MS 880 MAGNUM®

Image of ms880
This heavy-duty chainsaw offers maximum power for the most demanding cutting conditions.

Product Description

Simply the most power of any STIHL professional chainsaw, the MS 880 MAGNUM® still boasts a great power-to-weight ratio for a big saw that’s surprisingly nimble, thanks to STIHL engineering. Ideal for felling and bucking large diameter trees, this saw is precision balanced with excellent handling and reliability. And with a staggering 23% increase in engine power over the likes of the heavy-duty MS 660, the MS 880 really knows how to deliver the goods. And it’ll accept guide bars up to 59” in length – almost five whole feet of cutting power to tackle your most demanding jobs. Wrap-handle version available in select areas. (See MS 880 R.)

Model Features

  • STIHL ElastoStart™
    The ElastoStart™ starter handle is an exclusive feature of STIHL. It is a starting grip with a built-in shock absorber that helps reduce the effort when pulling on the starter cord. The ElastoStart™ starter grip noticeably reduces the sudden peak forces (compression) normally felt during cranking. The forces which occur at the grip after the first compression stroke are smoothed out.
  • Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
  • IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
121.6 cc (7.42 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
6.4 kW (8.6 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT
10.1 kg (22.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
1300 cc (44.0 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY
700 cc (23.7 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN
.404" RM, RS
3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges)
43 to 150 cm (17" to 59")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE
Gas
STIHL recommends #3626 (36 RS3 75) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 21" 3002 000 9123 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Important Information

WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.

* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

MS 880 MAGNUM® is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The MS-880 R "BAKERIZED" Hi-Performance/Timbersports Custom Pro Before purchasing this saw, I read the 25-Reviews posted here to make an informed choice. Enough of the Reviews suggested this saw needs more power or an update. My search for a pro custom Chainsaw builder led to Adam B. of TimberlandSupply.ca in Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA. I did not buy this saw for an ego trip. I need it for flush-cutting large forest stumps to eliminate that "stump ranch" look & to fell huge cottonwood/birch/poplar trees which grow near Inland Northwest waterways.I opted for the Wrap Handle (R) version because I find a lot of situations where I can work from one side of a tree only due to obstructions, terrain, or water. My Bar of choice is a 41" Duromatic E with a solid tip which I prefer when plunge cutting. This is the stiffest Bar in the Stihl line which helps to limit droop or sag of such a long Bar when felling. The 41" length is about as long as anyone can handle & reliably keep the tip out of the dirt in awkward situations, yet still makes short work of trees 4-5 feet in diameter. I replaced the stock Spur Sprocket with a Ring Sprocket Kit & installed an 8-Tooth Sprocket to boost Chain speed. If you prefer SPEED, opt for an 8-Tooth Sprocket. If your prefer TORQUE, stay with a 7-Tooth Sprocket. My Chain choice was Stihl 46RSF123E (.404/.063) for that 41" Bar. Be advised that you will need to add one extra Driver Link when opting for an 8-Tooth Sprocket set-up, which will provide proper clearance between the Sprocket & the rear of the Bar once the Chain is tightened. I opted for a Clutch modification to make it more "grabby", given the increased horsepower of the customized Engine.Engine modifications include shaving 2 mm off of the Cylinder Block, removing the Gasket, & resealing it with Permatex MotoSeal. This boosts compression by raising the Piston at top-dead-center. Nominal compression is increased to approximately 140 psi. The Piston Skirt was shaved 1.055 mm on the Intake side. The Intake & Exhaust were ported & polished. The Muffler was modified with the addition of a second Exhaust Port & Spark Arrestor using existing Stihl-available parts. The Air Filter Shroud was cut to provide two additional Air Intakes with Filter Screens epoxied in. I was able to purchase a Limited Lifetime Engine Warranty.The Fuel Mix I use in this custom Chainsaw & all of my other Stihl equipment is: 50% Aviation Gasoline (111-120 Octane); 50% Premium Gasoline (Ethanol-free) (91-93 Octane); & Stihl HP Ultra 2-Cycle Oil. This mixture averages at 105 Octane. High-compression Engines REQUIRE high-octane Fuel to prevent predetonation which will damage the Engine. Proper Spark Plug torque must be maintained. Any NEW Chainsaw should be run at low-RPM until the Engine is warm. Peak or high-RPM should be avoided until several Tanks of moderate cutting have been performed. Idle-down for a cool-off period prior to shutting down.If you opt for a custom Chainsaw, just remember it will only be as good as your Product Support Team & You. I cannot heap enough praise upon Dan, Grant, & Adam of TimberlandSupply.ca in Edmonton, AB. Absolute consummate professionals. Further, I receive great product support locally from Boundary Tractor, Bonners Ferry, ID; Pape' Machinery & North 40 Outfitters, Ponderay, ID; & Northwest Motor Sports, Libby, MT.As an interesting side story, TimberlandSupply.ca tells me that most of the MS-880's they sell are used to harvest ice. They are mounted vertically on snowmobiles, usually with 41" Bars, to cut out slabs of ice in a grid pattern. The slabs of ice are then towed or pushed ashore with bulldozers & buried in sawdust as an insulator. This creates a refrigeration source for those living off of the electrical grid up north during the Arctic summer.My MS-880 R "BAKERIZED", as equipped, weighs 36-lbs. You don't pack this kind of Chainsaw around unless your need is absolute. However, it knows how to r-u-m-b-l-e!!!
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crazy powerful show stopper This saw turns heads with the beefy sound and the unbelievable power. I love it.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEAST Just for the people that say there saw died after your first use. YOU NEED TO READ THE DIRECTIONS THERE IS A BREAK IN PROCESS you can’t just get it and start cutting wide open. Also they take 93 octane fuel. The 880 is the most powerful saw on the market and no one can duplicate it. If they could they would of and it’s been the king of chainsaws since it came out and there is still no competition.
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the saw for BIG trees So far we really like the saw - handles about 55" trees. Have not tried a horizontal cut yet but feel that this may be a challenge due to flexibility in the bar. Saw is a little tricky to start but that is probably due to user error and still learning the tool - overall well pleased
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent saw but in need of an update Excellent saw but in need of an update to maybe called the 881 with another 3 bhp.it is a very good saw and i use it most days but it dose lack a bit of power when the bar is deep into the timber when using the bigger guide bars on this saw.there are no other options when you need a big saw so it is easy for the Stihl ms880 to look good but im sure it wont be long before some other manufacture brings out a bigger rival unless Stihl bring out an up to date versions of the 880 may be a 881 sporting a bit more bhp and ft-lb of tuque. To sum up an amazing saw with nothing to compare it to from any other manufacture.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for large trees Not for general use. Same shape as a 660 but bigger in all dimensions. A bit heavier but not like the older large saws. Great for bucking large logs or several logs at once when they are in a deck. I like how it pulls in the midrange and does not have to be wound up like the 660.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new ms880magnum Just got my saw from broadwater trading company in gate city va,the service was awesome as always and let me tell you, the ms880magnum is great,the quality is perfect in every way.i would highly recommended this saw to anyone who is serious about cutting big wood and/or chainsaw mills.put a 25"bar on it and it's a great firewood saw,put a 36inch bar or larger on it and fell some big timber,the saw dosent care what's on it ,it just flat out preforms.this chainsaw is an all-in-one power house.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can make some changes I have an Alaskan sawmill! The chainsaw is pretty strong but has met it's match. I wished Stihl would get in the market to outfit their saws with aftermarket companies idea's. Could definitely rethink the chain tightening process. I have been a Stihl user since 1997and have witnessed some amazing changes in the products they offer. But would love to see Stihl get into Alaskan sawmill configuration with their overall industry leading technology and techniques. Because we all know how German engineering is
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scary Powerful This saw has been a dream of mine. And now I own it! All I can say is the wait was well worth it. This saw is so powerful it's scary. The saw encourages a good challenge this saw will laugh whatever is in front. Just begs for more wood to cut! You will NEVER wanna put this sexy saw down once you start it! I bought this with a 41 on it and never looked back just always so happy I can say and proudly tell people I own the Stihl 880ms
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great powerhead Another great saw right out of the box. I use this saw to power my turbosawmill. Plenty of power right out of the box, no need for mods. Its expensive, but your not buying it for the price point, your buying it because you need guaranteed dependable power right from the start, and that's what you get.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, why did I wait so long!! I don't write very many reviews about anything, but I now own 5 Stihl saws! A few weeks ago I picked up my MS 880 for milling trees for lumber. I already have a MS 660 and two smaller pro saws and a pro pole saw- all that I use for cutting firewood, lumber for furniture making and for bowl turning. Now, while I'm not bad at throwing these saws around cutting trees and milling some wood, it's not my full time job-I am a weekend cutter. My wife thought the 660 was way to big for me. After I brought home the 880, she gave up.The MS 880 is simply the finest saw made....period. I have said before in a review that I learned about stihl saws many years ago when I joined the fire department; Stihl was all we used and after all these years, they are all I own. The 880 makes all the saws I have ever used look and cut like mediocre tools-including my smaller pro Stihl saws!The 880 is well balanced but very heavy, especially with bars 40" and longer. The 880 is also a powerhouse, professional saw. You have to pull the cord yourself and use it to fully appreciate and respect this saws unbelievable power-scary. If you don't have a lot of experience with using chain saws, this is not the saw for you. There are so many reasons why they say this saw is made for professionals only (not weekend worriers like me!). While, for fun, I have done some bucking with this saw (with a square skip-chain, it literally cuts large hardwoods like a sharp knife through butter), I really bought it to mill wood with an Alaskan Mill. I don't have the experience needed to be plunge-cutting with a saw this powerful. I cannot say enough about all my Stihl saws, but the 880 has become my favorite. You can keep your Husky's and all your cheap big box-store saws.....I have learned over the years, you just cannot beat a Stihl chain saw! I am a proud and thankful Stihl owner.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has preformed great for what I got it for. Got the saw to cut down big cotton wood trees that have caught on fire do to lightning. Im on a volunteer fire department. Never falles a storm comes through and caches a trees on fire. I got tired of late nights watching to make sure the trees don't start a grass fire. Now I can get the tree down and out.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The big timber champ I've been a professional timber faller for over 35 years. I specialize in jacking big timber. I love the MS880. I run 3/8, .063 full skip chisel chain with an 8 tooth sprocket and this saw will comfortably pull a 60" bar. One of my favorite features of this saw is the flat sided starter cover. It is much easier to sight in my lay with this flat cover as compared to the rounded cover on the 660's. I normally run a 42" bar on the 880 but when the wood gets big or difficult (like really steep ground), I'll pull a 50" or 60" bar. I do the falling with the 880 and buck the big 16's off the butt with it then finish out the top of the trees with a 660. This saw was made for people like me. It's powerful, smooth, quiet, light weight and reliable.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a good saw but it is a handful I just bought a ms 660 and a MS 880 some of my older saws was stolen the 880 is powerful it runs beautifully with it I purchased a skip chain a 41 and 60 inch bar I cut oak wood this monster goes through it like butter I had steel products for 10 years never had manufacturer defects but like anything else you have to maintain them if you want the least amount of trouble in the field if I had to replace them again I would do it the same choice
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, very dependable. I have been using Stihl saws for years. My bigger saws were the O46 and the O66. Both are great saws. I recently purchased the 880 with a 41 inch bar, thinking it would have around 1/5 more power than my O66 for cutting through bigger logs. I was disappointed in the power with the longer bar. I ordered a 30 inch bar and chain to try and get the cutting speed where I had expected it. It did cut faster, but for the money I would stick with the O66 (now the 660).
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw and a dream to operate! I bought this saw about six months ago and have ripped through hundreds if not thousands of board feet of storm damaged red oak, white oak, hickory and poplar. it is not amazingly hard to start once you get a feel for it. usually takes two or three pulls in the all the way down throttle position and then move one up and another two or three pulls and it fires right up! i have found that warming it up a bit at say half throttle keeps it from cutting off numerous times. i do run high octane fuel and the new two cycle engine oil for all three of my Stihl saws.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great saw for big wood A big powerful saw that will cut large wood with no problems. My 880 is equiped with a 47 inch bar and full comp chain when I cut up large oak trees here. Never have had a time where the saw was not able to do the job I ased it to do. I change to a 24" bar when I need to cut rounds into pieces small enough to move around and load onto my trailer. It cuts a good bit faster than my 066, doing the same job. Would not want to lug it around all day, but for the uses I have for it, the 880 is a perfict choice. It is also great to see the look on peoples faces when they get to run this big of a saw for the first time.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this saw has alot more power than any other saw out there i log for a living and im allways runnning my 880 and great has a ton of power to turn a 50" bar and chain and i highly recommend this product its the best on the market
Date published: 2013-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from motocross motor in the chainsaw! I recently buy a Stihl ms 880 ,and im impress of the power of this saw!!wow!a 122cc engene,the pound of the saw is perfectly balanced and run stronger with long bars,the ms 880 is in other class!start easily with decompressive valve and elastostart starter!i recommend for experimented users!
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not to happy I just bought 880 brand new and only 7 cuts with it and done for. The dealer said it needs new power head.I owen 30 stihl saw never seen anything like this before.
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from my died after 6 months? I am a stihl fan I buy everything stihl I am lately becoming unhappy with there products. The 404 grinder wheels are not lasting long at all they break off after sharpening half a chain.. I bought a ms880 in very good used condition 2years ago it was the older model 880 with the massize muffler that saw was amazing I retired it because I rolled s big tree over it. Even after that it still ran like a monster.I bought a brand new 880 6 months ago it had problems from the beginning I felt much less power and weaker compression. Today it died I took it to Stihl they are telling me the piston and cylinder are bad . I always run St IHL 2 cycle oil. ? Over all not happy with this saw.Stihl needs to design a better air intake filter . I have the 660 and 880 there is far to much dust getting past the air filter and burning up my saws!!!!!However I have 6 bars for this saw so I will buy another 880. And hope for a longer lasting saw with no factory defects!!
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Heck of a Saw I have two MS880's one with a 32" bar and one with a 41" bar. I use the 41" to fell and the other for bucking, stumpage, or "just in case". You don't want to be felling a huge tree near structures and not have a backup saw of equal size. I have to say it is a HUGE jump in weight from the 660, however, the ease of which it pulls a .404 standard sequence chain over a 32"+ bar through extremely dense grain Texas Live Oak is really remarkable. I wouldn't worry much about the size getting you hurt unless you are climbing over limbs with the saw still running. It's so heavy that the power doesn't throw the saw back at you like the smaller saws. The only reason to have a saw like this is to fell or buck trees that are at least 40" diameter. Don't expect to cut firewood with this thing without taking a couple breaks.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stihl ms880 if your going to run a big saw like a stihl ms880 or a stihl 084 i highly recommended you use the decompression valve when starting this big boy.i started out on smaller saw like the stihl 025,029,ms310,038,and finally went to a 066 and now i have two stihl 084,s.i run a stihl full skip tooth chain on it 404 .63.gauge which is great for cutting big.i would recommend this saw to anyone.with experience
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremly hard to start Stihl makes the best chainsaws. So I bought 2 more 391's and 2 880sStarting the new 880's is a real pain. I got some defects or I lost all my muscle mass..Its so bad Im building a holding frame to hold the saw so I can use both arms to yankon pull cord. Work terrific when running. But by the time I get them running I feel like retiring. Any suggestions. My old ones were easy to start and dealers say there is nothing wrong with new ones. I hate them.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ITS WORTH IT THE STIHL MS880 IS great for useing if you are a tree faller. the saw dose have to have the gas and oil filled alot and air filter cleaned but its a good saw. Iam a first generration tree faller and i use this saw every time i fall a tree's. if you put a smaller bar on it will work but it's main purpose is to use with big trees and a bigg bar on it
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ultimate power saw I purchased the MS880 Magnum new in 2007 with a 36" bar for my tree service. I started off using it for firewood and to supply power to a 60" Granberg MKIII Alaskan saw mill. I have sawn several thousand board feet of lumber with this saw and felled dozens of large trees. The saw mill loads the engine when making a full width cut, but the saw powers through.My only complaint is the air filter. It requires constant cleaning. I would like to see a more efficient pre cleaning system to extend run time between filter cleanings. This is also a heavy saw, but it performs well in large log cuts like no other saw.
Date published: 2012-10-24
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms880, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Optional Accessories

  • Wrap Handle (R)
    Saw can be used in multiple positions for felling or limbing with hands in the proper positions.

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Chainsaw Safety and Maintenance - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer