MS 170

Image of ms170
A lightweight chainsaw designed for woodcutting tasks around the home.

Product Description

The STIHL MS 170 is the perfect lightweight chainsaw for homeowners seeking a great value. Compact, lightweight with just the right amount of power, the MS 170 makes quick work of trimming or cutting small trees, fallen limbs after a storm, and other tasks around the yard. And even at its great price, the MS 170 has many of the same design features the professionals depend on.

Model Features

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Ematic™ Lubrication System
    The Ematic™ guide bar, when used with STIHL OILOMATIC® saw chain, will provide proper lubrication and less oil consumption than conventional methods. The system works because two ramps, strategically placed in the guide bar rail, help contain the flow of oil and direct all lubrication to the sliding faces of the bar and chain links as well as the rivets and driver holes, which in turn can reduce bar oil consumption up to 50%.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
30.1 cc (1.8 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
1.3 kW (1.7 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT
3.9 kg (8.6 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY
145 cc (4.9 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN
3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges)
30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Mini
POWER SOURCE
Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Important Information

* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

MS 170 is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1257.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far solid tool for what I am using it for. I have been let down in the past by a couple of other saws. After reading some reviews and the web sites information on usage and what type of cutting I may be doing I made the investment on this unit. Still in the break in phase of the timeline, following the extra steps of their oil and highest grade gas small mixes etc.to make sure I get off to the best start I can. Hope this one will last to make the investment worth the time and money. So far so good.
Date published: 2019-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What warranty I really loved this chainsaw for the first several months of use but when it started to continually bog down I asked my dealer if they could look it over as it was under warranty and he laughed. I am never dealing with them again.
Date published: 2019-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for around the housew Great little saw to have for around the house. It is the first saw i have ever owned, and ill tell you what. It has not failed me yet once. I've really, and i mean really pushed this little saw to the limit, and it has kept up the entire time.
Date published: 2019-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I actually have 2 now. One at work and one at home. Great saw for light landscaping and cutting wood for lathe wood turning. Exactly what I needed.
Date published: 2019-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does more than expected Got it just for liming, and have had to ask it to cut stuff that i would normally would use my MS 290 or MS 391 and it powered right through it. I wouldn't want to use it for felling. Always start's on the 3rd or 4th pull.
Date published: 2019-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from light and easy to handle this saw is the hardest starting thing I have ever owned! why can't you put the same starting mechanism in this saw as is in the BG56 blower, which starts in just two or three pulls?I would trade in an instant for that!!!
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 170 Bought this to replace my 10 yr old craftsman 18” this a much better saw. Starts right up, runs excellent! It could use a smidge more power if you get into some thicker stuff. But then again that’s not what it’s built for so it’s not really a negative. I still need to get a larger saw so for what this saw is it is awesome
Date published: 2019-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuts through wood and cuts to the point I worked for years on several high-end golf courses and have used a plethora mowers, heavy equipment and landscape equipment. There are a few that have really stood out but this is the highest quality single piece of outdoor power equipment I’ve ever owned or used. Just like a great mechanic or handyman, this saw is straight forward, honest, to the point and does exactly what it says it will do. It has been perfect for my mostly-wooded 1.5 acres and clearing several small and medium trees with complete ease. I’ve even felled a 22” DBH water oak that was just a tad over 50’. I enjoyed every minute of it.
Date published: 2019-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight easy to use. A great addition to my line of sthil products, every thing I expected from a sthil product.
Date published: 2019-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Leaks bar oil Brand new I have used maybe two hours. I have a nice carrying case I put it in there by the way on the case it doesn’t fit and I go to bring it back out saw leaked out all the bar oil the cap was tight I checked so I brought it to the dealer I bought it from the dealer tells me he called Stihl and all they had to say was it builds up pressure in the tank so I know a few friends who bought the saw as well they use theirs the same I use mine if not more and they do not have a problem with it the saw has nice power but I do not like having a leaky saw definitely not buying this product again at least a small chainsaw I have an old trusty 390 farm boss old and beat to heck but it doesn’t leak anything this ms 170 is bad I don’t want to always have to clean out my case because the saw just leaks it out I’d understand if it was an old saw but it’s brand new I have had a 100rx a km130r a br350 and a farm boss 390 those products are amazing but this ms170 isint good I do not recommend unless you like a saw that leaks bar oil when you get done using it
Date published: 2019-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a homeowner Great little saw! 2 pulls and starts right up! Definitely represents the Stihl brand well!
Date published: 2019-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Saw I have had several chainsaws from other brands but this is the best saw that I have owned. I used to buy 18" but this 16" is better and more versatile. Glad I finally bought a Stihl!
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice small saw for limbing and basic home tasks Bought this saw knowing it is an entry level homeowner saw for basic use. Not going to be clearing forests but its lightweight, simple to use, and perfect for limbing and small cleanup.
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good chain saw if you can start it and keep it running MS 170 was a really good saw when I first bought it. Less than a year and it is hard starting. After running for awhile it quits and won't start until it sits for a few hours. This was my second MS 170. The other one won't start.
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy Used one time have had chain saws all my life no issues let someone tell me stihl way to go . Used one time 3 rd cut on a small limb chain jumped and then locked up took back where I got it said they would have to repair it said it was a clutch . So I could have gotten a lemon but owned for 14 days and 1 st time out . Keep in mind I have operated chainsaws for over 25 years. So basically got a new chain saw and can’t use it and then have to send it out for repair and who knows when I get it back
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw there is. This has been the best chainsaw I have ever had. Starts ever time.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Took care of me the first day I had a large part of a dogwood tree to break off and all I had was an electric saw that couldn't keep its chain on. After the chain coming off several times, I got a little hot around the collar and went to a local Stihl dealer to check the new price on a saw that was for sale on Craigslist (MS 251C). After seeing that might have been more saw than I needed, I settled on the MS 170. A little lighter, which I needed due to disability, and enough power to do what I needed. The tree was cut up about an hour after I started. I can't speak sbout dependability, because it's only been a day, but it started back everytime I took a break. As of right now I love it. I guess I'll find out how dependable it is when I need to cut some pecan wood to cook with or somebody else has a few limbs to cut up.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 stars only because it has only been one month I see the reviews about this saw not starting but mine has been great - starts on one pull every time (once warm). I did not buy the pre-mixed fuel just the 2 cycle engine oil for the extended warranty and mixed mine own, but no issues. I have used this for small trees and branches as well as cutting 6x6 landscape ties for a retaining wall. After 3 weeks of use I have had no issues and love the saw. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is that I have not had it long enough.
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for small task. Perfect for cleanup and smaller task. Surprisingly good power. Not for daily cutting though. And for the price, it’s a unbeatable value.
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaces an Echo I don't normally start our chainsaw. I don't have a problem staring this one. It is light and easy to use.
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent use of my money! Bought this saw during the Labor Day sale to help take my 37 acres. Never had a problem with it, cuts like a pro saw. Love it!
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good 1st buy Good buy for a 1st time chainsaw owner. Handles well and took on a good amount of work. Definitely made my life easier, but suggest using this along with a Stihl pole saw.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not start after 1st use. The MS170 STIHL Chainsaw I purchased will not start again after 15 minutes of initial light duty break in operation.I returned it for a warranty repair, I witnessed the technician start it and run it. Next day would not start. I returned it a 2nd time and the technician could not get it to start.
Date published: 2019-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good limbing/small timber job I bought this saw to trim stuff around the house and carry in the truck during hunting season in case a tree fell across the road. I swapped the 16in .043 bar and chain for a 16in .050 bar and chain. It ran great down at 3800 ft elevation but once we got into the mountains to do some trail clearing the saw couldn't hardly make a chip. I almost took it back but decided to try and get a few tanks of gas thru it. Luckily after about 10 tanks, it loosened up and is a great little back up saw. I have noticed it uses more fuel running the heavier chain but its a 30cc motor so that's to be expected. I would never make this my main bucking saw, but limbing and smaller jobs its fine. I really wish the carb had high and low adjustments, but for what I use it for its a great saw and am pleased with it.
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Almost impossible to start I've had this chainsaw for a couple of years and have only been able to get it to start a couple of times. Good spark, fuel, just won't start. Took it to the dealer, he tells me I was trying to start it with the chain brake on. I've tried it with the brake on and with the brake off, no difference. The manual says to start it with the brake on. Maybe better dealer training?Why is it so hard to start? I've gone through the manual and carefully tried just like it says. I'm about ready to junk this piece of trash.
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good saw for home owners who occasionally cut trees. This is a good saw for the average homeowner who occasionally cuts trees on their property.
Date published: 2019-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chainsaw I've Ever Owned Never had a Stihl chainsaw but I do have other Stihl products. This is hands down the best chainsaw I've ever owned. Will never purchase another brand.
Date published: 2019-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl upgrade Tons of branches have fallen off our 100 old pin oak tree over the summer. I had a cheap green chainsaw (you can guess the brand) a really a terrible saw, can't keep it running. Needed something that I could rely on. I've used my dads Stihl's in the past. So I went out and picked up a MS170. Really like the saw. Always starts within 2-3 pulls. Now I have a nice old Maple trunk and will need a bigger Stihl to do some chainsaw milling.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic little saw Does everything I ask better than I'd hoped, starts easily everytime
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap garbage Purchased new in April of 2018. As of August, 2019, after only 4-5 light uses (1-2 hrs each) the handle is broken. The saw was never abused or dropped or handled in a rough manner. So with only a 1 year warranty, I am now the proud owner of a piece of junk. I bought this saw thinking Stihl meant quality product. I was wrong.
Date published: 2019-08-12
  • y_2019, m_11, d_10, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1257
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms170, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Optional Accessories

  • Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Chainsaw Safety and Maintenance - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer