KM 131 R

Image of km131r
Our most powerful KombiMotor, the KM 131 R has 33% more engine power than the KM 111 R.

Product Description

When you are on the job, which do you value more: power or versatility? If you answered “both,” then take a look at the KM 131 R KombiMotor. This multi-tasking tool is the most powerful in the STIHL KombiSystem family and features a low-emission engine, delivering 30% longer run times compared to previous models. It’s compatible with over a dozen KombiSystem attachments, giving you incredible utility in a fraction of the trailer space compared to stand-alone tools. The KM 131 R is also easy to operate, featuring a semi-automatic choke lever, one-touch stop switch, anti-vibration system and a specially designed quick-release coupling system for easy switching between attachments. The only thing easier than using the KM 131 R is leaving your older, bulkier power tools behind.

The STIHL KombiSystem is a versatile landscaping system that includes a powerful STIHL KombiMotor and a full line of attachments. Together, they give landscaping professionals the ability to tackle a tremendous range of outdoor tasks without loading the trailer with a pile of tools. Attachments include trimmers, blowers, hedge trimmers, edgers, pruners, cultivators and more. Each attachment slides into the KombiMotor effortlessly and is secured via a quick-release coupling system, saving you time as well as trailer space.

NOTE: STIHL KombiMotors and STIHL KombiSystem attachments are sold separately.

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Purge Pump Primer
    A small fuel pump delivers fuel to the carburetor when pushed, reducing the number of starting strokes required following extended breaks in operation.
  • Loop Handle
    The loop handle (R) is an adjustable rounded handle mounted on the shaft for support and control. The handle is designed to help control the machine in different positions, ideal for reaching tough spots. The handle is large enough to accommodate a gloved hand comfortably.
  • Quick-Release Coupling
    The quick-release coupling system makes it easy to switch between Kombi attachments. In addition, this feature allows KombiSystem equipment to be dismantled into two parts for easy transport and storage and then re-assembled quickly without tools.

    See it in action!
  • Split Shaft
    A split shaft and special toolless quick-release coupling lets you easily switch between attachments, making the KombiSystem highly versatile as well as easy to transport and store.
  • Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Electronic Ignition Module
    The electronic ignition provides reliable starting and because it is fully enclosed, it is protected from moisture and debris for longer service life.
  • Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle help makes it easier to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
36.3 cc (2.2 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
1.4 kW (1.9 bhp)
WEIGHT
4.4 kg (9.7 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
710 cc (24.0 oz.)
POWER SOURCE
Gas
 

Important Information

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

KM 131 R is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 96.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Machine I purchased this unit specifically for the power scythe attachment capability to help clean up cattails around a few ponds. I also bought the trimmer head to trim around the house. Both attachments work great and the motor has plenty of power. The only downside is the initial cost investment is higher than an equivalent trimmer model, but with the flexibility to add a pole saw, hedge trimmer, and maybe and edger and blower in the future, the total investment over time will be less. In my opinion, this is the way to go if you have a large property to tend to.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and Starts EZ Love this power head that replaced my trimmer and edger. Idles like a 4-stroke and starts great and EZ every time. I only run rec fuel (pure gas) in all my lawn equipment and I think that helps a lot. Only con is that this unit is heavy so after awhile of extensive use it gets heavy. It does come with a padded shoulder strap which helps some.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great System I have used this a lot in the last year on my 2.5 acres, edging, clearing vines, cutting limbs and trimming palm trees. I have the weed cutter, blower, and pole saw attachments. They have all worked very well with this. I have the composite pole extension too. The motor has not failed to start easily and just keeps running. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great power, Lightweight, Great attachments unit is very versatile
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Power and Versatility My first Kombi head was Homeowner KM56R that I bought over 20 years ago with trimmer attachment. I've added other attachments but with the straight stick edger, I had to use finesse to keep rpms up. I recently purchased the KM 131 R (same Stihl professional) It runs the edger effortlessly and now I can add any attachments that need more power. I still use the KM 56 for string trimming. Good fresh ethonol free fuel or Motomix will assure trouble free service for years just like all my Stihl saws and other products.
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I wait so long to buy? Absolutely love the KM131RPower to spareStarts on the first pullPurchased the hedge trimmers, straight edger, straight string trimmer and the carbon fiber extension. Soon the pole saw as well.All together the KombiSystem has taken my lawn and garden game from good to great.Well worth investment in this quality product!Don’t work harder, but this now and work smarter!
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid product no complaints Kombi system is a great tool. Love the attachments and makes jobs so much easier with out having to carry 4 different tools with you. Go buy it.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I recently bought this product and have not been disappointed. It has a lot of power and works great. As of now i only have the weed eater attachment but i plan on getting more.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They should have called it the Omni This powerful, easy starting tool is amazing. It will take just about any tool you want to put on it. I settled on it because it is the most powerful tool in the industry and because of Stihl's reputation. It also will accept my cheapo tools with no problem and I will replace them as they wear out rather than all at once at this time. This is a really great power head and I saw a video where a guy tried competing brands, and Stihl attachments all on this power head. You cannot beat that. It is as good as when tractors all started going to Universal hydraulic fittings. Just a great tool that should have been called the Omni.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Powerful Motor I bought this power head to have the flexibility to change accessories and not have to store as much equipment if all were separate machines. I have a Stihl blower that is at least 15 years old and gets used all the time and while it is sometimes stubborn to start after cooling from hot use but not cold, the engine is still strong. This KM 131 R has a lot of power. I'm glad I bought the larger engine. It also is very easy to start. It sat all off season (5 months) and it starting on first pull and quickly goes into a slow idle.If i had to add a con, it would be that with the string trimmer attachment the balance is a little lopsided towards the motor. The trimmer is a light attachment and I would assume with heavier attachments the balance would be better. If i was only going to use as trimmer I would get a dedicated string trimmer with better balance, but I am happy with the trade off for the flexibility of adding other tools.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Line trimmer I have used this product 4 times now and works very well with exceptional power
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I only purchased the pole saw so far. It worked great the first time using it.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I went with this power head Just picked this up and ran a test cut with the bed redefiner. I feel the other power heads would not have enough power based on my test. My soil was moist, not dry, and the bit bogged down a few times. Soil probably too wet as it also caked in the guard. But it gave me hope that I didnt waste my money on the smaller heads.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It’s 5 stars if you look at the finished product. First off the broom gets the job done for removal of sand and rocks from grass impressively. I’m a kinda strong guy that regularly lifts 50-70 lb parts, but I can no longer say I’m in shape. The km-131 with broom is a serious workout. Being no heavier then the lower models except one mid range model. I’m super happy with the purchase. Im wondering what attachment requires more power as the broom needs throttle management to stay off the rev limiter. I was using a shop vac and failing in prior years, I’m on a 5 lane heavily sanded and salted road, finally I win.
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from KM 131 is a beast! I started off with a KM 91 and while it was stronger than most weed eaters and hedge trimmers I’ve used in the past I still wanted more. So I upgraded to the KM 131 and wow, what I difference! This thing has crazy torque and drives everything from my pole saw to my edger with ease. I like not having to rev the motor all the way up to get power and this things does well. Highly recommended for anyone looking at multi tool options...
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to change tools easy starting and easy to use with all the power I need to get my work done from weed eater to tilling garden plot and trimming trees.
Date published: 2019-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome piece of equipment did some research and found this. Overall i have no complaints.I also purchased the blower and string trimmer. The blower power is crazy was moving all kinds of debris with ease. The stringer did its job with no hassle. Actually pretty light considering power. Great overall investment,can't wait to get more attachments.
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Power - This is Sthil I purchased a KM131 Kombi motor head in conjunction with a trimmer attachment and circular saw blade. I needed to do some heavy brush trimming and definitely couldn't get the job done the old fashion way with machetes. I am so impressed by this machine! It will cut through dense brush with ease. I have cut dog fennel, invasive privet, trimmed tree limbs, and so much more. My backyard is happy, my muscles aren't tired! Get this Stihl if you have to clear brush or maintain fence lines!
Date published: 2019-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the Product I enjoy the flexibility of the system for the range of tasks.
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS THING IS A POWERHOUSE! I bought the KM 131 R to do multiple jobs throughout my property and my parents' farm. I haven't been disappointed! I bought several attachments and use it all year. I even use the blower attachment to clean the snow off of our vehicles in the winter. I use the KW-KM Powersweep attachment to remove gravel from the road in my lawn. It's amazing how fast it removes the gravel without damaging the grass at all. The only drawback with any of my attachments is that the powersweep attachment is heavy. I've used the KM 131 R motor for the last 2 years in every month of the year with no problems at all. I HIGHLY recommend the KM 131 R to anyone.
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A1 Machine From the brush cutter to the blower to the pole saw it is a beast. Starts easy. Love it
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimately the best purchase for my yard I wish I bought this sooner. I am now doing my yard work in half the time and getting more done. I got the KM131 power head, pole saw & extension pole, string trimmer, edger, bed redefiner and hedge trimmer. Nice having all these options with just one power head.My next purchase is going to be the shop vacuum and the rotary surface cleaner attachment for my pressure washer. My Stihl dealer has everything!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Owned one day and back in the shop Bought this last week and after one day it was back in the shop as it wouldn’t start. Dealer replaced some valve as they apparently have been having problems leaking. Now it starts but will all of a sudden just loose power while it running. And don’t try to restart it after shutting it off. Might not restart. The throttle response is terrible too. Pull the throttle trigger and there is a noticeable stutter before the engine kicks in. Going back to the dealer again and not sure what they will do. Not happy about this purchase.
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Kombi does it all for me! From tilling my family garden to taking out brush to clean up with the blower this product is amazing and wouldn't be traded for anything.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl Product Flawless. Great power. Starts with one pull every time. Zero problems
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Machine! I purchased this unit at the beginning of the summer... very pleased with it. I’ve trimmed up around houses and in ditches. Has more than enough power! I’ve been in overgrown ditches 4-6 inches deep. Cuts though it like butter wet or dry. I would recommend this to anyone. You might be hesitant about the 400$ but it’s well worth it.
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brush beast! Purchased this to clear underbrush on hunting land. Added a brush blade and this thing is unstoppable. Thought I was going to have to purchase a saw blade for saplings, but the brush blade when through sapling up to an 1-1.5”. Added a trimmer head for the yard at home. It’s overkill for trimming around the house, but I love the versatility of the Kombi system. Planning to add a tiller in the spring.
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Quit working after 1 day I bought this at local ACE hardware store about 3 weeks ago. Salesman was very nice and informative and recommended the 131 model due to its stronger engine. He test started it at the store- a little difficult to start but he felt normal for first time. I didn’t get a chance to use it until the following weekend. It started ok. After using about half a tank of gas I shut it off. It would not start the next day. Returned it to the store to see if the salesman knew what was wrong. No Luck. They have had it for 2 weeks and when I stopped to check on it last week I was told that they were running about 60 days out on repairs. I would not buy this again without a guarantee that it could be exchanged or returned for full refund.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money I purchased this unit about 2 years ago. I have several of the attachments. I was trimming my yard in June when the engine stopped running. I was not able to get it started again so I took it into the dealer to have it checked. Turns out the piston had burned up and was inoperable. The dealer sent the piston and rod in to the factory to check if it is under warranty. The repair is under warranty but the parts are on back order. That was almost 2 months ago now. There is no timeframe when the parts will be in. It is an indication of the lack of quality and reliability when the dealer is over a month out to even look at what the problem is with a unit because they are too busy with repairs of other Stihl units.I have been using a cheap weed trimmer that I purchased from Home Depot in the meantime without any problems. The HD unit cost me a fraction of what the Stihl cost.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product. Great Features. My Stihl KM 131 has been excellent. I have blackberry vines, tall thick grass, and ivy's growing around my property and this chops it down with ease. I am impressed with this machine compared to other weed eaters I've had in the past. It has definitely sped my time up with outdoor maintenance. I look forward to purchasing other attachments for the 131. The versatility of the KM line of weed eaters is great. This is a worthwhile investment for me.
Date published: 2018-07-11
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_km131r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Read what our customers say about STIHL Multi-Task Tools
The STIHL KombiSystem - Power and Versatility - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us


Share

My Preferred Dealer