MS 201 T C-M

Image of ms201tcm
Advanced arborist chainsaw with a top handle and STIHL M-Tronic™ technology.

Product Description

The MS 201 T C-M offers a superior power-to-weight ratio for optimal maneuverability and performance for in-tree work. This chainsaw features the STIHL M-Tronic™ intelligent engine management system that automatically adapts to changes in environmental factors such as fuel quality and altitude. The result is a reliable and fuel-efficient chainsaw that performs optimally in a variety of conditions. Featuring a new simplified starting procedure and top handle, the MS 201 T C-M offers reduced operator fatigue, increased comfort, and much-needed balance. Professional jobs will be easier with use of the STIHL MS 201 T C-M – the “ultimate arborist chainsaw.”

Model Features

  • STIHL M-Tronic™ 
    This product features M-Tronic™ (M) - a new generation of Intelligent Engine Management that eliminates the low and high speed carburetor adjustment screws, compensates for dirty air filter and changes in elevation and fuel quality for optimum engine power at all times.

    See it in action!

    More information

  • STIHL Quickstop®
    STIHL chainsaws are equipped with a chain stopping system designed to reduce the risk of injury in certain kickback situations. It is called a STIHL Quickstop® chain brake. The STIHL Quickstop® chain brake is designed to stop the rotation of the chain if activated by the operator’s hand or by inertia if the saw kicks back with sufficient force. In some working positions, the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake can be activated by inertia, stopping the chain within fractions of a second.

    See it in action!
  • IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Ematic™ Lubrication System
    The Ematic™ guide bar, when used with STIHL OILOMATIC® saw chain, will provide proper lubrication and less oil consumption than conventional methods. The system works because two ramps, strategically placed in the guide bar rail, help contain the flow of oil and direct all lubrication to the sliding faces of the bar and chain links as well as the rivets and driver holes, which in turn can reduce bar oil consumption up to 50%.
  • Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Master Control Lever™
    The Master Control Lever™ is an easy to use single lever, operating the choke, starting throttle lock and on-off switch. The operator must pull the throttle trigger before moving the Master Control Lever™ to the choke position.
  • Adjustable Automatic Oiler
    The Adjustable Automatic Oiler allows the user to adjust the lubricant of the guide bar and saw chain for different bar lengths and cutting conditions.
  • Built-in retractable carry ring 
    The built-in carry handle makes it convenient and easy to maneuver in and out of trees.
  • Top handle (T)
    The top-handle model is specially designed for in-tree professional use only!

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
35.2 cc (2.15 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
1.8 kW (2.41 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT
3.71 kg (8.16 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
310 cc (10.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY
220 cc (7.4 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN
63 PS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges)
30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E or
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E Light
POWER SOURCE
Gas
STIHL recommends #3616 (63 PS3 50) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 14" 3005 000 7409 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which power head it is installed on.

Important Information

WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.

* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

MS 201 T C-M is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied This is the best climbing saw on the market. I've used 5 different 201 saws and they were all great. I've also used a rebuilt 200 and I thought the 201 was better, even though a lot of die-hard guys that have been in the business for awhile claim that they miss the 200. I've even seen a 201 function properly after being driven over with a 5000 lb vehicle . The top handle was cracked and needed to be replaced but nothing else was damaged. Perhaps I was lucky, but these are tough saws.
Date published: 2019-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There must’ve been a bad batch!? Reading these bad reviews just makes me feel thankful that I have had zero issues with the saw... I am only a part-time arborist, but I use the saw all the time around the house cleaning up a little stuff and processing firewood. In fact one time icefishing my auger would not start. It was -32 with the windchill that day. Fortunately I had the 201tc in my ice shack. She started right up and ripped through 12 inches of ice no problem! Only downside was it completely froze before I had the chance to cut another hole lol. The saw is super expensive, but so far it’s been worth it!
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Best saw I've ever owned. It is a bit on the heavy side but the power it puts out is worth the weight. Starts perfect in freezing temperatures. See lots of bad reviews, maybe people running cheap gas and oil through them.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from M-Tronic is the only issue Everybody knows its a great saw. Everybody knows the M-Tronic system is less than reliable. I will stick with stihl, but it will be the 200t. Sold the 201 tcm and put that money into reworking my prized 200t. That should keep me going until stihl irons out the problems with the m-tronic system or scraps it all together.
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have 2 One broke down almost as soon as i got it. Couldnt get it to start hot. They fixed it under warranty. The other i never had a single problem running. I did break a handle when it was 2° F when i took a top and let go. I had a lanyard on it and it hit the trunk when i dropped it and shattered the plastic but it was cray cold out. They have been good saws but not amazing for what they cost. They need to drop the price $200 or even $300 for what they are. My commitment to my local shop is why i got a 2nd and didn't try another brand.
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst idling saw ever. Made the mistake of buying this saw without doing the reviews. Replacing an old 011 AVT. This saw is pathetic. Every single time I lay it down for a second it stalls. Then its a PIA to restart. Wish I could get my money back.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed in Stihl Spent a lot of money on Stihl products Stihl chainsaws is what I live by . 201tcm is the worst saw I have ever used. I really don't want to make a switch to another brand
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chainsaw I’ve had this for three weks & cut down six trees. I am still using the same chain & I am very happy with the performance so far. The saw is much lighter & easier to use with the top handle.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy I bought this saw last yr and I'm not happy with the mechanical parts of the saw.it now sits and I'm forced to use another brand
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stihl the best by far the stihl 201 t c m is love stihl style my go to saw keep it in the kubota 1100 rtv cut trees light starts all the time hot or cold stihl the best by far !!!!!!!!
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is THE top handle saw The 201 c-m is the way to go if you need a pro top handle for in tree work. Me and my buddy had 4 husky T540’s two of which were warranty replacements . All are junk. And I am a husky guy, but it is true. This is the way to go. Starts easier and runs flawlessly compared to the 540. The only thing that would make it better is if it were air injected and had rubber hand grips like the husky. But at least it starts and runs like it should.
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Bought this saw to replace an aging 201T. While a good running saw it does not start easily and if it gets hot it will not run. Several times I have left the saw in its scabbard in the bucket while taking a 30 minute lunch and when I go back to work the saw absolutely will not start. Never had this issue with my old Stihl.
Date published: 2018-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the long haul I have been working with trees since 2000. Went to school for forestry and run my own tree care company. I have been using the ms201T for over a year. The only problem I have with this saw are two things. One: extreme temps, along with long hard running time. It will stop working until it cools off. Two: when it’s stored in the box and the sun/ heat gets to it. The bar oil leeks out. Once you release the air presser from the cap. All is ok. Therefore DO NOT store saw with climbing gear. Aka rookie move for beginners. This little saw is nice on the hands, runs strong. Easy to fix and get parts for. As a pro/ Arborist I’m extremely happy. I ran other brands and happy I made the move.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ms201tc honest review The ms201tc would be an awesome saw if it was not for for the m tronic carb on it. It seems to be very prone to stalling out on idle. I did manage to fix mine with a very expensive part and guessing it was the issue. Stihl should be lookin into these issues because i will never buy expensive equipment thats not reliable.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stihl ms201tcm needs work The ms201tc would be a great little saw but unfortunately it uses the m tronic system that seems to be the weakest link. Don’t feel its needed on a tree saw and seems to be prone to stalling. Not against new technology but its got to be reliable technology, stihl really needs to look into the stalling on idle.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Longtime stihl customer losing faith. I'm not sure where to start with my level of disappointment with this saw. The nature of intermittent use with a top handle saw screws this m-troinc system up bad, it seems to be hit or miss with these newer m-tronic saws and for the price stihl commands hit or miss is not good for me and many other tree service workers in my area. You are losing customers left and right. I suggest you get back to the drawing board or get back to a standard carburetor with a higher rev limit and give your loyal customers a reliable product.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good This saw has been in the shop three times and will not start well or idle I wish I could swing an axe cause it would be easier than this saw.Have five other saws and the 30 year old saw is still better. Sad.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 201 t The m-tronic carburetor sucks I got tired of fighting it up in a tree today I went and bought a new 193 t with a normal carburetor
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great great Saw!!! I had a 200T it lasted me 6 years of hard laborious work, and since purchased the 201t, great Saw, never an issue, starts easy, runs strong, and super reliable!!!!
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good weight and power I have a 45 degree back slope that requires tree and brush removal twice a year. The slope is so steep that a supporting rope is required, so a climbing saw was the best solution. The 201M starts easily both warm and cold, and is easy to start in more difficult stances.The first use was clearing a couple of trees on another property, one of which was 8" in diameter and exceedingly hard, dry and brittle. I had tried a cheap home owner saw and it literally couldn't cut. In less than 10 minutes I had the tree down and branched for removal, without any experience with this particular saw, or top handle saws in general.I'll update this review as time passes and the saw is used more and more, but so far, the saw has been an excellent value allowing for much faster, and safer, work than would otherwise be the case.
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The new 201 is the most unreliable chainsaw I have ever purchased I purchased a 201 about a month ago the new ones have a computer chip in them that adjusts the carburetor and monitors the saw it has been in the shop 3 times and I have yet to use it for more than an hour I would definitely not recommend this saw or any stihl equipment with computer chip applications
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little Ripah!!! Light weight saw I can hike in and out the valley for work to get the job done. powerfull!!! For a little saw. starts easy! Maintenance!!!! Is keyI use non ethanol gas! With all my stihl chainsaws 201t ms 241, 261 and 661!! All Awsome chainsaws...
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite saw so far After over a year of use this has become my favorite saw. Easy to start. I use as a bucking saw for dead fall solid manufacturing tough little saw. I only use the pro chains so it cuts super quick
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beware I own 4 ms200t ‘s (the best top handle saw hands down) ms191t ms290 ms441 ms661 ms880. I used to own the ms660 and when they changed to the 661 I was impressed so I went and got the ms201. The worst mistake I could’ve made. It doesn’t give you the performance that you need when your in a tree specially when you need to cut something fast it’s week it doesn’t even sound good. The echo top handle saw even runs better and that’s sad. The dealer said it was because of the emissions stihl has to follow as a hole so I don’t know why they didn’t leave the professional saws alone and make one or some of those homeowner saws more crappy. Most of the tree guys around here are going with the husky top handle saws because of the poor Performance the 201 has I bleed stihl and I hope that they will put there #1 top handle saws back on the map. Hopefully my 200t’s will last till that happens. Other that that 201t stihl is the best. I also have 4 stihl br600’s Awesome 4 fs110’s awesome hl100 hs81 awesome fc110 and fc111 all awesome. Just don’t know what happened to that 201t.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I waited until sorted out, mine is faultless! Great power, starts well, well balanced, cuts great! I read reviews for couple of years as they changed from old carb version, which had great reviews! the new electronics had some bugs, but could be modified to work. But latest version is great with NO mods needed! Starts great, idles fine. But it sings through big power band.This saw cuts great and is very nimble. But the newest version really winds up like the old versions after they were ported and advanced timing. This saw cuts as well as they ever did in this size! I thought I may have missed out on great original 200T. But this saw cuts as good as any and the fuel injection works really well. I feel really lucky that I waited and got the best in tree saw ever! My first Stihl is an 032AVE and still sings like a race motor with power. The new ms201TCM is a perfect light compliment. I bet they both are inherited, happily!
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This puppy rips This saw replaced my well loved MS192T and it's a night and day difference in performance. I have used it for delimbing both in the tree and on the ground and it's always up to the task. Mine is sporting a 14" bar and I'd keep it that way. Easy to start, plenty of power, and easy on the arms. I am amazed at how easily this little saw eats its way through anything you throw at it. It is slowly becoming my favorite saw in my collection.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great climbing saw its lighter then my 200 but in stock form didn't have the power but after a few mods it cutting almost the same but lighter weight for climbing and i retire the 200 for the bucket
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw for a climber I would absolutely recommend the sthil 201t cm to anyone who is serious about tree climbing and trimming.the power to weight ratio of this saw is unbelievable. Also the staff at broadwater trading company is great,they are always friendly and helpful.
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mistake Stihl has many great saws until the ms 201 Tcm. Why change the formula whn you done figured it out long ago. Whn I bought it I told the salesman I just don’t know about this ideal with this saw. So it sits ,now I use 355 no problems .
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT SAW. I waited a year or longer for Stihl to work the bugs out of it and started talking to climbers for a few large tree company's in my area.Asked them if Stihl got the bugs out of this saw.The answer's were all positive they said this is the only saw they use for climbing.They love the power and fuel economy.So that was what I was waiting for bought one and love it.
Date published: 2018-01-11
  • y_2019, m_11, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms201tcm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Chainsaw Safety and Maintenance - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer