BR 600

Image of br600
The all-in-one backpack blower that combines power, fuel efficiency, and durability.

Product Description

With its powerful, fuel-efficient engine, the BR 600 sets the standard for professional-grade blowers. It produces the highest air volume and velocity of all our backpack blowers, yet features a low-emission engine, making it a great choice in both urban and rural areas. No matter where the job takes you, the BR 600 blower is the ideal choice for heavy-duty cleanup.



See how the BR 600 compares to other brands. View the fuel savings calculator.

Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Anti-Vibration System
    The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle makes it easy to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Adjustable Support Harness
    STIHL backpack blowers and sprayers are equipped with an adjustable support harness that distributes weight evenly across the shoulders and back, reducing user fatigue.

    See it in action!
  • Purge Pump Primer
    The purge pump primer feature enables the user to prime the carburetor with fuel, enabling easier starting. The purge pump primer is designed in a way that the operator cannot flood the machine by priming the carburetor too many times. Flooding the engine is still possible if the choke is not removed after the engine fires.
  • Throttle Trigger Lock with Built-In Momentary Stop Switch
    The built-in stop switch allows the user to turn off the engine with a simple press of the button or lever. When the engine is off, the throttle lock automatically returns to the “start” setting. Your power tool will be ready to be started when you’re ready to get back to work.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
64.8 cc (3.95 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
2.8 kW (3.8 bhp)
WEIGHT
9.8 kg (21.6 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
1400 cc (47.3 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE*
32 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY**
89 m/sec. (199 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY**
106 m/sec. (238 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE**
1150 m3/h (677 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING**
75 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE
Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI B175.2 standard. All specifications provided by ANDREAS STIHL AG & Co. KG. As of April 2016.

Important Information

Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

BR 600 is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 632.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the Power I need Just upgraded to my 1st Back Pack Blower, only owed handhelds battery and gas before. What a big difference it makes! No more dead batteries or smelling like mixed gas. It starts in 1 or 2 pulls and runs like a champ! Only sorry I waited this long to buy this model and wish I wouldn't of wasted my money on the other blowers I tried.
Date published: 2019-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I borrowed a blower from my brother-in-law. I loved it so much that I had to buy one for myself?
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Blower is Powerful The BR 600 is an easy start, powerful blower capable of getting your job done quick. I love the fact that I can now clear my entire in-ground pool trampoline cover of leaves from one side easily with the powerful wind velocity.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really moves the leaves We have 1.6 acres with large deciduous trees. The BR600 is perfect for that. Very light but powerful, quiet for a unit of its type, and starts right up.
Date published: 2019-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stiching on shoulder strap I would have given this a 5 star except the stitching on one shoulder strap was partially missing, with it failing after about 30 min of use. Never-the-less, the distributor quickly ordered and installed a new strap under warranty.
Date published: 2019-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great leaf blower I had a Ryobi blower for almost 15 years. I fixed it several times and kept it going because I could always count on it starting within 3 pulls. The carb finally gave out and there were no replacement parts. Evaluating the market I saw that reviews on consumer quality lawn equipment was not favorable. I also have a Troybilt trimmer that is impossible to start. I decided it was time to upgrade to professional grade equipment. I read excellent reviews on the BR600 and saw that it was the leaf blower of choice by professional lawn services. Now that I have used it a few times I am very impressed. It starts easily in 2-3 pulls and it has much more power than my previous leaf blower. It easily moves acorns and pine needles from grass and gets the job done in half the time. My only regret is that I waited so long. I should of purchased the BR 600 sooner. The only con to this blower is that even on idle it has enough thrust to spin around when you are trying to put it on your back. I can live with that.
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Owned a BR550 since 2008 and just replaced with the 600. Outstanding! First time I used it made it worth every cent. My grandfather used Stihl products since I can remember saying the word orange. I am a lifetime Stihl product owner. Never disappointed.
Date published: 2019-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful blower Easy to start. Will blow lots of leaves even wet ones.
Date published: 2019-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blower ! This blower is truly the best blower for grass clipping and hedge clippings ! It’s light and easy to use and doesn’t wear you out
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower is a workhorse! Super light and extremely powerful. Perfect for everyday use.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Is great when it works. I have owned for a year and it has been in the shop for 2 months of that time. Just got it back hope it works now. Problems starting and staying running.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower! This a great purchase! This blower is comfortable, easy to start and has great power! You can even use it to blow snow off sidewalks and driveways in the winter!Highly recommend!!!
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable durable powerful Awesome. Easy to maintaine, reliable sturdy,easy to use. Complete workhorse
Date published: 2019-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower !!! At 23 lbs this is the lightest of the backpack blowers. It also packs a good punch, blowing away everything that I need to get rid of. Well worth the money if you want a great quality blower. It is easy to start and comfortable to wear. The "cruise control" function is awesome !!
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEAST Needed something for residential to replace my 10 year old blower from another mfg. This BR 600 is almost too much machine for my yard. 1/3 acre with lots of tree cover. maples, pines. This machine has plenty of power with some to spare. No concerns with wet leaves, or anything sticking to the grass. Cuts my clean up time in 1/2.I wanted to make sure what i bought had enough power. Was going to go for the BR 450 but for $50 more, couldn't pass this one up. It's actually lighter than the 450. Easy controls and starts right up. Wish I bought one years ago......actually looking forward to Fall to put this bad boy to work.Thanks Stihl
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy Saves me so much time compared to the handheld blowers.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! Was in the market for a blower for a new property and the salesperson recommended that I upgrade to the 600, I do not regret that decision! Used the blower on leaves leftover from the previous fall and the 600 more than took care of them, super happy with the features and advice given by dealer.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As advertised Ten years after initial purchase with about 100-150 hours of engine run time a year it still has the power the day it was new. I'd love to upgrade to one of Stihl's larger backpack blowers, but this one won't quit. At the time of purchase this unit was Stihl's most powerful offering.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and lots of power For a all around Blower my BR -600 is the best it saves so much time because of the power and how easy it starts , even my wife can start it with ease , I have a 23x68 ft patio that sits near trees so we get a lot of leaves sticks etc , I use it quite often to blow the patio off , and for leaves in the fall it’s the best and fast !
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Blower Excellent power, comfortable, and not too heavy. Runs smooth and isn’t too loud at idle. Starts every time with one pull. Very happy!
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Wonderful product. Great power for the size/weight.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy enough to use , My wife loves it! So easy, my wife beat me to it. She was blown away bu the power. She was almost swept off her feet! Great unit.
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Blower I have an old BR 550 Blower which is great, but the new BR 600 is definitely more powerful..
Date published: 2019-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, great price Glad the sales person was so knowledgeable, helped me find the best machine 4 me, got it home & was very impressed glad I got the waist belt, run 2 tanks of gas & didn’t feel like nothing was on my back. Very pleased with my purchase
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lightweight, powerful, easy to use gets the job done fast, whether leaves, grass, sticks, sand, pine needles, this thing moves them all!! Awesome blower!!
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower is amazing! I originally was going to get one of those big heavy push type blowers I used back in the 70's... Boy, what a mistake that would have been! This light easy to carry machine has all the power I need and it doesn't wear me out to use it in the time it takes me to do the clean-up on my two acres. I really like all my Stihl products.
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower I bought this blower as an upgrade once I moved to a large wooded property. Going from the sh86 hand held to this was life changing! This thing is a beast, wet dry or piled leafs don’t slow it down. Even acorns and branches get blow where you want them to go. If I have ran it in the last week it starts first pull, if not second pull does it. This blower is amazing.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Easy starting. Powerful blower. Friendly dealer. Easy getting onto back. Good machine.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl product Great blower for large areas. Should have bought years ago. At first I was intimidated by the back pack style blower, but after fighting my large amount of leaves with my Stihl hand blower (I was younger then), I decided to go with the BR600. The BR600 starts easy, and was surprised by how balanced and lightweight it is. The time spent cleaning my 2 acre property was cut in half. If your thinking of buying a back pack blower, buy a Stihl!
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This blower has been a nightmare since day 1 Bought this expecting to use it for a long time with a single yard. Stihl has replaced the entire engine...I've had numerous fuel systems and carb problems..in the shop every 6 months .Just dropped off at the shop again locked up...cord wont pull...still had two ties attached to it from previous work orders.About ready to switch brands over this Model and my service behind it.
Date published: 2019-04-03
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_632
  • loc_en_US, sid_br600, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Backpack Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL backpack blowers.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

BR 600 STIHL Backpack Blower - Video

Product Instruction Manual (PDF)

Product Safety Manual (PDF)

STIHL Limited Warranty

Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer