Pro Splitting Maul

Image of prosplitmaul
A professional-grade splitting maul for splitting large chunks of wood.

Product Description

Whether you’re splitting large wood rounds or driving splitting wedges, the STIHL Pro Splitting Maul is the final word in wood domination. Tough and built to last, the premium American hickory wood handle helps reduce vibration, and the long steel sleeve helps protect the handle in the event of an overstrike. Its unique 5-piece head attachment system is up to 2.5 times stronger than a traditional axe head connection. The head is forged from premium C60 steel and shaped to feature an extra-large striking face for improved splitting performance. And at 6.6 lbs., this wood maul gives each swing a satisfying punch.

Specifications

OVERALL LENGTH
35"
WEIGHT OF CUTTING HEAD
6.6 lbs.
HANDLE MATERIAL
Hickory
 

Important Information

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

Pro Splitting Maul is rated 5.0 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I I have been splitting firewood for over 30 years. I have used many different splitting mauls in the past but when I bought the Stihl maul I was amazed at how fast I was able to fill my wood racks. Most mauls look more like an ax but the Stihl has a much smaller cutting edge so it does not meet as much resistance when it strikes the wood. It will not get stuck, it just splits.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As a tree cutter I like it Is a 14 year experience tree climber I bought this product to split wood I like it dependable
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found this to be a great addition to my fire wood tools The maul is an excellent weight and the angled head is great. The reinforced handle is also a nice feature. My one warning is to follow the instruction and not hit steel wedges. I have some deforming on the hammer side of the head from making this mistake. If you look up the brand name stamped on the head they sell aluminum wedges on-line. I have not purchased any of these because I just use a sledge hammer for pounding and the maul for splitting.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes splitting wood easier then a hot knife going through butter. I've been chopping/splitting wood since i was 14-15. Started out with smaller axes, my father bought this axe about a year or two ago and makes life ten times easier. I don't struggle with splitting wood, since I don't have a small frame, 6'2", 290lbs and hands as big as a bearcub, but this axe does most of the work for you. Rarely do i have to exert alot of energy to split wood, but the few times I do, this thing goes through smoothly.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You'd think it was gas operated!! I've never split wood in my life until today. This maul is worth every penny. I was concerned that it may be too light but it went through pine and aspen in no time. I split wood for 3 hours before I got tired. Mostly because it was so much fun to use! The collar on the handle is handy but be careful. Hit it just right and it'll give you a zinger!!
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The greatest splitting maul ever! After reading the outstanding reviews online I picked up the pro splitting maul myself. I have since split a cord of alligator juniper and can say it was well worth it's cost. Do yourself a favor and get one.
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful tool! I'm not gonna brag and say I have been splitting wood for 40 years like some people. Because I've only been splitting for 4 yrs. This maul blows threw wood excellent. I wanted a quality splitting maul, and this is it. It makes the work so much easier than those cheap mauls. Great Spitting Maul!
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stop buying cheap tools every year It seems like every year I have to buy a new maul, those cheap box store tools just don't last. Even after one use the head is loose or showing wear, I'm tired of it. I decided to spend some extra money and try a quality tool. Everything stihl makes that I own is a quality tool and they don't let you down with their axes and mauls. I bought a maul today and wow what a nice quality piece. Split over a cord of hard knotty red oak today and am very impressed with the maul. The steel is very hard and sharp, the handle is top quality hickory and most impressive is the overstrike collar. Very thick steel and even after a few nasty misses it doesn't dent or even mark. An overstrike on a cheap maul would snap most handles. Overall I am very impressed with the splitting capability of the maul but not surprised, stihl makes high quality tools that last . You won't regret this purchase, quit wasting money on cheap tools. There really is a difference
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I have been missing out. I let cost dissuade me from purchasing the Pro Splitting Maul a year ago, instead I bought a box store fiberglass and rubber handled maul. Last weekend, my brother in law and I fought through and busted up a cord of red oak with two box store mauls. The rubber below the maul on both are ripped up from just a few over strikes and it took so many swings to get the rounds to break up.... With last weekend in mind... Today I decided there has to be something better - so I headed to the local Stihl dealer to look at the Pro Splitting Axe and Pro Splitting Maul. I picked up the Pro Splitting Maul. With the first swing on the same oak rounds, they just popped apart. I actually had to change the speed of my swing so I didn't destroy the splitting stump. It was amazing. The steel sleeve on the handle is great and the weight of the head is perfect. There is a level of happiness that comes with finally getting the right tool for a job - I am very pleased with the quality and performance of the Pro Splitting Maul. Definitely worth the price.
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Veery great product Bye far the best one I have ever used it splits any kind of wood with no problems I just done a whole truck load of hickory with it no problem great product if I have to bye a new one I will go back to this one for sure
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Have been heating with wood for 20 years. It was a real debate to spend the money on this maul....until I used it, definitely worth the money. Using hardware store mauls the handles lasted about 2 cords of wood, this handle wont break. This maul hits and splits like a much heavier tool, and goes through knots etc. other mauls wont
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought this today came home and WOW this thing is a split'n machine the best maul I have ever used with no fatigue and easy to swing well worth the price another great product from stihl to add to my collection
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't be scared of price, well worth it. From the moment you pick this maul up it becomes apparent this is a well crafted tool.I am currently splitting 18 inch wide dry ash rounds. With an old tire around them these large rounds are reduced to small pieces in no time.After splitting firewood for the past 25+ years I can easily say this is one of the best tools I have used.Excellent product.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great maul Split a bunch of red oak with this maul, and was very impressed how much better it was than my old cheap maul. Wish I would have gotten one of these years ago. I like the steel collar, really protects the handle.
Date published: 2015-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Maul Picked this up on a whim because it looked and felt like such a high quality tool; way better than anything found in a box store by far. When I got it home I was amazed at how well it worked. It tackled anything I put in front of it during a 2 hourwork session. Yeah, it's heavy, but that's part of what makes it work. It far and away exceeded my expectations and I've zero doubt I willhave this for a long time to come.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems high priced but it worth the price Looked at the maul alot online and in the dealer after spending a lot more with all the hardware store JUNK should of bought this one would of been cheaper plus it is much better then any other used splits easier than the others i split about 7-8 cord a year and it would of saved me half the time
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from None better Pay the price and get this maul. When your out there beating your brains out with a cut rate maul and jarring your teeth out with poor results you will only then truly appreciate this tool!
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brutally Efficient I've never split firewood. I know how to swing a sledge hammer, and I'm pretty efficient outside, so it was a pretty fast learning curve. The review is not meant to imply that this tool makes splitting firewood easy right away. We just moved and my new fireplace needs something to burn. It seemed like no fun to get split wood delivered, so I in addition to the tree that I just had taken down by a local arborist, I found a local place that had plenty of rounds to deliver. I decided on this maul because I think big box stores carry awful striking tools. A few days after my local dealer got it in, I started on the cord outside. This felt natural from the beginning. The weight is just right and the hickory handle cuts out on vibration and has a great feel. The neck and connection are well built. Some of the wood from the felled tree was pretty wide and I needed a wedge. The head did just fine. It took me a while to figure out why there was a hook (duh), but it was a great addition. After a few sessions, I'm just about done the cord. The maul shows zero signs of wear and tear unlike my right tricep, which I assume is the sign of inexperience and age rather than being the fault of the maul.
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price! Best maul ive ever used. Makes splitting wood much easier.
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money Stihl good German quality splitting maul. Splits most any wood unless it's too punky. Zehr Gut.
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! enough said this thing works, that's it. best I've used...ever
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a wood smashing beast! Huge face for driving my wedges. Awesome sleeve for over strikes. Excellent head attachment. Makes me feel like Thor when I'm using it. Not for wimps. Super satisfying feel when using compared to all the other mauls I have ever used. Hook on end of ax face is super handy. An instant favorite tool of mine. Just get it and swing it like you mean it. You'll be glad you did.
Date published: 2014-05-31
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_prosplitmaul, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer