MS 180

Image of ms180
This lightweight chainsaw features excellent air filtration, enhanced engine cooling and redesigned engine shroud.

Product Description

The MS 180 chainsaw gets back to basics with improved engine air flow and shroud design. With its improved design comes enhanced engine cooling and air filtration, giving you more consistent performance in the field. Make quick work of trimming branches, cutting small trees and clearing fallen limbs after a storm. If you’re looking for a reliable, light-duty chainsaw for occasional use, the MS 180 is a value you can’t ignore.

Model Features

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
31.9 cc (1.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
1.5 kW (2.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT
4.1 kg (9.0 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY
145 cc (4.9 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN
3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges)
30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Narrow Kerf
POWER SOURCE
Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Important Information

* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

MS 180 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 225.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Never by this saw mine broke yes broke after one use dont ever buy the ms180 terrible terrible terrible
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wouldn’t start after first use Chainsaw worked good first use. Week later couldn’t get it to start tried for hours off and on no luck
Date published: 2019-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is just right I've worked as a pro in the tree msintenance industry for 40 years. I use (strictly) Stihl products, i.e., saws, chains, bar oil & mix. I recently purchased an MS180 from a contractor. I replaced the chsin brake handle and reinserted the ignition kill wire. Saw fits in well with our operation. Keep the air filter clean, chain sharp and don't run it too hot. Great lightweight chainsaw.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard starting cold. Saw is near impossible to start cold. Requires you to pull no less than 50 times to get it started. Needs a primer. It does start easy after it’s warmed up, but then the throttle linkage binds up 50% of the time. When it starts and the throttle control works it’s a functional saw. It meets my expectations for a low-end saw.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money This is my 3rd chainsaw and I’m about done with stihl. I have had it 2 days and I am down 2 chains. Might as well be made out of glass. My other brand chainsaws held up longer then this. They lost my future money.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Very nice would recommend! Nice to teach my son how to handle it!
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from very hard to start has been extremely difficult to start, even from the day i brought it homeprobably will have to change the plug again but have really only used it twice. fresh gas and using the Stihl oil in the correct amounts.not sure what's up with mine but she is a stubborn thing for sure.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better saw that isn't much more than the other guys I bought this saw based on comments from others who have worked in public works for different cities. Most of these cities use almost all Stihl products and they last forever.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS180 is a great backyard saw. I bought this saw and have ran it about a dozen times now. The tank lasts longer than I'd expected, and it has plenty of power to cut through 10 diameter pieces of tree. The only drawback is I own several stihl brand engines, and with this engine not having a primer it takes a couple more pulls to start.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy to have Used stihl years ago in a professional role. They always worked 8 to 10 hrs a day no issues other than routine maintenance. It was an easy choice to buy the MS 180 for work at home. Quality is still there. In fact I also picked up a used one off a co worker built in 1983 that still starts on the second pull. You can go cheaper but in time you will realize why it was cheaper.
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price The MS-180 is a solid powerful chainsaw. You will not find a better quality product for the price.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MS180 Chainsaw does the small jobs well Its a bit smaller chainsaw and engine, so it doesn't always make it through wet wood or larger logs quickly. But give it time and let it do the work.We use it on mostly firewood and felling small <7" trees...it does the job!My disappointments, although I knew them when purchasing: -Plastic dog teeth. Wish these were metal to really bite into the wood. -No priming bulb. So far we start every time, but this will be frustrating in the future I'm guessing.
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely easy to start and use Shopping for a replacement of another "orange" name-brand saw I wore out after 17 years of light work around the farm and on the hunting lease. The Stihl equivalent of what I had was in line with the MS 170/180 but after researching and comparing I decided to spend a few more $ and go with the MS 180 for the Easy 2 Start feature and the easy chain adjustment. The two most frustrating and time-consuming features of my other saw.First time using the MS 180, trimming limbs for a couple of hours of on-off use, the Easy 2 Start feature convinced me that I made the right purchase! And not once did I have to adjust the chain, perhaps because it's still new and bar oil hasn't coated everything else in addition to the chain and bar. So far, very pleased with the purchase and performance. Only reason I didn't give more excellent ratings is I haven't used it long enough to really put it to the test.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and lightweight Used it right away on our property last year. It was very easy to use and maintain. Great performance for its size. Cut some pretty big trees down with little effort. Ready for another project this year.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great once I reversed the chain Works great once I reversed the chain that was put on backwards by either the shop or Factory.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Oil leaking during first use I was excited to get to work with my new MS 180, however within the first 30 minutes oil was caking around the chain and all over the outside of my saw. I took it to the local dealer and they told me over and over that it was normal for oil to leak. I tried telling them that not this much oil is normal and I’ve never seen that happen before like it did with my new machine. Instead of working with me to check it out or to replace, they insisted on arguing with me and told me they would take a look at the oil pump “just to make you happy.” Beyond frustrated with this product and I’ve only used it for 30 minutes! Even more frustrated with the “Stihl dealer”
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressive. Cuts like it should. No problems thus far. I'm working this saw like I stole it. The moto mix is good. Regular gas don't cut it. I may be working it a little too hard. The heat in Alabama right now is unbearable., I know this can affect performance. I run a tank and let it cool off. Keep the bar out of the dirt and your good to go. I must say that chain that comes with the saw has been stellar. Still sharp as can be. Thank you for a good product at a fair price.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from product has performed excellent dealer was on top. had the saw up. running and ready to go and delivered in record time. 110% effort. would highly recommend to anyone needing top quality equipment!. they have all knowledge of product and the requirements for break in. such as oil, fuel, run time, etc.
Date published: 2019-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light-weight Workhorse My go-to saw for tree trimming. Light-weight, easy to maneuver and reliable. When it does bog down on deeper cuts, I switch to my MS 251, but for trimming it's great. My only regret is the plastic, non-metal, "Bucking teeth" (Stihl's "bumper spikes").
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality of Stihl GREAT SAW! Stihl is always the best as I have several Stihl products and my latest purchase is just as amazing.WANT A GREAT PRODUCT THAT WILL ALWAYS PERFORM GREAT....BUY A STIHL.I still have and use my Stihl 032 I bought 30 years ago....used! And its still a great saw.
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool Easy start, light but works hard.Just have to remember, easy pull - easy start!
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Had two pine trees that were killed by some sort of pestilence last summer. They were closed to the house so they had to come down. I took the smaller one down with a battery chainsaw that has a 14' bar. The tree was about 16' in diameter. I knew it was too much for the saw but I did it anyway. Took all day. Cut a little. Charge it up. Over and over and over. Had older homelite gas saw but it crapped out early. So I get this Stihl. The bigger tree was 20' in diameter. Still too big for the 16' bar but this is most likely the biggest thing I'm ever going to cut. This saw is a man child. In a couple of hours I had the tree down and cut up. Didn't force anything just let the saw do it's thing. Took about three tanks of gas. VERY impressed. Saw never skipped a beat.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chainsaw for the price Great Chainsaw Easy To Start Lightweight Easy To Use
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw for the price Perfect small saw. Light weight, good power for a little saw. Doesn’t fatigue you cutting medium and small branches like using a farm boss
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Always starts right up, great light saw for minor tree cutting and yard clean up. Great price with a really good warranty.
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Had to bring to shop already after half hour of use I would rate this MS 180 chainsaw poorly for the simple reason I had to return to the dealer after only a half hour of use. I couldn't get it started and neither could the dealership until several adjustments. They have to keep it so they can work on the carburetor. Will not idle. Must be made poorly if it doesn't start after a half hour of usage.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for small to medium jobs Very simple chainsaw. Easy to start and maintain. Runs great throughout the job and only disappointed when I'm done cutting for the day
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This product is underpowered This chainsaw is extremely weak. It would bog the chain and stop it when I would cut a 3 to 4 inch limb. Stihl agreed to a swap where I would pay the difference for an upgrade. I got the Farm Boss and that is a chainsaw. The MS180 is your grandmothers chainsaw.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect ratio of weight and power Exactly what I wanted. I’m getting older and wanted a lighter chainsaw. This Stihl fits the bill. I have cut down small trees, cleared brush, and used it all day. Works great and I’m not fatigued using it like my older heavier model.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to operate I have the 180 just got it. Use it on my land works and cuts very well.
Date published: 2019-04-09
  • y_2019, m_11, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_225
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms180, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Chainsaw Safety and Maintenance - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer