MS 362 C-M

Image of ms362cm
The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

Product Description

Brains and brawn come together in this well-rounded professional chainsaw. The MS 362 C-M features the same great power, weight and fuel efficiency as the MS 362, but also features our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology. This innovative microprocessor-controlled engine management system optimizes engine performance and compensates for changes in operating conditions, such as temperature, elevation, fuel quality, and dirty air filters. It makes sure you’re working with optimal cutting power in any cutting condition.

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • STIHL M-Tronic™ 
    This product features M-Tronic™ (M) - a new generation of Intelligent Engine Management that eliminates the low and high speed carburetor adjustment screws, compensates for dirty air filter and changes in elevation and fuel quality for optimum engine power at all times.

    See it in action!

    More information

  • Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More information

  • Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
  • Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
59.0 cc (3.6 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
3.5 kW (4.69 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT
Flush-Cut: 5.6 kg (12.35 lbs.)
Wrap-Handle: 6.0 kg (13.2 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
600 cc (20.3 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY
325 cc (11.0 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN
3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges)
40 to 63 cm (16" to 25")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE
Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3-72) OILOMATIC® Saw Chain and 20” 3003 008 8921 Ematic™ guide bar. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Important Information

WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.

* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

MS 362 C-M is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 258.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around excellent saw. My first pro saw. 3 tanks of fuel burned so far. Taking it easy on break-in. Excellent power, weight and starting. Love the compression release for startup. Mostly used for firedwood cutting.
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cold start, pull the trigger and push the choke down. To cold start the saw all you got to do is pull the trigger and push the choke down. It is a fully automatic computerized choke. It will start on the first pull. Several people in the reviews section here have mentioned it is hard to cold start stating they had to pull 20 or 30 times to get it to start. Okay that's true for saws of 20 years ago. They obviously don't know about the automatic choke. It is advertised on this model and if you read the manual you would know how to use it. I let my saw sit for 2 weeks on a nearly empty tank and all I did was pull the trigger and push the choke down. It started on the first pull. It is an excellent saw especially combined with the yellow pulling style chain. I'm using the 20 inch bar and a 25 inch bar. You have to take your time a little bit more with the 25 in but it still works. If you're going to be cutting Hardwoods larger than 25 in you really should be running a larger saw. This saw will do the work but it will be hard on it.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 362 Ive had my 362 alittle over 2 years hints the warranty is up and the electronic fuel management is acting up. The saw will not idle. Stilll runs but can't let it idle down or it dies. Overall its a decent saw and has decent power, but for a high end professional saw its not worth the extra money if its not going to last. Ive got a little older 391 saw and haven't had any problems out of it. Its a cheaper homeowner saw. I would think the extra money buying the professional saw it would of out lasted the 391 with no problems.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent ChainSaw Purchased this saw a few weeks back. Not a lot of use yet but this saw sure has power, smooth, easy to start, and is well built.I am homeowner who purchased a pro saw just to ensure highest power and durability. This saw is all that and more.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More then enough power! I needed to buy a chainsaw to handle firewood and clearing of some big oaks on my property. The 362 was by far the best chainsaw I have ever used. The run time is great, and worked flawlessly. Hands down I recommend this!
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice saw. This saw has plenty of power very dependable starts up easy. Great features best all around pro saw. Love it. For the people giving the hard to use and not dependable feedback....please put the saw down and back away slowly.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from all positive I have had the saw about two years, store it dry keep a extra sharpened chain and hope you will be as satisfied as I am. zero issues, I always run fresh gas non ethanol local store 91 octane. I have the oiler wide open wish it oiled a little more EPA.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flat gets it on, awesome saw!!! This saw cuts like a monster hungry for wood! Give this saw some RPMs and it wants to pull it’s way through trees. Keep the chain sharp and hold on! By far the best saw I have ever had a chance to run! Would definitely recommend it to a friend. The only drawback is it’s a little bit pricey, just save up and enjoy the experience! I did.
Date published: 2019-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good power and cutting. I will have to make the rating down because of the cold start difficulty. I have to pull in excess of 15 times to get it to crank over. Good thing it has the compression reduction button. I'm winded more just getting the saw to start than I am from actual cutting. Once fired up the saw runs very well. And when it's warm, a single pull is all that's needed.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid saw, I'm a long time user of Stihl products. I find that they are the only 2 cycle chainsaws, blowers, trimmers, etc. that start reliably. This saw starts easily using the compression release and has a lot of power. I heard that there were problems with the engine management system in earlier models, I have had no problems. I am getting used to the full wrap handle although it makes the saw tippy when refueling. The saw comes with a "safety" green labeled chain which cut ok but the saw comes alive with a "pro, yellow" labeled chain. I usually use a semi-chisel cutter because I often cut somewhat dirty wood. With a pro chain, this saw digs in and cuts fast. My only negatives are somewhat trivial, I have popped the chain a couple of times because of allowing it to be a bit loose and catching a branch. I don't care for the rubber chip flap that hangs below the bottom of the saw making it awkward to change chains. Overall it is a great saw so far.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very powerful light saw. I am a land owner who decided to buy one of Stihl's professional saw. I have under 10 acres of wooded property that needs a lot of work. I know this might be a bit overkill for a firewood saw essentially, but my thought was to buy one saw that could handle most of task I needed and to buy it once. I have now used the saw every day for the past month and ran 30 plus tanks of fuel. It is a delight to use. Tons of power! Almost 5hp at only 12.35 lbs! Crazy. I see why this saw is the "industry standard". I'd say if you are in the market for the 271 Farm Boss like I was, look into the MS362 C-M. It weighs the same as the 271 but 1.2hp more! Tons of upgraded features as well. This is what I consider a "Legacy" saw. This is a saw that can last your lifetime and hand it down to your sons. I have a 20" bar on it and I can plunge it through hardwoods all the way to the bucking spike and it just rips. M-Tronic has been perfect! Easy start every time, runs amazing. Can't wait to add more Stihl saws!
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw all around saw I have had this saw for a few weeks now, I have cut three cords of wood and fell two trees so far. I am very pleased with the performance and the power that the 362 C-M has to offer. This is my first stihl saw that I have owned, due to being hesitant on paying so much but as I have learned you get what you pay for, and after my experience so far I wont own any other saws. I purchased this saw with the 25" bar the saw has no problem pulling the chain through 24"+ oaks, although I do plan to get a 20" bar for smaller trees. Since buying this saw I have already began looking to replace my smaller saw with another stihl.
Date published: 2019-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I've been using mine since October and love the power. It's a very well made saw, great, easy to change air filter. It runs as smooth as a sewing machine. It makes short work of any trees. I haven't had to reset it, nor had any issues with starting or running. I do run ethanol free, Stihl oil. I'd buy another tomorrow.
Date published: 2019-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I recently purchased this saw so I have only used it a short time. It appears to be a great saw with excellent power. This is my first Stihl saw and I'm very please with it and would definitely recommend this to others.
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Running Saw! I really like my MS 362 C-M. I have the 25 inch bar and full chisel chain on it. I purchased this saw with the intent of cutting some large ash trees on my farm wood lot. It has good power to cut through 24 inch or larger diameter trees. My saw starts right up with a few pulls. I love the decompression valve for cold weather starting. I also have older stihl 028 and 034 saws which still run great. Stihl makes very durable, reliable, long lasting products.
Date published: 2019-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power to weight ratio! I love it. Compared to a ms271 it has a lot more power with only a little more weight. 3/8 chain has treated me well and I love how it jumps from off to on so its always ready to start.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has great power and dependability Saw got a lot of power not much vibration easy Startin two or three pulls it starts it uses a lot of gas though Lite saw for the amount of power it Nice air filter easy to clean
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good but pricey This is a good saw and my favorite one I have. The only issue I have is it seems over priced but I feel that way about all stihl products.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This product needs a lot of work I am a wildland firefighter in northeastern Washington, we used many of the Still 362c chainsaws. These particular chainsaws seem to not want to stay running after the first tank. They die repeatedly and it either takes several pulls to get it started again or you have to start it with the choke completely on. Which is ridiculous after running a full tank. In our environment our firefighters can't even run the saw because trying to run it around a running fire is impossible when the saw won't stay running. It exhausts the firefighters trying to start it and frustrates them to the point to where our whole company returned all of the saws and won't use them. This isn't on one saw, it is on every saw. The 362c needs a lot of work. I'm not sure if it computerized to run at lower elevations or what the problem is but Still has a lot of work to do on it.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice saw I purchased this saw with many hours worth of research into many saws. The saws I looked into were the MS461, the MS441, and the MS362. I also considered waiting on the MS462, but ultimately settled on the MS362 for several reasons. Reason one was I needed a bigger saw than my MS250, and needed it asap having been in the eye-wall path of Hurrican Michael.The MS461, which was what I nearly bought, was just too expensive at $300 more than the MS362, and also it felt heavier with the 25" bar that it came with. I love nearly all Stihl saws so it's hard to pick one. I use the saws as a farm owner and with the many trees currently down, I thought the pro grade saw would be a better investment. I now have a MS250, 362, and 133 pole pruner. Hopefully they will work well during cleanup.I used the MS362 for quite a while today and can say that I am impressed. It starts easily and runs strong. It sounds awesome but it's loud. It is a very comfortable to operate. I got the one with M tronic and I know others have said some negative things about that, but my experience this far is very good.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Impression I bought the saw with a 25" bar from Billings Lawn Equipment in Clawson MI from Scott Johnson. Its a new store and I think i'm the first customer. I just ran it for the first time and I am very impressed. I cut a twenty foot section of 20 inch Ash in minimal time. Using the throttle as recommended for the break in period. I like the long bar since it helps from bending down. The saw idles and runs perfectly. I have been cutting trees for many years. Used a bunch of different saws. This Stihl is the best so far.
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chainsaw for the wood cutter Light, compact, and powerful. Was worried about the oiler, but these saws don't throw oil all over like other saws do. Kept a close watch on oil usage and it is right on. Ran a few tanks of gas thru it and have had no problems. VERY GOOD SAW!
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Same weight as a 291 with way more power I started out with a 291. It is a great saw but I needed more power. After owning a stihl 291 and a husqvarna 455, I found my 455 was always having issues. I did a lot of research and comparison on saws. I chose the 362cm. It Is AMAZING!!!!. It is the same weight as my 291 with 1hp more and a 25 inch bar. It is so easy to work on. It starts so easy and runs like a dream. I wish I would of bought this saw first. I get 10 cords of lodgepole a year. This saw has cut down on my time per cord substantially. I am forever a loyal stihl customer.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I had been looking at this saw for about a year now and finally decided to pull the trigger. I cut anywhere from 5-10 cords a year for firewood. The full wrap is great since I'm a lefty. I currently have it set up with a 25" bar which I like, but the saw could use a little more power when it comes to driving a 25" bar. Overall, a great saw.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Porche of saws If I owned a race car with unlimited power, speed and dependability this would match it........unbelievable wevos!
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw So far great saw, plastic handle could be metal but other than that no complaints. Does what it says it will fo.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ms 362c I am in the line clearance industry... we use the pro series saws day in and day out.. these saws are junk. I am working on them more than they are running..styhl has went way down hill with the computer crap. I also ordered some Ms 362.. not bad but not good..they at least hold up a hair longer.. I'm switching all our saws to another brand..sorry styhl but you dont have the most powerful saws and you most certainly do not have the most dependable..I have given these 2 types of saws 9 months..now I'll give another brand 9 months..just a hunch, I wont switch back from that brand..I'm almost certain they wont have the engine problems styhl does..I have 15 saws in action when I started..they broke down so fast I had to buy more as I worked on the others..then I got over whelmed and took 9 to a dealership to be fixed while I worked on some myself..i would get 4 back and have 5 sitting there waiting to be fixed..they literally do break down more than they run..
Date published: 2018-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing saw with a lot of power Bought this saw 2 months ago and wow!!!! Simply amazing in every way possible!!! 20 inch bar & chain combo rips thru anything like butter!!! Has tons of power for any size trees!!! Buy one u can’t go wrong!!!
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a BEAST! This is by far the best saw I've ever owned! This thing eats whatever you put in front of it! It definitely makes cutting up trees a breeze, has an insane amount of power and is by far the most reliable saw I've owned. Well worth the $$$. Don't second guess or wonder. Buy this saw. You'll thank yourself.
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for medium sized hardwoods, decently priced with lots of features I am a landowner that cuts 3 to 6 trees a year. There was a 90' red oak, 30" at the base that was in the wrong place. In my assessment this was out of league for my aging MS 290. So I took the convenient 10 minute drive to the nearest Stihl equipment dealer and purchased the MS 362 C-M. Using an aggressive chain and 25" bar, the mighty red oak was crashing to the ground in minutes. I was able to cut up 50 percent of the tree into firewood on the complimentary tank of gas. It was impressively fuel efficient for the power/size. Also light with good ergonomics. As for the Mtronic feature, only time will tell since this is my first experience with it. The MS 290 is now relegated to limbing duty.
Date published: 2018-06-18
  • y_2019, m_11, d_10, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_258
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms362cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Optional Accessories

  • Wrap Handle (R)
    Saw can be used in multiple positions for felling or limbing with hands in the proper positions.

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Chainsaw Safety and Maintenance - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer