanscaping and/or tree service. This saw has been great, & the price was just right! Im a owner/operator of a tree service & was looking to purchase a good stihl pole saw. After pricing a few of their saws, i decided to go with the HT56c. This saw reaches 12ft, but is starionary. This didnt bother me because the telescopic saws wouldnt fit in the back of my truck. The HT56c breaks down into #2 six foot poles and is easy to store away. The saw has performed extremely well and has been a pleasant suprise. So, for those that doubt this saw....im here to tell you that it has plenty of power and is allot easier to handle, due to the fact that it is allot lighter then the other options that stihl has. I LOVE ALL STIHL PRODUCTS & REFUSE TO USE ANY OTHER BRAND. I WILL BE FEATURING THIS PRODUCT ON MY YOUTUBE [email protected]
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is easy to use I purchased product pole from ACE hardware a dealer that sells STIHL products. I absolutely love this pole saw. Its fantastic, easy to use starts quickly very reliable.I love it!!!!!! THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl product! Easy to start. Easy to use. Have had several Stihl products and this pole saw meets the same great standards of all that I have owned.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from highly recommend this product My husband and I are truly sold on Stihl products, and will be the only product we will continue to buy. Our local dealer in King George Virginia are great. They are truly knowledgeable and helpful. Being in my 60's, I am grateful that I never have a problem starting any of our Stihl products. Thanks again, the Berry family.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what I needed and overall it a good product. I have been very pleased with the products use and the results I have had. The only issue I have which I just recently realized is the Bar/Chain oil that goes in the little well at the end where the chain is leaks. I had filled it when I first used it and was surprised it was empty when I went back to use it again a couple weeks later. I filled it again, used it again and set it in my garage. The next day in the garage floor I saw a small puddle of oil where is was slowly leaking out.I will get in touch with the dealer and see what they suggest.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive but really nice I have used this unit on scrub oak, live oak and Chinese tallow. It made quick work of any branch under 8” thick and with a little planning can handle 12-14” limbs. The 10” bar is stout and the chain is super sharp. I LOVE that it comes in 2 pieces as storage is much easier. Starts on first pull almost everytime. I have never had an issue getting the HT 56 to start.The weight is hefty. A couple hours with the unit and you will be tired. But honestly it’s a lot better than a saw and ladder. The real issue I had was the price. Took almost a year before I could finally come around and buy one. However, there is nothing at this price point or lower than even comes close to the quality and power of this unit.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed It’s a purpose built saw, simple and powerful. I’ve had no issues with it - cutting up to 8” live and dead oak.. Wished more thought and effort went into the shoulder strap
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product!!! This isn't the longest or most powerful pole saw, but it works great and is definitely worth the money!!!
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST HAVE FOR TRIMMING TREES This is a awesome saw. It cuts tree branches like a hot knife in butter. I generally don’t write reviews but this saw deserved My 5 star review. I also have a stihl farm boss saw (another great saw) stihl builds great products!
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for the homeowner Lightweight and plenty of power for around the house trimming. Easy to start and use.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product did was was intended to do Product is worth price and gets the job done with power
Date published: 2017-10-10
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_112
  • loc_en_US, sid_ht56ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Pole Pruners
    View the features common to many STIHL pole pruners.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Product Instruction Manual (PDF)

STIHL Limited Warranty

Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer