RMA 510

Image of rma510
A 21" walk-behind battery-powered lawn mower that delivers the power and run time to handle small to medium suburban yards. 

Product Description

The RMA 510 gives homeowners the performance of a gasoline-powered mower without any of the hassles. Enjoy instant starting, less noise, zero gasoline costs and zero exhaust emissions. It features a 21" deck, so you can cover more lawn faster than previous models. The RMA 510 also includes a holding slot for a second battery, so you can swap batteries and be ready to cut again in seconds. It also features an adjustable handlebar, grass catcher and larger rear wheels for rough terrain. This battery-powered lawn mower is great for small to medium suburban yards.

Run time may vary based on battery type, charge level and capacity, model, operating style and conditions. Batteries and chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.

View Our Usage Chart



Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • Battery Life
    No gradual drop in power, so you can work at full speed until battery is depleted.

    See it in action!
  • Convenient Handle
    Folding handles make it easy to transport and to store.

    See it in action!
  • Locking Key
    Key prevents accidental starting of the motor.
  • Power Switch
    Instant startup, just push the button and pull the switch lever.

    See it in action!

Specifications

WEIGHT
28.1 kg. (62.0 lbs.)
AREA MOWED
Approx. 5,100 sq. ft. w/ AP 300 on a single charge
CUTTING HEIGHT
3.5 cm to 9.0 cm (1 3/8" – 3 3/4")
DECK WIDTH
53.3 cm (21")
GRASS CATCHER CAPACITY
75 L (19.8 gal.)
POWER SOURCE
Battery
CUTTING WIDTH
51 cm (20")
WATTS
1,100 W
BATTERY SERIES
AP Series
WEIGHT (w/Recommended Battery)
w/ AP 300 29.8 kg. (65.8 lbs.)
AREA MOWED (w/ AP 300)
Approx. 5,100 sq. ft. (Recommended combination)
Run time may vary based on battery type, charge level and capacity, model, operating style and conditions. Batteries and chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.

Important Information

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

RMA 510 is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better than expected I didn't expect much from a battery powered mower, but I was pleasantly surprised. This mower has more power than the old gas mower it replaced, and certainly is much quieter. I tackled 8" high wet grass and the mower didn't even slow down and successfully provided a fairly even cut. I liked not having to pull a starter cord or mess with gasoline and oil. The AP300 battery lasted about 35 minutes cutting the tall wet grass, I did need to recharge to complete my yard.
Date published: 2019-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight I have a small city lot that only takes 15-20 mins to mow. I must say this was the best investment i could have made based on my needs. Its light weight, super easy to use. and quite. Very quite!!!!! I did check out the big box store to see what they offered. I am sure what they sell is good , but they just DON'T have the same feel as my RMA-510.YES it is expensive compared to the big box stores, its an investment.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ***Never knew mowing could be so simple*** I mowed a small area with this mower several times before needing to charge the battery. Exceeds my expectations!
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and lots of power Let's face it, no one wants to spend l this much on a mower but if you have to then at least get one that makes life easier. This mower fits the bill. No gas, no oil, quiet, easy to start yet it still has tons of power to plow through tough grass. It picks up better than my old gas mower! I've moved my yard several times on one charge! I thought I'd miss having a self-propelled mower but I don't. This one is easy to push through thick grass. Just spend the extra and get something you'll really like.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, Quiet, Powerful enough for flat yard This was the first Stihl product for me, and i'm impressed by battery life with the one that came with mower, lasting long enough for backyard and most of front yard. I also purchased a leaf blower which used the same battery, thinking maybe one battery would be enough for both. I have found I needed 2 battteries, an additional one, a 300s higher capacity, to allow spare to charge should i need more life than 2 uses, works like charm. And additionally, now have purchased a weed trimmer that uses same battery. I'm quite happy with all, and the interchangability and elimination of gas powered problems has made this super convenient, quiet running for my weekend yard work. I was skeptical about lack of a self-powered feature, but even on my front yard ditch, i'm able to navigate grass hill without too much trouble. It manages to go over accidental branches and twigs without stall, mulching things up. Not really a con, but it slows down a little when sensing I'm turning around to go the other direction. I like the battery life indicator and that it flashes red if it senses a failure, giving me confidenence that it has extra smarts built-in. The power of the Stihl products i bought in this range with the AP batteries is impressive to me. I haven't had to troubleshoot anything with mower, other than check that I've turned safety switches on in proper order. I'm quite happy with the power, and performance of these 3 Stihl products I've purchased.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for My Lawn This mower is the perfect combination of performance and convenience for my small (about 1500 sq ft) lawn. Very light and maneuverable eliminates the need for self driving. Battery lasts for more than an hour and recharges pretty fast. I have the identical battery for my Stihl chainsaw, so now have a backup battery whatever tool is needed. Cuts smoothly and quietly. Some really nice features are single lever height adjustment and spring loaded cams on the handles that make folding storage quick and easy. So happy I won't have to deal with tuneups, winterizing, and bad gas anymore.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoying the convenience It's been so rainy here in Texas this spring, that my grass is heavy and thick. It taxes the battery more than a normal year's yard would. That's not the fault of the mower or battery. The mower cuts right through it. My place is big enough that I'm going to get a second battery. I work hard all day and when I come home to mow in the evening, I want no hassle and no time wasted: just go out and put the battery in and start it up. I recommend this to middle-aged/older women who want to keep mowing their yard. Yes, it's expensive, but you get what you pay for. I've had the mower for a month and am very pleased.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's lightweight and cuts long grass fine! I like this lawn mower with its power and agility. I would recommend having 2 batteries for a lawn 1/2 acre or more.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One wish Being a vertically challenged Grandmother; I wish the handle could be adjusted to be a more comfortable height for my stature.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great battery powered mower The RMA510 is great for mowing my grass. Easy to use, charge and handles well in our yard. Even w/o self propelled assist it is easy to maneuver.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet, Efficient Electric Mower This is my first Stihl product. I am really impressed by the sturdy design, larger battery with better charge, and the quiet operation of this mower. I like the 550 charge warranty for the battery pack and the 2 year warranty on this mower. It is very easy to operate. I like the push button start along with the ease to push this mower. My battery charge lasts a long time. I like the shut off charge when the battery charges full. This is an excellent feature since many times I will forget to unplug the charge unit for the battery.I would definitely recommend this product, and I would by Stihl again.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why would anyone’s own a gas mower any more? Seriously why did I wait so long to buy a RMA 510? Powerful, lightweight, easy to use and no oil or gas fumes. I work in the landscape industry but I purchased this for my home use. Please educate your dealers as mine seemed skeptical of an electric mower. Went on a rant about the EPA forcing people to go electric. Really? I think people are so used to wrestling heavy, smoke belching, gas machines around they think these machines lack power. Mow with one just once and you will never go back!
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not a lot of lifting power, but does well overall. Not a lot of lifting power, but does well overall.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stihl tool I really like the mower, works great with no exhaust or noise. very impressed with its performance and power.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing machine for my yard equipment line-up. The initial cost was to be considered, however, this machine is so easy to use even the kids like mowing! It has been flawless and a great addition to my lawn equipment line-up.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good/ bag issue The lawn mower cannot do a full lawn in one charge. Biggest issue is bag handle separated on one side where stitched to the bag. Over all pleased with the lawn mower
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great mower, but... great mower. quiet, plenty of power and one battery will do my 1/3 acre, but one drawback is that it's top-heavy. when mowing across an incline, it wants to flip over, so i have to cut uphill or downhill. therefore, i can't give it a rating of excellent.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic mower This mower is light weight and easy to turn. It’s easy to adjust the height and the handle is adjustable and very comfortable. The batteries last a long time and is quick to charge. It mows beautifully cuts even high grass. Very easy and compact for storage handle folds down and you can store it up right don’t have to worry about gas spills. It’s very easy to start runs great I love it and would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Impressions Product seems to operate well. Ease of use A+. My 6 yr old son learned how to mow the lawn in 10 min. I will post other reviews as I use this product.
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet and Effecient It's such a pleasure to use a lawn mower that not only does a great job but is alsoenvironmentally a winner! No gas, no oil. It's lightweight and easy to operate.
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A most disappointing purchase from Stihl Don't be mistaken. I am a Stihl snob. I have owned more than 21 Stihl products and this is the first and only one I have ever been disappointed by until now. Every other product has worked amazingly until the Stihl 510 mower I just purchased. After my gas powered non-Stihl mower died after 15 years of hard use I thought I would try this Stihl electric mower to reduce noise and air pollution. I have never been so disappointed with a Stihl item, in fact I've never before been disappointed until now. I've used it a half-dozen times in order to make sure my first impression was correct and it is. This mower is not ready for prime time. Although the battery lasts long enough for a medium size lawn and the mower is indeed quiet I do question it's ability to stand up to even medium duty use. It is of course lacking self-propel to help the battery last which means it is only useful on lawns with minimal slope. This mower is very low strength which means it is difficult to tell where one has or hasn't mowed unless the grass is of relatively tall height. It will only lift leaves if they are light and on the surface of the grass which means I now have to rake first or use my Stihl leaf blower before mowing to remove leaves from my lawn as this mower will not clean them up..it barely disturbs most of them.So where would this mower actually be useful? Perhaps for teaching children how to use a mower since it is light and quiet? Perhaps for an elderly person who really wishes to mow their lawn if its small and contains no leaves? Its really more a Barbie mower for light use or pretend usage. Perhaps you might consider purchase if you live in an area where gasoline is non-existent for illegal or where you cannot store gasoline indoors. Otherwise, this mower is a major disappointment and I cannot recommend it to anyone except a young child or an older person or perhaps for cleaning up around edges where large mowers cannot. I wish I could return this item and purchase a mower that can do the job my old gas powered mower did. This battery powered mower is just not ready for prime time.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Mower Went for an electric mower to rid myself of gas and oil in my garage. Was a bit skeptical using this product until I got it home and used it in tall wet grass. This thing worked like a champ and the battery (300mA) lasted about an hour on Eco mode. I'm hooked on it and will have no other.
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sure does make life easier. First let me say I had had two battery-operated mowers in the past. They were heavy and the battery charged right in the mower and it took forever to charge. When they quit working, the gas powered mower came back out but it was very difficult for me to start. I saw this beauty in the Home Base store and left the first time without getting it. I looked it up online when I got home and it had good reviews and I knew it was something I needed to check out further. Headed back to the store. The dealer went over everything and I mean everything with me. When I left, I knew exactly how to use it. Texas has had a lot of rain lately. Grass is growing like an inch a minute. I charged the battery when I got home and as soon as it was done I headed out to get the front yard mowed. It handles so easily! Really helps that you can adjust the height of the handle. I used it on mulch even though there were quite a few fallen leaves. It plowed right through everything without hesitation. Got the whole yard finished in no time flat. I loved that I could stop it and pick up branches or sticks in the yard and it started right back up. After I finished, I brought the battery in and let it cool down and when I put it back on the charger it still had two LEDs lit up! I could have made it through the back yard too on the same charge. So all in all, even though I have not had it that long and have only used it a few times, it has proved itself to be a good mower with enough power. I am thinking about a second battery so when I hit the back 40 I can swap out the battery and keep on going. I think we are going to be very good friends.
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SOLID BATTERY OPERATED MOWER IT'S BEEN TWO MONTHS SINCE OUR PURCHASE AND THIS MOWER HAS MET EVERY EXPECTATION WE HAD. WE HAVE .75 ACRE LOT AND ONLY NEED 1.5 HOURS TO COMPLETE THE MOWING. BOTH THE FRONT AND BACK YARDS USE ONE BATTERY LIFE SO WE HAVE AN EXTRA BATTERY TO KEEP GOING WITHOUT DELAYS. SOLID MULCHING AND CLEAN CUTS FROM THE BLADES AND EASY TO HANDLE UP AND DOWN OUR SLOPES.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mower! This was a great purchase a year ago. No longer fooling with a gas can or oil changes. Pop the battery in and go. Entire yard mowed with only 1/4 battery use. Use the same battery for my blower, weedeater and hedge trimmer. Great cut and mulch, rinse and put away until next week!
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than my old gas mowers I did a LOT of reading before purchasing this mower. I looked at reviews for at least 10 other mowers from different manufacturers. In the end I am very glad I made this purchase. The quality of cut is fantastic. The power is fantastic. The quality of materials and construction look and feel great. I am able to mow down weeds that are nearly waist high and the motor never slows down. The sound doesn't change a bit. I almost can't believe it. My old gas mowers (one 5 hp & one 6 hp) would choke and this electric mower just chews it up and spits it out. I am running it mulching, no bag or side chute. I was so impressed I decided to make a video which I plan to upload to youtube. I'll probably name it something like "Tall Weeds - Stihl RMA 510". I am surprised there are not more reviews and videos of this mower. If I saw someone doing what I've been able to do with it, I would have purchased it immediately!
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 510 exceeded my expectations I've grown tired of the maintenance associated with gas powered equipment, however some equipment requires gas over electric. I believed that included 21 inch walk behind lawn mowers, the Stihl 510 proved me wrong. The problem is, these lawn mowers are not cheap, but now that I own one I would buy it again. Stihl would do themselves a great favor by including a demo model at their dealers so potential customers could take a model home and use it for a day.My yard is approximately 1/2 acre and I am able to mow the front w/bag and the back w/mulch on one charge, the charge takes much less than the 75 minutes the manual states, my full charge time is about 45 minutes. I have always used the Eco mode because it works great.I'm glad I made the choice to buy the 510 model and I would buy it again.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impression after 1 year of use - I have absolutely no regrets with my purchase of the RMA 510. It is one of the best cutting push mowers I have ever used with the benefit of low noise and no mixing gas. I cut 1/2 acre twice a week so there is quite a few miles on it, I measured it today and I do about 1.8 miles of walking per cut so counting summer months this think has been pushed 100 miles in the past year. Where it really shines is for kids starting to mow the lawn. My son moves every frog and snake he sees so he is constantly starting and stoping the mower. Push the button and go vs destroying a rip cord. Prior to making the leap for the Stihl I tried two Green coloured units which were complete garbage, both of them failed with the dead man switch stuck on so the only way to turn off was to remove battery.I own many pieces of Sthil equipment and they never fail me - have learned to pay a little more for the mental sanity of reliability.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome battery life This machine surprised me with how well it eats up the grass and how well it holds a charge. We have roughly 4000 sq ft of grass and pretty thick grass and after the initial cut, we mow it once a week on 70% battery. its amazing. the initial cut have about 4" of growth and it took one full battery and 10% of the other, still not bad and that is exactly why we bought two batteries. I like the fact that it is not self propelled for the workout aspect but it does make it hard for my young boys to push it. So if there was any downside, that would be it.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice mower Decided to go cordless with battery mower. After looking at other manufacturers, settled on Stihl. Have used the mower four times and am pleasantly surprised. Lawn size is sbout 70' x 130' including house and driveway footprint. Bluegrass lawn that is very healthy and thick. Of the four led bars available from full charge, have used only two bars each time mowing. Concerned charge might drop off in hot weather. Recent time mowing, temp 95 deg. F. Still used same number of bars. Cutting off 1 inch grass in mulch mode.If it continues to work like this will be very pleased. Only downside I've noticed is that it tends to leave some uncut grsss if one is moving too quickly or you dont overlap the cut path enough. Otherwise, very easy to use, quiet, and easy to push.
Date published: 2018-05-29
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_rma510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer