MSA 200 C-BQ

Image of msa200cbq
A more powerful, more capable Lithium-Ion chainsaw – ideal for noise restricted areas. 

Product Description

No pulling on cords, fuel mixing or complicated startup procedures. With the MSA 200 C-BQ chainsaw, just squeeze the trigger and start cutting. In addition to easy starting, our battery powered tools produce zero exhaust emissions and are quieter than their gasoline-powered counterparts, making them an ideal choice for areas with emission or noise restrictions. Powered by an interchangeable STIHL Lithium-Ion battery, this chainsaw delivers the speed, cutting capacity, and run time to take on just about any cutting job on your property. The STIHL MSA 200 C-BQ is a cordless chainsaw tough enough to carry the name STIHL.

The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on. Run time may vary based on battery type, charge level and capacity, model, operating style and conditions. Batteries and chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.

View Our Usage Chart



Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) - an additional chain braking feature
    STIHL offers an additional, manually-activated chain brake on some models. This system is designed to engage when the operator’s right hand completely releases the rear handle, stopping the chain within one second. Available on some models.

    See it in action!
  • STIHL Electric Brushless Motor
    Lightweight and compact, STIHL electric motors require minimal maintenance and feature low noise levels and reduced vibration.
  • Coast-down Brake
    A controlled braking device (Q) to stop the rotating chain when the trigger is released.
  • STIHL Quickstop®
    STIHL chainsaws are equipped with a chain stopping system designed to reduce the risk of injury in certain kickback situations. It is called a STIHL Quickstop® chain brake. The STIHL Quickstop® chain brake is designed to stop the rotation of the chain if activated by the operator’s hand or by inertia if the saw kicks back with sufficient force. In some working positions, the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake can be activated by inertia, stopping the chain within fractions of a second.

    See it in action!
  • Rubberized Soft Touch Handle 
    Soft rubber texture is both easy to grip and makes the product comfortable to hold for extended periods.  
  • Ematic™ Lubrication System
    The Ematic™ guide bar, when used with STIHL OILOMATIC® saw chain, will provide proper lubrication and less oil consumption than conventional methods. The system works because two ramps, strategically placed in the guide bar rail, help contain the flow of oil and direct all lubrication to the sliding faces of the bar and chain links as well as the rivets and driver holes, which in turn can reduce bar oil consumption up to 50%.
  • Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

Specifications

GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges)
25 to 35 cm (10" to 14")
ROLLOMATIC® E Mini
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY
210 cc (7.4 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN
1/4" STIHL PICCO™
POWER SOURCE
Battery
RUN TIME (w/ AP 100)
Up to 15 minutes
RUN TIME (w/ AP 300)
Up to 45 Minutes (Recommended Battery)
RUN TIME (w/ AR 1000)
Up to 110 minutes
RUN TIME (w/ AR 2000)
Up to 160 minutes
RUN TIME (w/ AR 3000)
Up to 200 minutes
POWERHEAD WEIGHT (w/ Recommended Battery)
w/ AP 300 5.0 kg (11.1 lbs.)
BATTERY SERIES
AP Series
STIHL recommends #3670 (71 PM3 72) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 14" 3005 008 3409 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on. Chainsaw weights include recommended bar and chain combination. Batteries and chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.

Important Information

WARNING FOR CORDED ELECTRIC AND BATTERY CHAINSAW USERS! The fibers may not stop the sprocket on most corded electric chainsaws and some battery-powered chainsaws because of the constant high torque. However, to reduce the severity of injury from accidental contact with the chain, STIHL recommends that leg protection be worn when operating these types of chainsaws.

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

MSA 200 C-BQ is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 76.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You'll never look back with this saw! I live on 72 acres of heavy TN woods. My drive is about 3/4 mile long, and occasionally I have a trees across my drive. I can put this neat battery chainsaw in my Lexus to clear my drive, without worrying about gas leaking out like my other chainsaws. It will cut up about 80% of the trees I have on the property, without even thinking. "I shouldn't be doing this"........... One of the best investments I have ever made! One other thing, it has a "thin" blade, that leaves about 1/2 the amount sawdust, and is engineered to cut fast as well. Once you own this saw, you will do all of your tree trimming and most of your log cutting too. You may carry your gas saw as well, just to look like the other kids on the block. By the time they get their saw started, you will have 1/2 of the job done...with 1/2 the effort. But not 1/2 the cost, this saw is expensive, but worth it!
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, quiet, powerful, awesome saw! Have two large Stihl gas saws. The smaller battery saw is perfect for trimming brush to fit into chipper. Use for storm clean up, trail clearing. No need to pack gas, chain oil tank on saw lasts a long time before refilling. Also, saw does not leak any chain oil! Never had any saw that doesn't leak chain oil. Amazing!
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Torquey High on quality, torque, and ease of use. Perhaps the highest quality tool I own.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weekend Work Champ After much research (user reviews & You Tube) purchased the MSA200 from a local dealer. Happy to say it has met expectations with no disappointments. However, it is an expensive purchase, as you need to buy the battery & charger separately. Knowing this, it is easy to use, clean and maintain. Chain lube for me has been about half a tank per battery charge.Nice to carry and store in my truck with no fuel smell. Storage at home is straightforward. But, I pull the battery because my young grandsons could easily figure out how to reset the blade stop and press the trigger.All in all, I am very satisfied with the saw.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wish i would have bought years ago A friend had a battery operated chainsaw, when I seen how easy it was to use I went to check them out. I bought a stihl because of reputation of being top of the line. I talked to a sales guy, and he recommended this one for me. I feel safe when using it. I have been able to cut down much bigger size trees then I thought I could. I love when I release the trigger chain stops right away. Super Quiet! Super light! I can't say enough good about this! I find my husband grabbing my chainsaw versus his gas chainsaw. You will not be disappointed. I was worried about battery running out quickly but I'm yet to run into that problem. I trimmed up 5 acres of trees and limbs and still had battery to go!
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is easy to use No hassles with fuel. Light weight, easy to use with impressive power.
Date published: 2019-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool Saw! So I haven't used it a whole bunch and I also normally don't do reviews, but this thing is really cool. Totally limbed up a 16" diameter black cherry that I dropped up to 8" to 10" in diameter sections and still had some juice left over. Tonight at Mom's, she had a pretty big pine fall. Totally limbed up in no time and cut some pieces up to 8" or so with no problem. Barely used any of the battery life. Also have worked on some honeysuckle with great results. So nice not to have to worry about fuel and noise. Still love my bigger Stihl gas saws, but this bad boy is going to get a lot of use.
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoying it so far I live on a farm and do a lot of chainsaw work. We also completely heat our home in the winter with a wood stove. This electric saw has been a huge blessing and saved a lot of hearing and wear and tear on the arms vs. my normal go to big stihl gas chainsaw. I was shocked at how thick of trees I could go through with this saw. I wish I would have gotten this saw years ago. Thanks Stihl.
Date published: 2019-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Pruning saw Good pruning saw, batteries last about the same as two tanks of gas in a 200t for our usage. We do like the weight and the quiet (no idle) we can talk while working, no gas smell we just throw it behind the seat, good power actually amazing for a battery saw, like the battery indicator level, it would be nice if the batteries were a bit less expensive but other than that a very nice saw.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good saw Good saw. Could use more chain speed. The balance is good. The power is good. Works best the 300 battery.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Completely disappointed I bought this saw in March. I used it right off for a bit until the battery was as half a charge. Then it sat until about June and I finished off the first charge. After putting the battery in the charger I realized the charger failed. I got a new one under warranty and charged up the battery. I put it in the saw and a couple weeks later the battery was completely dead. Now it won’t take a charge and my dealer is in the process of getting another charger and possibly a battery. I wouldn’t recommend this saw to anyone right now and we have been lifelong Stihl customers.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great little saw got this saw for doing cutting firewood to length and doing trimming around the yard. works great
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight, reliable limbing and log cutting Specific long-thought-through purchase entirely for hiking trail maintenance, long hikes between cuts and weight-over-distance matters. Quick cuts for deadfall-clearing when repeated bucking not required. Works very well for purpose intended.
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant starting when you need it. I have four chainsaws, three of which are gasoline powered, but the Stihl 200 is the one I use 99% of the time. I use it off and on all day cutting cedar and mesquite on a single battery charge. I love it. It's the only one I carry on my ATV all the time on the ranch.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great saw depending on the job This is an awesome saw for doing trail work and limbing trees. The output of power is impressive. But don't think you're going to buck up firewood with it; the battery will only last you 15 minutes. However, on the trail, doing this and that, the battery lasts about 45 minutes. I love what little vibration it puts on my arms and shoulders. Great little saw, but i'll be holding on to my old Husky 353 for bigger jobs.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Punches above its weight! Tough and powerful chainsaw that's a pleasure to use. Excellent battery life and I surely don't miss the need for fuel. Perfect for intermittent use (don't need to restart or leave running), and relatively quiet. It's ready when you pull the trigger!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!! Great little saw to throw in the truck. Awesome for lite to medium clean up, don’t have to worry about premix!!
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for quick light to moderate needs What a handy gem. Great for light to moderate duty work around the garden. Been very surprised how long the battery lasts. As with all my other Stihl equipment reliable, great quality build and not disappointed.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Excellent product...highly recommended...lite weight...quiet...starts every time...no gas...no worries...
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly Surprised I’m a hobbyist word turner and really wanted a low-maintenance chainsaw that I could use for occasional gathering and sizing wood for the lathe as well as tend to the trees in my yard. I already had the appropriate batteries having acquired an HLA 85 to help tame my monster hedge earlier in the year so this seemed like a great fit—and it is was! It cut faster than I anticipated and is definitely well powered for a battery saw. I also love how light it is; working on a ladder to trim some 6 inch elm limbs was super easy. It also handled some 10 inch pine logs without any trouble. I also really like the metal bucking spikes this saw has—an unusual feature on battery operated chainsaws—I’m so glad Stihl didn’t do plastic like many other companies have.While the price doesn’t feel great for an occasional-use item, once it is in your hand it feels worth it because it works so well. So if you’re looking at having at least one other tool that uses the same batteries, this saw can be a great way to go.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised by the power and fast cutting Totally pleased with the the battery powered saw. Cuts almost as fast as my gas saw but much quieter. Had a tree that was 12 “ in diameter and it cut beautifully. STIHL saws are a little pricey that’s why the 3 stars for value. Haven’t stretched the battery life yet, but it was still running after 40 minutes. Very satisfied.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the high price I have 5 acres with about half in shrubs and trees. I used this saw for about 2 months. It works great, cuts 10” logs with ease but is agile enough for cleanup around the property. Battery is great, used about 1/4 charge after 3 hr of brush cleanup. Best chainsaw I own which includes two gas and a few B&B battery types. I would buy it again.
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the size and weight this is as good as any other chainsaw i’ve used I have wanted one of the MSA 200 saws since they came out last year. Finally got one yesterday and used it for the first time today. I started with a small tree trimming off small dead branches. Moved on to an old dying apricot tree with branches up to 8” in diameter. This saw cut them like butter. I had the whole tree cut into 16” logs in about ten minutes. Comparing this saw to others i’ve used in the same bar length and saw size, this is as good as any I’ve ever used, electric or gas powered. I called my dad just to tell him the next time he’s wood cutting smaller stuff he has to borrow this saw and try it out. If you are cutting logs small enough that you only have to split them once to make firewood this thing is a champ. PLUS you can pick it up overhead and no chainsaw exhaust in your face. Still wood chips though. Lots of chips. Yeah the saw price isn’t too bad, but yeah the battery and charger are expensive. If I had to do it all over again I’d do it in a minute.
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Having used Stihl petrol saws for many years, thought I'd try this as I already had the batteries AP300 from my hedgecutter. With the narrow chain, the saw cuts through anything with minimal effort producing a neat narrow cut.. Significantly lighter than my petrol MS260, it's a joy to work with........ light, easy to use. The narrow bar is very handy for getting in to tight spaces such as removing some thick stems from the centre of overgrown shrubs. Chain adjustment works well with no tools needed to do it. Will als comfortably cut thick stuff..... 12"+ with no problems. Battery life about 30 minutes..... more than enough for myuse though I'd recommend having a second battery just in case- it goes flat.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant saw. I run a gardening service business and have found this saw to be excellent. It’s first use was over the Xmas break where I took it camping, I was cutting fire wood about 150 metres from our site and the other guys never heard it. This saw is very capable on the job and has routinely provided me with a more enjoyable day at work, no fumes, low noise. I feel the 1/4 chain dulls down a bit quicker than my 3/8 machines but when there is no cord to pull and warm up periods I feel that makes up the time. My only negative comment really is I had to take it back(after 3 months) as it did show an error code but the saw did fire up again after about 5 mins and let me finish the jobMy dealer contacted me ASAP with the diagnostics results and it’s was apparently only a switch in the throttle trigger. Completely covered under warranty. I own the hla65, fsa90r, bga85, hta85,hsa86 and a few ap300 battery’s aswell and have been using these constantly while leaving my older 2 stroke tools in the shed as plan B.I was surprised with the error code but given my past experiences with the range I see it a very minor issue and since it did fire up again and allow me to finish I can’t complain at all . If my carb was fouled or I simply snapped a pull cord that would be expected in the word of petrol and probably mean it’s the end of that tools day.I probably will never purchase another 2 stroke tool again. POWER ON
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chainsaw, even though battery powered, is a tiger! I have a typical 1/3 acre subdivision lot but many trees of all sizes that seem to always require attention...sometimes major and most times minor. I decided to pick up this chainsaw when I had a small tree to take down or to cut up a large branch which might fall in a windstorm. I figured that it would be easier to "fire up" with no gas, etc. to fool with. I had a small tree on a hilly part of my lot that I needed to remove. So I fired up my new chainsaw and it was really surprising. It cut through the tree like butter. In no time, the tree was down and cut into chunks and into 35 gallon refuse cans for the trash man to remove. I believe that this is an ideal tool for homeowners who have occasional need for a small chainsaw for maintenance of their treed lot. No worries about "Why won't it start". Just charge the battery and it's a 100% guarantee every time that it will start "no problem" and get the job done.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better quality than the competitors - Stihl gets it right This is a surprisingly good chain saw. I just did not want to buy a saw that I would use occasionally for small trees and limbs and to have to deal with storing and mixing gas and all of the maintenance and start up required to keep the saw in order. Now, when I want to cut something, grab the saw, cut, and store the saw. The battery system seems very stable, The charger and extended battery work hand in hand to keep the battery ready to go, but not overcharge it. Pull the battery out of the charger, and pop it in the saw and you are running. If you need to transport the saw and battery without the charger, there is a back-out position of the battery so that it is in the saw's battery sleeve, but not making contact. There are some nice safety features that you would expect from Stihl - like the chain brake - which are very easy to engage/disengage and well thought out.I paid more for this than for competitive products, but like I said, Stihl just seems to get it right.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool, needs better chain. I bought 6 different Stihl battery powered tools (push mower-RMA 510, chainsaw MSA200c, hedge trimmer HAS 66, line trimmer FSA 90R, pole saw-HTA 85 and blower BGA 85) plus three batteries and one charger, to maintain about an acre of land with grass, bushes and trees. The chainsaw MSA200c has been a good tool. Light weight, well balanced and plenty of power. The downside has been the chain. It's a very light weight chain and loses its edge fairly quickly. It only takes about 8-10 cuts of 10'-12" diameter size pine tree logs to lose its edge. Each chain is expensive and I now have keep about 5 around to cycle through to have sharpened. The battery last much longer than the chain.Over all a good tool and would recommend it, but needs a better quality chain.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight easy to use and no gas Light weight easy to use and no gas. Stihl salesman at True Value very knowlegable
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chainsaw has plenty of power. With 2 batteries I never run out of battery life. I bought this chainsaw and an extra battery and file set to keep the chain in sharp condition before I start and it Wears me out on a continuous basis before the batteries go down. I love the narrow width of the blade. It flies through all types of wood that I've gone through with amazing speed. I don't think a combustion-engined chainsaw could outperform this Battery machine. I don't have to mix gas or worry about old gas or any of the negative problems of a gas engine. I put in a fully charged battery in and go until I'm finished or tired.
Date published: 2017-12-03
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_msa200cbq, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Chainsaw Safety and Maintenance - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer