MS 661 R C-M

Image of ms661rcm
The MS 661 professional chainsaw with a wrap-around handle (R) for greater maneuverability.

Product Description

For greater maneuverability when felling large trees, turn to the impressive performance of the MS 661 R C-M. Its wrap-around handle also provides greater operator comfort when cutting. Just like the MS 661 C-M, the saw includes STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology and delivers less vibration and 20% greater fuel efficiency than the MS 660. Other features include long-life filter system using HD-2 filter elements to provide longer run times between maintenance, an ElastoStart™ handle and a high output adjustable oiler. (Wrap-handle version is available in select areas only).

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • STIHL M-Tronic™ 
    This product features M-Tronic™ (M) - a new generation of Intelligent Engine Management that eliminates the low and high speed carburetor adjustment screws, compensates for dirty air filter and changes in elevation and fuel quality for optimum engine power at all times.

    See it in action!

    More information

  • Wrap Handle (R)
    Saw can be used in multiple positions for felling or limbing with hands in the proper positions.
  • Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • STIHL ElastoStart™
    The ElastoStart™ starter handle is an exclusive feature of STIHL. It is a starting grip with a built-in shock absorber that helps reduce the effort when pulling on the starter cord. The ElastoStart™ starter grip noticeably reduces the sudden peak forces (compression) normally felt during cranking. The forces which occur at the grip after the first compression stroke are smoothed out.
  • Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
  • Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Adjustable Automatic Oiler
    The Adjustable Automatic Oiler allows the user to adjust the lubricant of the guide bar and saw chain for different bar lengths and cutting conditions.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
91.1 cc (5.56 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
5.4 kW (7.2 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT
7.66 kg (16.8 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
825 cc (27.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY
360 cc (12.2 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN
33 RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges)
40 to 80 cm (16" to 32") STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E Super
POWER SOURCE
Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3 84) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 25" 3003 000 4030 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® ES guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Important Information

WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.

* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

MS 661 R C-M is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Season two the saw won't start. Current status is the saw is still in the shop, they have to order in the carburetor kit. Since I'm going out again tomorrow I purchased a 461 as a back up for the bigger stuff. Keeping my fingers crossed that it runs through the season. .
Date published: 2018-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from only good for one tank of gas every day The saw runs great for the first tank of gas, then it will not start for twenty or thirty minutes. I went online to read about this problem it seems to be happening to alot of the 661's I read I may be due to pressure build up in the tank, Also, once it pops on choke, do not choke it again to start, my ms 390 starts much more reliabliy. If 661 floods it does take overnight to start again. The reason I gave it a 5/5 is that Stihl has provided great service everytime I had an issue I am sure it will work out fine.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I keep coming back to Stihl quality! I started with a Stihl 041 AVES in the 1980's. It never failed me. I replaced it with an 066 Magnum in the 1990's which I recently sold for enough to pay for my dachshund's dental surgery! I just got the new 661 R-CM. The wrap handle is more than just comfortable. On my previous saw, it saved it from being crushed when it got pinched during felling, twice! It really assists lefties.I hear of complaints about the M-Tronic feature from some users resulting in the saw bogging or hard to start when warm. Do not frequently "quick-trigger" the throttle as this confuses the auto-adjust feature. Run the saw at a steady throttle prior to shutting it off. The "confusing" conditions can occur when rapidly limbing a log. Every operator has slightly different techniques, so if the M-Tronic feature doesn't suit you, go with the MS-461/880 saws..they lack this feature.I set-up my 661 with an 8-tooth sprocket, a 32" Rollomatic ES Light bar, & .050 X 3/8" skip-tooth chain. The saw has the power to handle the higher chain speed of that sprocket. The "Light" bar weighs about 30% less than the standard bar & definitely improves balance, especially with the longer bars. That longer bar also helps save back fatigue from stooping while limbing/bucking.I recommend 91+ Octane (ethanol-free) fuel with Stihl Ultra mix. Its like giving a treat to your dog! I ran that 066 for 20-yrs. & the carburetor had never been adjusted in all that time & it never failed to start!
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!! Just Simply AWESOME!!! What a Great Saw! I bought the MS661 R C-M with a 25” Light Bar and an RSK Chain for the majority of the jobs and a 20” Rollomatic with some RS chains to Break in and do the dirty work with. I’m incredibly impressed with the power it has!! It’s the kind of power you would need to re-draw the laws of physics or re-start a dead planet for example! It just goes and goes!! Plenty of run time to the tank, so your not running to refill, but you will most likely want to push in the pin on the eco stop for the Oiler and let it really pump enough oil out to a longer bar. It’s the only thing on the Saw that I looked at and said “really??”.BREAK IN This was tough for me to find a good process for breaking in the pro saws. Here is what I found after talking with the tech line -easy and straight forward.-Mix 0.8 gal (Ethanol Free) to 2.6 oz of HO Ultra Oil (40:1 is about what that will give you for a mix) (I use 100LL Aviation Fuel and it loves it)- Cut (I cut wafers to get through the break in) with the Saw to burn up 3 tank fulls at least. The Saw will pick up power as you go.-Let the Saw idle after a few cuts to cool off - and jump back into it. Keep doing this until 3 tanks. - The saw really needs 5 tanks about to get the power up. It’s a monster out of the box but a game changer when broken in! - When cutting Go For It! No partial throttle. The computer control is fine and I’ve had no issues with it. Kind of nice not to adjust the carb and just focus on the work. Starts one pull every time. I’m loving this Saw and can’t believe I waited this long to get one. If your thinking about one- go get it! It’s worth every penny and then some! Great Product!!
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like a hot knife in butter. As a timber farmer here in the PNW, I have been running saws for almost 30 years, and this is the best Stihl that I have ever used. My old 066 used to vibrate so much that after 4 hours of use I could not feel my hands. No more. This saw has a very much improved isolation system and even more power. My dealer told me to be careful with its fuel, and I have not had it long enough to comment. But I bought the Stihl canned gas just in case I give the chainsaw work a break for a few months. Want the best? Spend the money and get this saw.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff yeye Ime a full time chaser on a thinning yarder, i bought this saw for personal use and use at work when only tree length comes to the landing. We got no processor or dansco and i buck 100+ foot logs with this saw. It starts everytime and doesnt even need the choke if you wanna rip on it a few extra times. My 661 gets tossed, thrown, and stepped on and packed with mud and gets wet all the time and still runs better than the lil 461's. I highly recomend it but ONLY run clear gass mix with stihl's brand of mixing oil otherwise you do get the same problems as all these other guys who blow up somthing too big for their balls
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This product needs a factory revision Starts hard when it is warm. We use it to cut logs on the landing and when you run it hard it will stall and not start up again. Sometimes you have to wait over half an hour for it to start again.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best saw ever made This is the best saw ever made. My tree service owns 5 of them and plan on a few more. It can kick back when cutting a knot. LOVE this saw. whenever one dies Im hanging one in my man cave
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This saw has intermittent problems and issues Saw works good most of the time but it stalls out sometimes and is hard starting and eventually after four months blows up. This is after a professional break-in, using stihls synthetic mix with 91 ethanol free fuel only. Took it back to the dealer can I find out why it failed. The only possibility they told me was it could've been from dust ingestion from the dirty filter
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great power out of this saw but... I love the power and features however it cottons to have hot start issues which I've been hearing about a lot more. I will love this saw more if it gets fixed correctly...
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This saw has descent features but is absolutely unreliable i have 2 and they blow up every 50 hours of use completely unacceptable Have had nothing but problems with 661 blow up every 60 to 80 hours
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The F1 of Stihl saws I'm a timber cutting contractor. I've been cutting for nearly 40 years. I run a saw 7 hours per day. I've owned over 50 Stihl pro saws. I have never been so impressed with a new saw as I am with this one. The one major change over the 660 is the automatic carb. I thought I would hate it but I absolutely love it. Starts easy and runs perfect. The multi switch is great- it always springs back to the run position. Super handy. The bar nuts are attached to the clutch cover- try losing one of those! The starter/fan cover is flatter and consequently MUCH easier to sight with. It also has a sight that runs parallel to the bar when you're getting down to the last of your holding wood. Brilliant! The air filter lasts all day even here in California's dry Sierra bark dust. Spring anti vibe is definitely smoother than rubber. Muffler is quiet. Love the "can't lose 'em" fuel and oil cap. Super torque but revs like an F1 racer. And to top it all off, it burns about 20% less fuel than the 660! We still have some pretty big wood here in CA (I get at least one 5' every week) and this saw was made for what I do. Love it!
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellence personified I stepped up to the MS 661 RCM with a 36" bar from a Husky 455 Rancher and won't go back; I'm a Stihl convert! Tremendous power, runs like a champ, I love the wrap handle. You get what you pay for and it's worth every penny, what a saw!
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw is a BEAST! This saw was a power house right out of the box. The only modifications I have made to mine were replacing the exhaust with a dual port and removing the spark arrester. This saw, with a good sharp chain, will make VERY quick work of ANY size tree! I have have this saw, an older 066 Magnum, 056 Magnum 2, 056 Super and even an 045 Super. All of these saws, even after DECADES of HEAVY use, still run great! Some have need repairs over the years from massive amounts of wear, but these saws are tanks. Built for professionals. They are all I will ever buy, hands down.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Saw Better With Wrap Bar I still use my 660 but not as much as the 661. It has a stong powerband in the wood. The M-Tronic and great antivibe are big improvements over the legendary 660. The wrap handlebar makes it more versatile felling. Big, smooth power.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mini mill monster This saw is great for a lot of applications. I have been milling with it and I am very happy with its power. It glides through soft and hard wood and bucks logs like a light sabre. Happy to have it with my smaller stihl saws.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta love the power This is the saw for a professional that wants a versatile saw runs 25" to 40" bars and chains like a dream. I would recommend full skip chisel chains on the longer bars. Been a little over a year now and haven't had any issues. I would get another one when this one wears out.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a beast on large trees this saw makes short work on large trees.had a lot of large ash trees witch had to come down thanks to asian ash borer beetle.this saw made the job easy when your felling 120' ash trees with a 3'-4' dia.. trunks.thank you stihl!
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Saw Around If your looking for faster way to get wood then this saw is perfect. Never had any issues when using this saw with performance. Be ready to make everyone jealous of the wood this saw makes. Best bang for your buck! Hands down. Thank You STIHL
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bought saw 2 months ago blew up out of nowhere If you are a Professional cutter I would not recommend buying this saw ran fine for around two months, not even running it every day, then blew up one day took really good care of the saw just won't hold to to production falling like the old 660's did.
Date published: 2015-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stihl nailed it! Stihl nailed it! I was never really sold on stihl prior to buying this saw. It always starts in any condition, there's no hesitation and stump pulling power! All the little changes are a plus.
Date published: 2015-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I was hoping for and more. Didn't know what to expect but when I took it to the cut block and put it into a oversize cedar and pinned it I was impressed. Lots of stump power, little to no vibration, and at the end of the day the weight difference makes for a more productive day. Stihl is on to something with this saw.
Date published: 2015-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out cuts My MS660 I own 4 Stihl pro saws, MS362 Arctic, MS461R full wrap MS660R full wrap and now this MS661R full wrap. I cut dead seasoned locust almost exclusively and the saws all eat it up very fast. My 660 has a dual port muffler and is tuned to run but it seems this saw may have it beat, I was skeptical about the M Tronic as this is my first saw with it. Judging by the performance and easy starting I will own more. My MS362 was the last non M tronic saw they had and now I wished I'd have waited and bought one with it. Time will tell over the long term but I am very happy with the saw so far and it only has one tank thru it, its definitely going to gain power as it breaks in.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great replacement for the MS660 This saw lives up to everything I expected it to be and more. Being next to the biggest saw Stihl makes,it's heavy and powerful. I've owned 2 MS660's and ran them extensively. The new MS661 has them beat. Uses less gas, has less vibration, starts easier, power delivery is more consistent, an overall pleasure to run. As long as it continues to perform this good I have no regrets about my purchase. Also, a shout out to my Stihl dealer. Brown's Supply in Acme Pa. Great guys to do business with.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kind of awesome In wood under 25" a unicorn would probably be faster.
Date published: 2014-12-09
  • y_2019, m_11, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms661rcm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Read what our customers say about STIHL chainsaws 
Chainsaw Safety and Maintenance - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us


Share

My Preferred Dealer