TS 420 STIHL Cutquik®

Image of ts420
A 14” cutting wheel puts this cut-off machine in the big leagues of performance, efficiency and ease of use.

Product Description

The TS 420 is so popular, it could possibly be called “the standard” to which other cut-off machines are compared. Users like it because it is compact, lightweight, reliable and proves itself day in and day out, all day long. The TS 420 features all the high-performance features of the TS 410 – including an X2 air filtration system for a clean and smooth-running engine and virtually maintenance-free filters. With the added benefit of a 14” cutting wheel, it will handle cuts up to 4.9 inches in depth. This cut-off machine backs up its larger cutting capacity with a ton of usability features.



NOTE: Abrasive wheel included. Diamond wheel (shown) sold separately.

Important Information

WARNING! Never use carbide-tipped, wood cutting or circular saw blades on cut-off machines. They can cause severe personal injury or death from reactive forces, blade contact or thrown tips. Never cut wood of any type.

Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • X2 Air Filtration System
    The X2 Air Filtration System revolutionizes the cut-off machine industry by allowing air filters to last up to a year, based on cutting conditions. Outside air enters the system in a swirling motion, removing 80% of dust particles. This pre-cleaned air is then routed through the primary and secondary air filters before being sent into the engine. The X2 Air Filtration System is virtually maintenance free and maintains an incredible 99.96% cleaning efficiency.
  • Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • STIHL ElastoStart™
    The ElastoStart™ starter handle is a feature of STIHL. It is a starting grip with a built-in shock absorber that helps reduce the effort when pulling on the starter cord. The ElastoStart™ starter grip noticeably reduces the sudden peak forces (compression) normally felt during cranking. The forces which occur at the grip after the first compression stroke are smoothed out.
  • Semi-Automatic Belt Tensioning
    With consistent semi-automatic re-tensioning, this feature increases the service life of the belts and shaft bearings.
  • Ergonomic Grip
    The ergonomic top-handle bar design provides an optimal comfortable grip in any working position.
  • IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Bayonet-Style Fuel Cap
    Includes retainer for easy use, even with gloves on.
  • Water Connection
    Water connection with shut-off valve and quick connector.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
66.7 cc (4.07 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
3.2 kW (4.4 bhp)
WEIGHT*
9.6 kg (21.2 lbs.)
FUEL TANK CAPACITY
710 cc (24 oz.)
ENGINE SPEED
9,000 rpm (Elec. Gov.)
MAXIMUM SPINDLE SPEED
5,350 rpm
ARBOR SIZE
20 mm
MAXIMUM WHEEL SIZE
350 mm (14")
MAXIMUM CUTTING DEPTH
125 mm (4.9")
POWER SOURCE
Gas
*Dry weight includes water attachment and guard. Shown with optional STIHL diamond wheel.

Important Information

WARNING! Never use carbide-tipped, wood cutting or circular saw blades on cut-off machines. They can cause severe personal injury or death from reactive forces, blade contact or thrown tips. Never cut wood of any type.

Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

TS 420 STIHL Cutquik® is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ts420 vs ts400 I'm a brick mason been using these saws for over 25 years the ts400 is far bettert than the 420 and 410. The key 2 your saws longevity is trufuel which is pre-mixed no ethanol and proper filter maintenance. I cannot stress the importance of changing your filters regularly and using good fuel
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great saw. This things are expensive. I had a really old one that was having compression problems and would always cause the pull rope to break at the worst times. So I finally gave in and bought a new TS420. Like I said, they're very pricey. So far the saw runs great. Fires right up within three pulls when cold, and always on the first pull once it's warmed up. Only thing I don't like is it feel bogged down when the blade is fully plunged in concrete, which is why I'm giving it four stars for the power category. I do a lot of Versa Lok retaining walls, which are 6" tall blocks. I wish the blade on this thing could cut 6" deep, but it doesn't. You have to make one cut, then flip the block over and finish it off, which really eats up a lot of time when you're cutting a lot of block while building a wall. Definitely something I wish Stihl would consider changing in their design.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product isnt a work horse This product doesn't last very long, when you use it everyday,.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Every TS420 we have had has the muffler come loose We are a Utility contractor installing underground piping...almost every new Stihl saw is having problems with the bolts coming loose and stripping. They are used hard, but the older saws never did this.
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ruined a good saw I have used theTS420 saw for many years, with great success.Having just purchased another new one, I found that the cutting wheel wobbles at lower RPMs.It does not run true until high RPMs are reached.My older 420 saw runs true at any speed.I checked with other contractors and their experience is exactly the same.It is impossible to score a straight line without revving the saw to a high RPM first.My place of purchase checked it out and said to deal with it-it's just the way it is.I do not recommend purchasing this saw-I will look at the competitors' products for my next purchase.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dependable Could use a little more torque. Seems to bog down too easy. Great saw for light duty
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Saw is great except one major flaw I am a 2nd Generation Masonry/Concrete Contractor. I currently own two of these Saws- Both are sitting on a shelf due to the muffler bolt issue. They are out of warranty and Stihl has no fix for the problem. Great saw otherwise, sucks they are unusable.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from top of the line ! without equal Use it everyday, could not get by without it.over 2 yrs old and never had a problem. best masonry cutoff saw out there by far.5th stihl cuttoff I have owned over the years
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Adequate We own 6 stihl saws, the 420s have had more issues with dependability and mufflers,than the 700 series. I do not think we will purchase any more 420s in the future.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from More muffler problems Our company has 2 of these saws - the newer one does not have the compression release button so we thought there must be improvements made. One saw has the third new muffler and the other saw has had two. Loctite has not been the answer. They run and saw great when not broken
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-made, durable cut-off saw for contractors We buy Stihl products exclusively because we know they will last a long time, and are easily repaired. Our men are not that easy on these things, another reason we go for the durability of Stihl.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw on the market Best saw for the money. Great power to weight ratio
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Muffler screws becoming loose all the time, aluminum gasket gets ruined. I do own 5 of them, ALL have same problem, even better tread gets damaged, ripped out from cylinder.(I do retread and put 1mm bigger screw with high heat and vibration resistant tread lock) and think will have to put tread lock on new saw muffler screws before first use.Other ways it's a GREAT saw, compare to TS400(I had around 20) it's holding up really great. All of them still runs, no mechanical breaks like TS400 had with piston rings, axle bearings. We do masonry and it gets its beating dry or wet cutting.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from saws work well we have 8 ts400+7 ts420s i freshen them up in the winter all very good saws.the last one we got does not use a decompression valve! I question that. but i trust stihl.they are the best we can find
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Muffler issues I own a few of these 420 saws, i have had problems with all of them. mufflers come off within a matter of a month or two. I have tried Loctite on the bolts, also had them worked on by stihl dealers and they break off again. I have been using stihl equip for years but am more than likely done buying these cut-off saws if this flaw continues to be a problem.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two thumbs up. This is a great tool. We wish we would have bought it years ago. Starts easy, runs great, has lots of power, blades last a long time. We are cutting a lot of 2 7/8 inch pipe and some 4 inch makes quick work of it. If you are thinking about one get one you will not be sorry.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Saw Except for exhaust problems I have had my 420 cut of saw for 4 years now and the past year i have had problems with the muffler coming off. Bolts come loose from the head. Im not sure if this is new or what. But it cost me money for the down time. Really like the saw except for this. I hope they can fix this issue.
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from problem with the TS 420 i own about 15 TS 420 chop saws . i have been having issues of the exhaust coming lose and doing damage to our saws . love the saws but hate the problem costing my company extra money and time while the saw is down. all i say is if you buy a TS 420 take the screws out of the muffler and locktite them .
Date published: 2015-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from champ I am a demolition contractor and I have many chop saws and I by far can say this ts420 I a good move the only down fall is if you do not know haw to start it you will faile I put all my men thru training and we have no problems..... Check you filter and do a monthly inspection and you will be fine.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice saw Im a 20 year mason contractor and have used Stihl saws for ever. This saw performs very well.A couple nit picks about the saw though, to compliment an already great saw.The start mechanism is clunky on this generation. It is hard to tell if the throttle is on or not when setting the switch.I really like the choke, although the smoothness of the lever could be greatly improved. It is to rigid IMO. I would also like to have a definitive choke ON choke OFF. I am writing it on the machine with marker for my guys. Were not engineers, so which way does what? It is easy to flood these machines if people get the choke "wrong".The stock pull cord is too short. I almost ripped the machine in half when first starting my new saw.The hose attachment rides low to the ground and I have already noticed it could be taking abuse.I like how high the blade sits at a resting position as compared to my old trusty TS400.As compared to the TS 400 the distance from the two hand grip positions has been shortened. I prefer the TS400 gripping positions, although im sure I wont notice in a matter of days.I have been looking at the spring that is mounted on the sides and question its durability. I mentioned to the salesman that it probably wont make it a year. The people who use these tools are animals. Switches that don't move smoothly will get snapped off, pull cords that are short will get ripped apart and springs that are mounted to the outside could possibly get knocked off.Don't get me wrong, I love this saw, just some areas I would like to see an improvement :)
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great job requiring exact cuts for visible floor results. Cut 60+' of 4" re barbed concrete that required exact cross and end cuts for finish work in a floor. Good power. Have rented the bigger machines with the same results except this machine was lighter and easier to handle.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No power like the old ones Not what I expected 1100$ does not spin a 14 inch diamond blade strong enough to cut asphalt like old ts400s, dealer said it would have more power, it has none, what happened to stihl?
Date published: 2013-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I fell for peer pressure. Everyone kept talking about the TS 420. I couldn't help it. I bought one right away. The description is accurate. All the other cut-off machines I've used I can easily compare to this one.I think I might get a second TS 420 because of the esteem this one has already given me. As I leave this review to attend a gala I urge anyone else interested to get the super famous TS 420. It will change your life.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great on my back. I initially wanted to purchase a TS 700, but my Stihl dealer did not have one in stock. I needed a cut off saw asap. to finish a raised patio project. My other Brand cut off saw's carb. finally gave up after years of reliable service. At first, I thought I made a mistake purchasing a less powerful saw. To my surprise this saw starts right up, is light as a feather and cuts segmental retaining wall blocks and pavers like a champ.
Date published: 2012-12-29
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_ts420, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Gasoline-Powered STIHL Cutquik® Cut-off Machines
    View the features common to many gasoline-powered STIHL Cutquik® Cut-off Machines.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

The STIHL X2 Air Filtration System - Video

Cut-Off Machine Safety, Maintenance and Operation - Video

Product Instruction Manual (PDF)

Product Safety Manual (PDF)

STIHL Limited Warranty

Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer