OILOMATIC® STIHL RAPID™ Super (RS)

Image of rs
STIHL RAPID™ Super is a reduced vibration saw chain. A cutter and tie strap design reduces vibration levels significantly while still utilizing the aggressive full chisel cutter design.

Product Description

STIHL RAPID™ Super is an extremely fast-cutting chain. Its cutter and tie strap design reduces vibration levels significantly while still utilizing the aggressive full-chisel design. The razor-edged, square-cornered cutter shape ensures minimum chain friction for an exceptionally smooth and clean cut in hard or frozen wood. It offers excellent cutting and plunge-cutting efficiency. RS chain typically cuts faster than RM chain, but requires careful sharpening and maintenance to continue to perform well.

Applications: Best suited for higher-powered chainsaws, the RS chain is ideal for forestry and industry, including felling, bucking and limbing. These aggressive cutting chains are designed for trained professional cutters with extraordinary cutting needs.

STIHL recommends using low-kickback, green-labeled chain and green-labeled reduced-kickback bars on all powerheads.

Unsure which type of saw chain you need? Download our Saw Chain Selection & Identification Chart for easy reference when replacing your STIHL saw chain.

Specifications

SAW CHAIN GAUGE 0.050"
.325" Pitch - Part #3637
3/8" Pitch - Part #3623
SAW CHAIN GAUGE 0.058"
.325" Pitch - Part #3638
3/8" Pitch - Part #3622
SAW CHAIN GAUGE 0.063"
.325" Pitch - Part #3639
3/8" Pitch - Part #3621
 

Important Information



This symbol indicates that the product has increased risk of kickback injury and is for use only by persons with extraordinary cutting needs and experience and specialized training for dealing with kickback.


This symbol indicates that the chain is a low kickback chain. STIHL recommends the use of a green-lableled low-kickback chain.

 

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

OILOMATIC® STIHL RAPID™ Super (RS) is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Standard for Almost All Operations STIHL RS or Rapid Super is an extremely fast-cutting chain that is great for hard woods and even frozen wood cutting. Not sure of all the science behind it but Its cutter and tie strap layout reduces vibration while still utilizing the aggressive full-chisel design. The super sharp-edged, square-cornered cutter reduces friction for an exceptionally clean and even smooth cut under extreme conditions. It offers excellent general cutting and plunge-cutting. I prefer the RS chain over the PM or RM as it typically cuts faster, but it requires careful sharpening and maintenance to return it to factory performance, but once you have the sharpener set-up it isn't hard to sharpen just take your time and get all the angles set for peak performance. It might be best suited for higher-powered saws, but I use the 3/8, 050 RS chain on my in tree and smaller limbing saws, just show them some respect, just because they are small we sometimes are less careful than when we are using our 044, 661 or larger saws and that is a big mistake especially with the RS chain because this chain likes to cut - fast.
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chain! This is the only chain I use. Adjust it when I put it on the saw and its almost always good for the day. Other brands I've tried you have to adjust multiple times between fueling. I will hit it with a couple passes of the file when I fuel up and it cuts like it just came out of the box. I use this on my old 026 PRO and my MS362. This isn't a low kickback chain, if you don't have lot of time under your belt it may not be the best choice for you.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only way to go with a large saw I have both an 066 and an 029 Stihl. I use a chop saw type sharpener. I have the oiler turned all the way up. I have been heating 2300 square feet with a central fireplace for 23 years. I burn about 10 cords a year and wouldn't think of using anything else.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fast! I use this chain to do all my bucking. it throws the chips and cuts very fast with minimal effort. i have had it jam the roller and bar with woodchips, (ms291 18"), and it is definitely a more dangerous chain. i use a less aggressive chain for felling and limbing, its more safe making awkward cuts and saves the edge on the fast chain.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Job done quickly Had A huge tree that came down during a wind storm. Started to cut it up with a different type chain. Bought the RS chain And it made world of differece in getting the job done. The chain cut through the tree like butter. It bore cut easy and shorten the time that it would have taken with the other chain
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best chains I own The RS chain is a great chain for bore cutting and cutting down trees. Chain keeps a great edge as long as you keep it out of the dirt. I cut up 3 white ash trees still holding a great edge, just like how I got it out of the box. I'm running this chain on a ms261 and a ms271 I would not put it on a smaller saw. These chains are aggressive and I strongly recommend always wearing your proper PPE, this chain will kick back if you're not paying attention. I recommend for experienced users.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hope quality control gets better I have been using this saw chain for the past 3 years most of them have been really good but the last one I bought was not cutting very well right out of the box it was sharp but did not bite very well I will buy another one but if I get another one like that I will switch brands brands
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A man's saw. I have the Stihl 660 with a 32 inch bar. Unbelievable power and cutting speed on trees the bar doesn't reach all the way across. Good for limbing too; you don't have to bend over with a 32 inch reach. So far, no problems with kick back with the chisel chain. However, I plan to put a new full skip chain on it soon.I gave my son a 440 magnum for cutting fire wood. He's had it 8 years and cuts fire wood every year and uses it as needed in the mean time. It has given him no trouble. I was using it several years ago over water. Accidently dropped it in about a foot of water. Took it home, removed the spark plug and pulled the starter rope to blow out the water. I replaced the plug and was amazed that it started; didn't seem to hurt it at all. I was thankful.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Pro Saw Chain available. I've used most Saw Chain . Out the box super Sharpe you could probley shave with it . Cut 2 Truck loads of moss covers Loctus Logs so far and a light dig in the dirt. Still razor sharp . No touch up needed at this time. Respect this chain . At high RPM it can have a wickad kick back. But what got was getting complacent . While carrying the saw I raked my arm across it . It told me how sharp it was quick. It cuts Hardwood like butter. You don't have to mussle this chain with then spike . If you have to it's dull so stop and sharpen it or change to a spare. At the right dealer this Saw Chain is very affordable.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chain on the market… but would buy other Stihl chains Burned through 25ft in 3/8's of this on my MS 460's and 660 and 404 for my 880 it beats everything I've ever used.Keep it out of the dirt and sharpen it in a vice when you get it home.Get a bar length for your 460/660 that with your knees slightly bent keeps the tip a 1/2 inch off the ground, you shouldn't hit anything, and almost never bend over ... check the ground for rocks before you fell. happy day's
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible performing chain Best chain for your money for cutting mixed hard and soft wood fast cut little to no chatter really holds a edge if you keep it out of the dirt
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST CHAIN PERIOD. This chain is one of the greatest investments I have bought for my company. However, this chain IS NOT for beginners. This chain cuts so fast. No pressure is needed for the saw. The weight of the bar and chain do the cutting. I wont buy another chain unless it's this one.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great on the MS270 I've run this particular chain on several of my larger saws in the past, and recently I slapped this chain onto my MS270, and it works incredibly well. I don't even push into cuts with this chain - just put it on top of the wood, and squeeze the throttle - it chews right through everything I've tried it on, including red oak and silver maple of about 12-14" diameter, and I can sharpen it with a regular round file when in the field. VERY fast, aggressive cutting saw chain.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Many moons ago, I bought a MS034. It is a 3.45 cu in saw. The dealer sold me an RM chain. Dealer said that there really wasn't my difference between the RM and the RS. I always cursed the saw as it barely cut. I had and old mac610 that out cut the Stihl saw. Eventually, I wore out the chain and brought an RS chain replacement. What a world of difference. You have to respect the dangerous nature of what you are working with. I always wear my chaps, eye and ear protection, and love my Stihl saws, with the proper chains. I also always machine sharpen my chains.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only chain to use for difficult wood. This is the only chain I recommend for cutting difficult wood. I have been cutting for 24 years into hard, dry, and sometimes frozen red oak. The toughest wood to cut in the upper midwest, bar none. (also the best firewood!). The Rapid Super cuts it like butter, making large consistent chips. Lesser aggressive chains just make sawdust & take forever to to finish a cut. Best of all, it is resharpenable and lasts a long time. I sharpen with hand files. I use RS chain on my Stihl MS460 for felling and bucking, and on my Stihl 026 for branching. I use PM chain on my Stihl 018 for light limbing work.
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Chain for Experienced Users I've been running RS chain on my old 041 for 20 years. It cuts extremely fast .It throws large chips, not sawdust like lesser chains. I would not recommend using it on saws less than 3 H.P. It's just too aggressive for lower power saws. Sharpening should be left to those who have the proper equipment and knowledge of square tooth, chisel chain. I've been selling and servicing Stihl products since 1987 and I recommend this chain to all my commercial customers..
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast cutting full chisel Use this chain to cut up clean wood and keep it out of the dirt and you'll be amazed how fast this style chain will do its work on any size tree/branch.
Date published: 2013-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chain eats! Put this chain on my MS290. Maybe a touch too aggressive for the power of the saw. But once you get used to not pushing into the cut and letting the chain do the work life is good.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best chain around! I upgraded the chains on my MS250 and MS290 from the RMC3 to the Rapid Super and was amazed at the difference in the cutting. Previously the saws did not pull into the wood without being forced and with this chain the weight of the saw is plently. This chain definatly brings a Stihl saw to life. The only draw back is the loss of the anti kickback feature which can be useful especially for the beginner. I have been using chainsaws for almost 20 years and understand the dangers. With this chain you sometimes have to be careful because the saw goes through the wood so quick you will have to catch it before it hits the ground!
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chain for a mid-sized saw This chain is a great investment. I upgraded to a more aggressive chain and the Rapid Super is what I chose. The chain made easy work of the trees I had to fell and cut up. It was effortless to cut through logs greater than 12". I would recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2012-11-03
  • y_2019, m_11, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_rs, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Saw Chain Selection & Identification Chart (PDF)
Saw Chain Wear Guide (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer