HS 46 C-E

Image of hs46ce
Our lightest gasoline-powered hedge trimmer for homeowners featuring STIHL Easy2Start™.

Product Description

For smooth and comfortable hedge trimming at home, less is more. And the STIHL HS 46 C-E is a lot of less: Less weight – this well-balanced trimmer is the lightest gasoline-powered hedge trimmer in the STIHL line. Less emissions – compared to traditional 2-stroke engine technology. Less fatigue – its advanced anti-vibration system reduces vibration levels by 40% compared to previous models. Less frustration – its Easy2Start™ technology makes starting the trimmer nearly effortless. Less weight and emissions. Less fatigue and frustration. Less IS more! Plus, an easy-to-access data port is integrated into the HS 46 C-E, allowing for simplified servicing at your local STIHL Dealer.

Model Features

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Double-Sided Blades
    The dual-ground blade system provides a clean cut and is ideal for cutting through stronger, thicker branches.
  • STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL® outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL® products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
21.4 cc (1.31 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
0.65 kW (0.87 bhp)
FUEL CAPACITY
280 cc (9.5 oz.)
BLADE LENGTH
22"
STROKES PER MINUTE
3,640
POWER SOURCE
Gas
WEIGHT*
4.3 kg (9.5 lbs.)
*Dry weight.

Important Information

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

HS 46 C-E is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ANOTHER satisfied purchase from Stihl The appearance is great. It looks like a professional piece of equipment. Well balanced in my hand as I use it. Starts easily. If it doesn't start easily, I'm doing it wrong. Plenty of power. It's had no problem slicing through thick bush branches. Not too loud. The only bad mark I'd give this piece of equipment is it's price. It looks, operates, and is dependable like you would expect from Stihl and it certainly has that high end Stihl price.
Date published: 2018-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As always Stihl is the best. By far the best set of trimmers I’ve owned they have plenty of power and starts first pull every time. It’s a Stihl enough said.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Home run STIHL has done it again! Delivered a quality product that exceeds all expectations! Ease of operation, power and perfect balance makes it a pleasure to use. Do yourself a favor and buy a STIHL and not a no name machine that will last a year or two. For an example I purchased a STIHL 039 saw back in the late 80’s early 90’s and it’s still as strong as the day I bought it. In these throw away times when things are meant to be disposable of STIHL makes a product that will last a generation or longer. German engineering and built in the USA!!! Need I say more? Pay a bit more and do yourself a favor and buy once!!!!
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl does it again - great! This product was very easy to use and start. It was very light weight and made my trimming look like a pro did it.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid dependable choice Perfect machine for around the home and if you have a yard business that does some spring yard clean up. I might have chosen a longer blade, but this has the same engine size and I didn’t want to under powered. Easy to start and runs smooth. I’ve had Echo trimmers and after a season I have experienced problems, be sure to follow proper storage at seasons end and you should be happy for seasons to come. I bought this from a local business and probably paid $20-30 more than at a national chain but the service is worth it.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good I wanted a light yet powerful tool. This model seems to fit the bill so far. I wish it had a slightly longer blade. That blade is a available on the professional model, but that machine seems heavier too. It's a trade-off.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should have bought the product 1st I have purchased all types of powered yard tools and I should have bought Stihl first. It starts with ease and does the job without ANY problems. Now I have to purchase a blower and stihl will be my choice. Stihl brand is a little pricey but you will purchase you last tool first! It is lite and has the power to do the job making it easy to use.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl product After using Stihl chainsaws, backpack blowers and trimmers for years, I recently added this hedge trimmer to my arsenal. I decided to spend a few extra bucks on this model compared to the entry level one. Better reviews and it just felt better. Anyway it made super quick work of our bushes and is extremely well balanced. I followed the manual instructions exactly and starting was a breeze. Initial power was decent but it gets notably better with a couple tankfuls of gas burned through it. I decided to spend extra money and buy the Stihl motomix fuel. Sounds stupid but for a machine that won't get used often, it's good to have a non-ethanol fuel in the tank. Pleasantly surprised by lack of fumes and smoke. Very happy with this product and I look forward to many years of reliable use. Oh... I also bought a can of the hedge trimmer spray. Excellent solvent and lube etc.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs and starts good This hedge trimmer is easy to start runs strong, makes trimming easy. I have had no problems with it. This is my first gas powered trimmer, i’m glad I bought the Stihl
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Floating engine--Brilliant! The engine has it's own suspension within the unit, Fantastic, Blades are very sharp (even with the safety nubs). You can trim Boxwoods into perfect spheres in minutes.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Man what a Hedge Trimmer! Starts right up tackles the toughest hedges like nothing else
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool value - perfect balance with good power, easy starting, very smooth Great engine and durable long lasting blades hold an edge like no other. Feels very nimble and can take on large hedges like butter with a hot knife, doesn't wear you out. Worth every cent!
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my chainsaw My father has owned several chainsaws over the years, so I have had some experiences but now that I own a this chainsaw, it has been the best so far.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff It works like a dream. Starts right up, trims well, and is easy to handle.
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used this trimmer 4 times and it appearsto be just as sharp cutting as the first time. I would buy this trimmer again great product, great value.
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cut my time in half or more So the wife said to make my life easier for trimming the hedge across the back of the yard. For 12 years I have pulled out the two extension cords and electric hedge trimmer and trimmed for hours. As a current owner of a Stihl gas blower, I am becoming more loyal to the brand after having owned all the big box store gas tools for years. Studied this and the smaller household Stihl trimmer. Ended up with this one because of the longer cutting bar. Wow, what a great tool. Started trimming and other than stopping for fuel a time or two, couldn't put the trimmer down. Plenty of power, easy to use, balanced well and not too heavy. Instead of a couple of days with cords and much less power, I kept at it for a few hours and was done in time for a late lunch. Thanks to Stihl for a good product and to my wife for saying I could get it. Now it will be up to me to be sure and exercise it so it starts when I need it next year.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! Great product. Easy to use and highly recommend. The easy start feature is the best!
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved having my first gas powered hedge trimmer I found my new trimmer easy to start, easy to hold and it cut through most things the first time as I learned its ability to cut the right size bush. I looked back after finishing the work and felt like my bushes have never looked this good. I like having good equipment
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellenty improvements could not believe how much quieter it was than my older one. and my new one has the 22" cutting blades my older one had 18" blades, and yet if feels no heavier.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start & easy to use I love this Stihl hedge trimmer, it has a lot of power and cuts through tree branches with ease. It's the lightest trimmer I've ever owned. Glad I finally bought one.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice product Bought this to trim shrubs and bushs around the house. Only use a couple it a couple times a year but when I do the jobs are fast easy. Always starts right up. No complaints at all. Lightweight and lots of power. Love it.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed after a year of use I have lots of shrubs and also do two neighbor's yards. When I first got it I would have recommended it in a heart beat. After 8 months I started having a few problems that were fixed be the Stihl dealer. About two months ago (14 months old) it lost power and then the engine would race at the most inopportune times. The dealer has had my hedge trimmer for 6 weeks and can't seem to fix it. They pulled two brand new unit out of the box that had the exact same issues as mine. Still don't have my trimmer back.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product for my home needs My old generic electric trimmer finally gave out. I previously switched all my home lawn and garden tools to Stihl so I purchased a new gas powered Stihl trimmer. I love my Stihl products because of their dependability, power, and available support.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job DONE! I always knew Stihl was the best but after a few of the box store hedge trimmers, I was ready for something that could get the job done. My Stihl hedge trimmers are powerful but lightweight. You pay more for a quality product. I could have bought 2 of these for what I have spent on the box store brands.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is awesome I've used this product commercially and love it always starts right up and has lots of power and is very lightweight and easy to use and I and i am even thinking about buying a second set for my guys and getting rid of the other brands that we aren't happy with this is a awesome set of hedge trimmers
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good for what it stated it would do This is product is not acceptable for the job I needed, used less than 20 minutes and tried to return to the store and they gave me a very flat NO. Will never again spend this kind of money with no return available if it turns out not to work for the job intended.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight but powerful This was my first gas powered trimmer. I wanted a light weight yet powerful enough trimmer to cut 1/2" size limbs. This fit the bill. Starts easily and runs smooth.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product This was the first gas powered hedge trimmer I"ve purchased, I have been very impressed. I have used it to cut a variety of hedges and it's made short work of all of them. Not only could it not be easier to start and operate, this machine has plenty of power to make any job much easier. I look forward to my hedges growing again in the near future.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost a light saber I own lots of Stihl tools, finally bought a hedge trimmer. It definitely outperforms my old one. the blade is fantastic, cut through 1/2 boxwood limbs without a problem. One swipe and trimming is done. No debris caught in between blades, clean cuts.Light, powerful, the anti vibe is a welcome change. Never any fuel issues with 91 octane and platinum mix.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for home use I am glad I invested in still products. They are dependable and easy to use
Date published: 2016-05-30
  • y_2019, m_11, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_hs46ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Hedge Trimmers
    View the features common to many STIHL hedge trimmers.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Product Instruction Manual (PDF)

Product Safety Manual (PDF)

STIHL Limited Warranty

Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer