KM 111 R

Image of km111r
A professional, low-emission KombiMotor with 30% more power and better air filtration than the previous model.

Product Description

Tackle yard projects with ease with the KM 111 R KombiMotor. Part of the STIHL KombiSystem of multi-tasking tools, this model features a powerful, low-emission engine with a large fuel tank that provides 30% longer run times than the previous model. Professional landscapers looking for power and versatility will like the KM 111 R and its semi-automatic choke lever, one-touch stop, and improved air filter extending service life and replacement intervals. Plus, the KM 111 R is compatible with up to 14 interchangeable attachments, allowing you to operate and power up multiple tools with one KombiMotor while saving on fuel and maintenance.

The STIHL KombiSystem is a versatile landscaping system that includes a powerful STIHL KombiMotor and a full line of attachments. Together, they give landscaping professionals the ability to tackle a tremendous range of outdoor tasks without loading the trailer with a pile of tools. Attachments include trimmers, blowers, hedge trimmers, edgers, pruners, cultivators and more. Each attachment slides into the KombiMotor effortlessly and is secured via a quick-release coupling system, saving you time as well as trailer space.

NOTE: STIHL KombiMotors and STIHL KombiSystem attachments are sold separately.

*as compared to dedicated task units

 

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Purge Pump Primer
    A small fuel pump delivers fuel to the carburetor when pushed, reducing the number of starting strokes required following extended breaks in operation.
  • Loop Handle
    The loop handle (R) is an adjustable rounded handle mounted on the shaft for support and control. The handle is designed to help control the machine in different positions, ideal for reaching tough spots. The handle is large enough to accommodate a gloved hand comfortably.
  • Quick-Release Coupling
    The quick-release coupling system makes it easy to switch between Kombi attachments. In addition, this feature allows KombiSystem equipment to be dismantled into two parts for easy transport and storage and then re-assembled quickly without tools.

    See it in action!
  • Split Shaft
    A split shaft and special toolless quick-release coupling lets you easily switch between attachments, making the KombiSystem highly versatile as well as easy to transport and store.
  • Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Electronic Ignition Module
    The electronic ignition provides reliable starting and because it is fully enclosed, it is protected from moisture and debris for longer service life.
  • Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle help makes it easier to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
31.4 cc (1.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
1.05 kW (1.4 bhp)
WEIGHT
4.4 kg (9.7 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
710 cc (24.0 oz.)
POWER SOURCE
Gas
 

Important Information

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

KM 111 R is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does it all As a homeowner with several acres, this tool does it all for me. Have progressively bought the blower, hedge trimmer, weedeater, cultivator and edger attachments. Has plenty of power and very reliable...no problems. Lightweight enough for me and no prob with the attachments added weight. I only use Stihl oil in the gasoline and have only needed to do routine maintenance on it ( plug, filter) . Makes me look forward to yard work. If you want to look like a pro. .. get this thing. impress your neighbors by learning to start this thing with one pull as you are walking in your drive. Beats the excessive pulls of exasperation kneeled over some cheaper model that won't fire up.!
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product built to last I had a competetive string trimmer that failed quickly and I bought this Kombi Unit so I only needed one engine for several attachements and I did not want another cheap product that would fail. It starts easily and runs great. I like that I can add to the system as I need additional tasks and will not need to maintain a bunch of engines.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product for many lawn care tasks: edging, trimming, and hedge trimming. Professional quality for residential use is well worth the money. Bought the Kombi system with 111 power head and it came with discount on trimmer attachment, so I upgraded to straight shaft for strongest gearbox. Also bought edger at same time. Used both for full season last year and just put on new trimmer line and edger blade for this year. Trimmer slices through very heavy grass and weeds, plenty of power to edge with ease, using one hand! Also bought adjustable hedge trimmer - works great!!
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great So far I only have the straight shaft trimmer attachment and it works great. starts first pull every time. Very powerful. Took me a couple uses to get used to the extra power it makes over my FS55 that I have used for over 7 years. Going to add the blower and edger attachments soon. Very easy to change between attachments. Overall a great power head with great attachments
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Absolutely finicky The most finicky still tool I've used prone to flooding itself odles terribly not happy
Date published: 2018-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thie KM 111 R performs better than I expected I intended to purchase the KM 131 R but the dealer was sold out. I opted for the KM 111 R and it produces more power than I expected. It starts on the first pull every time. It is easy to handle with any of the 3 attachments that I purchased. I’ve only had my Stihl one month, so this review may need to be revisited at a later date.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thing is a beast The Stihl multi tool is great. great trimmer, blower, brush cutter.the head on the trimmer attachment isnt very good. Swapping it out with a speed feed 400 or aeroflex head works amazing. Other than the bad head, on the trimmer attachment this thing is a great tool. light, starts well, lots of power to take down thick brush wtih the brush cutting tool. i will NEVER buy a cheap lowes/home depot trimmer again EVER.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect product. Wanted one for some time and finally made the purchase with hedge trimmer and weed eater head.Hands down my favorite Powertool . I plan to buy the rest of the attachments.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I hate this trimmer.... I run a professional lawn service, and have always used Stihl’s Kombi system products. I have a km90, km91 and a km111. Stihl has obviously changed something in the design of these trimmers, the older km90 is great, the 91 and 111 are miserable. They have plenty of power, but they’re very hard to start. They take two to three pulls to fire them up in the morning, but after a couple of uses, they take 10-15 pulls every time and it’s extremely frustrating (oh, and the km111 is only two weeks old and has done this since the beginning). Now I’m stuck because I can’t use the attachments on any other brand...
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible power I bought the km110r two years ago having owned the km56r for twelve years with no problems. But having the km110r the power difference is incredible , so much torque the 4 mix engine produces I can weed wack hay that's 30 inches high and the engine doesn't even strain. I also have all the attachments . The kombi system is the best way to go because of the versatility it offers.
Date published: 2018-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plenty of power, add on tools are costly Cleans up vines, weeds, and grass without an issue
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Edger I've owned so far. This edger is awesome. I bought this edger because it had lots of attachment options. I bought the edger and the mini-cultivator attachments. I figured using the cultivator in hard soil with some roots would bog this unit down, but it had plenty of torque to do the job. Ate through most roots and just kept on going. the edger trims grass and weeds easily even at low rpms. Just bought the hedge trimmer attachment, but haven't used it yet. Looking to buy the the sweeper attachment next. So cool!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable and Powerful This Kombi system power head is very fast starting and powerful. I have paired it with the brush cutter and the straight shaft trimmer. The trimmer is very easy to use and the brush cutter works cutting thru brush up to about an inch thick with no strain on the engine.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No throttle lock We use the kombi system for edger, hedge trimmer, and pole saw on our lawncare. The new 111 do not have a throttle lock which is a major issue. When using the hedge trimmer on long hedges that are at eye level. You can no longer lock the throttle and place powerhead on shoulder and use 2 hands on d-ring.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I bought one sooner! I am a homeowner, but like highly functional, high quality products and try to keep my landscaping looking perfectly manicured. I've been running Stihl chainsaws, backpack blowers, and other tools for 20+ years. I recently invested in the Km 111 r to replace a big box store trimmer which had lasted quite long and also another professional brush cutter that I accidentally ran over with my diesel tractor. I bought this unit with the trimmer, brush cutter, a pole saw with extension, and the adjustable hedge trimmer. I was originally a bit concerned over the weight but when you use it with the padded strap it becomes perfectly balanced and not an issue at all. Pleasantly surprised. This machine has tons of power and delivers it smoothly. It got even more powerful and more smooth with a few tanks of gas through it. I use the expensive but insanely clean burning motomix on this machine as well. Worth protecting the investment. Oh, and this thing sounds like a beast and doesn't have an unpleasant tone at all.As for starting, the initial start took 5 pulls. Every subsequent day it has started on the first pull. Just follow the instructions to the word. Hot starts are a one pull ordeal as well and can be started while hanging from the strap with no issue. Ergonomics are excellent and much better than the homeowner Stihl trimmer my dad has. The Kombi pieces came together seamlessly and work well. I'll review those independently as well and hope this information is helpful. My dealer even gave me a free hanger for the various attachments which I will install soon. It's a hybrid 4 stroke engine for lack of better terms but burns the standard 50:1 mix. As mentioned before I am fueling with motomix. I'd suggest breaking in with motomix and then make sure you use it again when storing for the winter or long periods. If you don't use motomix at least do yourself a favor and use fresh gas with the Stihl synthetic 2 stroke oil (silver bottle). I can't prove it but I think the way I fuel these Stihl machines has something to do with the fact that even my oldest Stihl machines have never had a single issue (knock on wood). And even though I am a homeowner I use them a lot! Chainsaw is over 20 years old, cuts a ton of wood every year, and behaves as if it is a brand new professional machine. If your are considering this machine, just buy it, you'll be happy you did! I just wish I didn't wait so long to get mine.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful, dependable and worth every nickel!! I own this with all the attachments. Everything works together perfectly. Powerful and dependable, THAT'S WHY YOU BUY A STIHL COMMERCIAL MODEL!!You can get cheaper, but, NO BETTER!!I have used Stihl my whole life.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thing is a beast Bought this power unit attached to the bed redefiner tool.. works awesome as long as the soil is dry. Plugs up if there is any moisture in the dirt.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts quick, great power and versatility- very happy! I’ve been impressed since I bought it and have had no issues. Very strong running machine with no hesitation- works great for trimming and with leaf blower attachment. The auto line feeder that we bought separately is hit or miss.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will buy more products! This attachment system couldn't fit my needs any better! I maintain a few yards on the side for extra $ and there is no need for me to have 3-4 different single power tools. I can fit all my equipment in the back of my truck no problem. It's light weight and very durable. I will be buying more items from them. This 111R series gets the job done and has plenty power! 5 stars from me so far!
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power and percision Upon using this power head with the many tools that it is comatible with, I saw no issues with any lack of power. However with great power one must think it is uncontrollable but this could not be further from the truth. I was able to precisely edge, trim, and blow the yard. After edging and blowing 6 yards in the neighborhood, I used only half a tank of fuel which compared to my old system was great. I look forward to using this machine in the future and reapply the benifits it has brought.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable fast starting with plenty of power. I bought this along with the pole pruner and power scyth to trim trees and briars along fence lines and the road. It does a great job powering the attachments and allowed me to clear these areas much faster than I would have otherwise.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic piece of equipment I've had mine for a year now and I love it. I've bought the chain saw attachment for heavy cutting and the blower and the weed trimmer also. I'm waiting on the hedge trimmer now and I will be set to do everything.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing This is not a review on the KM111R but the previous model that has now been replaced. I could not review that as it has been discontinued. I purchased the last one in the store so I ended up with a small discount. I am not impressed with performance of this 4 stroke. There is tons of lag and there is no middle road. I purchased the brush cutter attachment with the power head to clear underbrush on 5 wooded acres. It's full throttle or nothing. I would have thought for the price that stihl sets, one would be more impressed with the performance. Also the store that I purchased it from did not have the owners or operator manuals, they were supposed to mail them to me...it's been over two weeks and haven't seen them yet. Purchased on 08/11/17.
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from km110 throttle response i was disappointed with the throttle response. the stihl mechanic said it has a two stage carborator and has a lag as it changes stages. the tech guys said that is just how it is. had i known that i would have bought a different one. it performs well and has the power i want but does not throttle up and down as smoothly as i think it should for a commercial grade tool.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power. Lots of power. I purchased this initially with the cultivator attachment and string trimmer attachment. Soon I purchased a brushcutter attachment ("triangle" blade), and just got the scythe/sicklebar mower attachment.I've been able to knock down a "man eating" thorny shrub that's been growing unattended out back for a few years, and this has the power and versatility in spades. Attachments are of the same quality as the powerhead itself. While I love to brag about the power this unit has, it also is remarkably thrifty on fuel consumption.While it is heavy, it's not really a con. It's heavy in a "built right" sort of way. I'd recommend this to most anyone- from me who trims around a 3/4 acre pond once a week to the professional user. It may be overkill for suburbanites, but then, there's less powerful and lighter weight models for them.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beast My wife and i recently purchased 10 acres in the country which has about 2 acres of trees with dense under brush. Knowing that the equipment that i used around my house would not handle the task of cleaning the brush i decides to doing some shopping.Well I landed on the Stihl KM 110 R and purchased the brush cutter kit to go along with it.This thing is a BEAST. I have cleared about 1/3 of the area in no time. In 6 hrs. I never had to stop to sharpen the blade and i was cutting 1 to 1 1/2 inch sapplings in some areas.There is one con: the safety handle thats connected to the grip could use some improvements...at the end of the day the spot where it touch my leg was sore and still sore the next day.Over all this is a great piece of equipment
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dont think about it, buy it. I was talked into the 111 over the 56. I have the tiller attachment, curved trimmer, curved edger, and pole saw. This will run all of them with ease. It is pretty light and its a Stihl, so it will last for years. I have a 5 year old blower with the 65 motor, it cranks on the first or second pull every. single. time. Now that I have this with all the attachments, I shouldnt have to buy anymore tools for my yard to look top notch.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LAGS BIG TIME! THESE 4 STROKER ENGINE LAG BIG TIME COMPARED TO THE TWO STROKE I REPLACED. I SPENT HOURS WITH THE STIHL MECHANIC AT ACE TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHY THEY BOG DOWN AT FULL THROTTLE AND EVEN HALF THROTTLE. STIHL CLAIMS IT IS NORMAL, BUT IT IS NOT NORMAL FOR THE TWO CYCLE ENGINES AT ALL. THEY WILL RESPOND INSTANTLY AND WIND UP AND STAY AT FULL RPM. THESE 4 STROKER DO NOT AND THEY ARE A HASSLE TO USE WITH PARTIAL THROTTLE COMPARED TO THE 2 CYCLE FS85 I JUST REPLACED THAT RAN PERFECTLY. I WANTED TO TRY A TOOL I CAN CHANGE OUT HEADS/ATTACHMENTS AND NOT KEEP BUYING DEDICATED TOOLS LIKE THE FS85 WAS. I SHOULD HAVE NEVER TRADED MY FS85 PRO AND SHOULD HAVE KEPT IT. NOW I AM STUCK WITH THIS KM111R TO GET MY TRIMMING DONE. IT IS MUCH HEAVIER ALSO. TRYING TO GET THE RPM AT THE SPEED NEEDED TO CUT CORRECTLY FOR ME IS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE. IF YOUR THINKING ABOUT GETTING INTO 4 STROKER ENGINES FOR TRIMMING, I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THEM AT ALL.I STARTED WITH THE KM 130 AND THEN THEY SWITCHED OUT TO NEWER MODELS RIGHT AFTER I BOUGHT IT. NEW MODELS HAVE THE NUMBER 1 FOR LAST DIGIT IN THE MODEL NAME INSTEAD OF 0. THERE IS A HUGE DIFFERENCE IN MODELS TOO. DON'T BOTHER WITH THE OLD 110 OR 130, THEY ARE DESIGNED IN 2014 AND OUT DATED COMPARED TO THE 2017 MODEL. SAME GOES FOR THE ATTACHMENTS. BE VERY CAREFUL AND TRY TO BUY THIS YEARS POWER HEAD AND ATTACHMENTS. MY EDGER IS AN OLD MODEL AND THEY BROKE OUT THIS YEARS VERSION AS SOON AS THEY SOLD THE OLD VERSION AND I WASN'T HAPPY ABOUT THAT EITHER..MY OLD FS85 PRO HAD LIFE TIME WARRANTY ON ELECTRONICS ND SHAFT AND CLUTCH AND NOW THEY ONLY HAVE 2 YEARS! AGAIN, NOT HAPPY AT ALL.THE KM 130 R WOULD BOG DOWN FROM 8000 RPM AT HALF THROTTLE BECAUSE OF THE LIMITER. THIS MEANS THE THROTTLE WAS TWICE AS SENSITIVE AS IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN, AMONG OTHER PROBLEMS. WE TRIED FOR HOURS TO GET IT TO NOT BE THAT WAY AT THE STIHL DEAR, BUT IT WAS A LOST CAUSE. I SWAPPED IT OUT THE NEXT DAY FOR THE KM 131 R. I CAN TRY TO KEEP A FINGER UNDER THE THROTTLE TO T MORE UNDER CONTROL RPM WISE. BUT IT STILL TAKE SOO LONG FOR THE ENGINE TO RESPOND TO THE THROTTLE. WE TRIED 5 DIFFERENT VERSIONS AT THE DEALER AND THEY ALL DID IT. EVEN THE NEWER 2017 MODEL OF THE KM 131 R WAS HORRIBLE THIS WAY.. MAYBE IF YOU USED THEM UNDER HEAVY LOAD THE LIMITER WOULDN'T KICK IN, BUT THEN THE THROTTLE POSITIONING WOULDN'T BE SO IMPORTANT EITHER. IT'S A BAD DEAL FOR SURE AND I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THEM.THE GAS TANK IS ABOUT ONE THIRD THE SIZE THEY USED TO BE. THE SHAFT LENGTH IS TOO SHORT FOR ME SO I HAVE TO STOOP TO USE IT ALL OF THE TIME. THIS IS NOT GOOD AT ALL ON THE OL SPINE AND NECK.THEY DO START WELL AND THE 2017 DOESN'T HAVE THE ON/OFF SWITCH NOW. IT JUST USES A KILL SWITCH SO IT IS READY TO RESTART W/O NEEDING TO SLIDE THE SWITCH TO ON ANY MORE. THE CHOKE IS NICER AND HAS 3 POSITIONS LIKE THE STIHL BR 700 HAS WHICH IS ALSO VERY NICE.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! Bought 3 pieces of the Kombi attachments; curved shaft edger, straight shaft trimmer, blower. This thing has tons of power! Was not sure what to expect for real world performance, but am extremely happy with this set up. Will most likely pick up the paddle wheel for light snow in the future. I wish it was a bit lighter, but the performance makes this a non issue for me. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-04-30
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_km111r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Read what our customers say about STIHL Multi-Task Tools
The STIHL KombiSystem - Power and Versatility - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us


Share

My Preferred Dealer