HS 56

Image of hs56
This lightweight hedge trimmer features professional-grade cutting power.

Product Description

The STIHL HS 56 hedge trimmer is the ideal balance of power and portability for professional users. Its 24” cutting blade is supported by a remarkably lightweight design, adding comfort and control to those extended cutting and pruning jobs. This hedge trimmer features an optimized gearbox, providing long machine life even in heavy use. The HS 56 is not only easy to service thanks to its data port, but also due to a modified grease opening on the gearbox. It comes with a blade tip guard that protects the blades, helping to keep them sharper for longer while making it easier to trim low-growing ground cover plants.

Model Features

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Double-Sided Blades
    The dual-ground blade system provides a clean cut and is ideal for cutting through stronger, thicker branches.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
21.4 cc (1.31 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
0.65 kW (0.87 bhp)
FUEL CAPACITY
280 cc (9.5 oz.)
BLADE LENGTH
24"
STROKES PER MINUTE
3,640
POWER SOURCE
Gas
WEIGHT*
4.5 kg (9.9 lbs.)
*Dry weight.

Important Information

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

HS 56 is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hedge Trimmer I use this trimmer at our cabin to control overgrowth on our access road. It’s light weight and great power make it easy to clear the way. The best Trimmer ever!!
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best trimmer I've used I have always used gas trimmers. However, this is by far the best ride for you. You do not feel any vibrations. It cuts like butter. Honestly I don't see myself going back to the offbrands. I was using a ryobi 20 inch blade and it croaked on me. I went and bought this and went back to finish the job and this cuts 3-4x faster than the ryobi ever did. Great buy.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sucks I've been using stihl products for many years. And have used many of these trimmers over the years.Earlier versions of this trimmer were better. This one is very loud, and produces a lot of smoke, compared to other models. Always feel sick after using it from inhaling all the smoke.And has continuous engine problem. Very Disappointed. Note that half the reviews shown for this model are for a electric trimmer, not this model.
Date published: 2019-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very well balanced Love the hedge trimmer. It does a great job cutting down all of my perennials for the winter, and I do have a lot of them and this thing made very short work of thew whole ordeal. Worked very well on trimming the few boxwoods that I have. I do wish the throttle response was just a little bit better on it though. It seems to have quite a delay before it revs up to cutting speed. But other than that, it starts very easily. It seems to operate very well on synthetic fuel, with no worries of gumming up the carberator. All in all was a great purchase and will probably last for the rest of my time on this planet.
Date published: 2018-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy a Stihl the first time! Starts easy and durable. I cut mostly blackberry and light brush to keep my fence lines clear. I used a Poulan Pro hedge clipper prior to my Stihl purchase, it is sub standard compared to the Stihl. The Poulan blade assembly is prone to breakage because it is too hard, and/or not sharpened at the correct angle. The Stihl blade assembly is sharpend at a better angle so it cuts and doesn't shear like the Poulan. I replaced the blades on the poulan many times at great expense. Do yourself and your bank account better than that, buy a Stihl the first time.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Trimmer. Really pleased in the HS 56 so far. Plenty of power for my needs. Glad not to be married to a cord anymore when trimming. I was always worried about cutting the cord when trimming with my other corded hedge trimmer. Cut my trimming time down about 40%. I also got a good deal by getting an extra battery along with the purchase of the HS 56 trimmer. Thank You STIHL for making my yard work a little easier.
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice piece of equipment The product is very easy to use. It is fairly lightweight and being that it is battery operated makes it very convenient. No more unrolling a cord, that has multiple cuts in it, ad constantly moving it so that you don't cut it. But, never fails, it ends up getting cut sooner than later. With this hedge trimmer you just charge the battery and start clipping. I saved so much time by not dragging a cord around. If there was one drawback it would be the battery life. Based on some reviews I read, which persuaded me to buy it, it was claimed to have a couple of bars left after 50 minutes of use. I barely got 35 minutes before the battery went out.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lived up to claims Works like a charm and makes for quick work. Love the no hassle fuel mix issues and is worth the additional cost for batteries.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this trimmer! Very happy with the quality and performance. I’ve had a few electric trimmers of various qualities, this one by far outdoes them all.Easy to start, easy to use. It’s not a lightweight though, it has some heft. It’s a great opportunity for a little upper body exercise!Cuts through dried woody hedges with ease. I was able to reshape some old hedges that were decades overdue for trimming.I only have two problems with it;1. It makes a horrible mess in a very short amount of time. ( fortunately, my wife is very helpful in cleaning up!)2. I don’t know when I’ll get to use it again, depends on how fast the hedges grow back!Come on rain!
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a nice upgrade from electric I have been wanting to replace my electric hedge trimmer with a gas for some time. This year, I made the leap and am thankful that I did. I already have several Stihl products, so it was a no-brainer to keep my choice in the Stihl family. Wow, it made such fast work of my ornamental grasses and hedges that I am feeling a little cheated :-)
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality The trimmer is perfect for all of the shrubs and hedges in my yard.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tool I absolutely love these hedgers!! My old ones were another common brand I constantly had problems with. These are powerful, sharp and start almost immediately every time! I LOVE STIHL. My chainsaw is an old stihl model 021 production started in 1990 and it still starts and runs like a top. Also have gas edger I use a lot. Highly recommend this product!!
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from honestly, I've been disappointed in this trimmer. I use this trimmer heavily during the summer., probably about 15 hours a week. I find it is hard to start and when it starts it takes a few minutes for it to get to the point where I get full power. It chugs and I have to baby it to keep it running. I'll be taking it back to the dealer for the fourth time since purchasing it two years ago. This is my first summer for heavy use, previously it was lightly used. From new I had problems tilting the machine certain directions or it would chug and stall out. I hoped it would be a great machine but it is not, unfortunately! I want to replace it but I'm afraid to buy another Stihl product.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable, easy starting, pro hedger. I bought this hedger a few years back and used it for a short period and sadly they got stolen. I was recently contacted by my local lawn mower shop where I originally purchased the unit that someone brought a hedger in that they had found and because it had the business label sticker where it was originally purchased they brought it there hoping to find the owner. When I arrived to see it it was used quite a bit :( I then told him to service it and get it back in good working order. Now here we are 2 weeks later and I got my hs56 back and couldn’t be happier. This is an amazing unit it’s lightweight powerful and very well balanced! I’m so blessed to get my stolen unit back thanks stihl for your professional serial number I’d system. That allows the dealer to register the unit to customer I have got my tool back. 5 stars thanks Pauli’s lawn equipment!
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power and easy to start This is an awesome machine. What use to take hours with a small electric trimmer can now be completed in minutes.The clean up is now the hardest part of the job; trimming the hedges is easy and they look great!
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use. Starts up quickly and very easy to use. Store I bought it from was a huge help.
Date published: 2017-09-19
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_hs56, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Product Instruction Manuals

Product Safety Manual (PDF)

STIHL Limited Warranty

Contact Us



Share

My Preferred Dealer