BR 430

Image of br430
A professional-grade backpack blower with excellent fuel economy and enhanced comfort.

Product Description

When the job runs long, the STIHL BR 430 is right there with you. It has the features you need to get the job done with fewer refuels and less fatigue. Its pro-sized 57.5 oz. fuel tank goes even farther thanks to a fuel-efficient engine that produces cleaner emissions when compared to standard 2-stroke engines. In addition to its anti-vibration system and ElastoStart™ handle, the blower also features back padding, broad shoulder straps and soft rubber grip for enhanced comfort and support.

Model Features

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Anti-Vibration System
    The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle makes it easy to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • STIHL ElastoStart™
    The ElastoStart™ starter handle is an exclusive feature of STIHL. It is a starting grip with a built-in shock absorber that helps reduce the effort when pulling on the starter cord. The ElastoStart™ starter grip noticeably reduces the sudden peak forces (compression) normally felt during cranking. The forces which occur at the grip after the first compression stroke are smoothed out.
  • Purge Pump Primer
    The purge pump primer feature enables the user to prime the carburetor with fuel, enabling easier starting. The purge pump primer is designed in a way that the operator cannot flood the machine by priming the carburetor too many times. Flooding the engine is still possible if the choke is not removed after the engine fires.

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
63.3 cc (3.86 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
2.9 kW (3.9 bhp)
WEIGHT
10.1 kg (22.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
1700 cc (57.5 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE*
26 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY**
82 m/sec. (183 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY**
98 m/sec. (219 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE**
850 m3/h (500 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING**
76 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE
Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI B175.2 standard. All specifications provided by ANDREAS STIHL AG & Co. KG. As of April 2016.

Important Information

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

BR 430 is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 151.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower, I am very happy with my purchase With so many sizes of blowers, I was worried perhaps I did not get one large enough for what I needed. I am beyond pleased with the selection that I made with the help of the salesman. I live on an acre and need something with enough power to blow leaves, fir cones, fir needles, cedar tree droppings, gravel, blow out flower beds and such. This unit does the trick perfectly!
Date published: 2019-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Product is great and ideal for every Home Owner The BR 430 Blower has been the ideal blower for my purposes as a regular Home Owner. It works just as good if not better than the BR 600. The Blowing capacity ratings are pretty close to the BR 600 from 199 mph to 189 mph. That is not a whole lot of difference for what I need it for. It's a great Blower in its own Class!
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall a great machine. This blower is easy to use, starts every time, and has plenty of power. It is pretty light and does not strain my back at all. Important to me due to multiple back surgeries.My only issue is that it really needs a chest strap or it slips off my shoulders. I used a Velcro strap and that fixes the problem.Recommend Stihl modify the design of the straps to include a chest strap with a quick release.
Date published: 2019-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had it for 1 year and it still runs like the day I got it ! Awesome power and still good on gas. Love it. I would recommend it to everyone. Hands down the best. Bag for your buck.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl the best I bought this Stihl 430 from a pawnshop almost brand new for 230 dollar lol and I love this blower plenty of power before I had an echo 580 backpack blower and I didn't like it the trigger was very uncomfortable and my hand was getting very tired after 5 minutes but not with this still 430 backpack blower it works every penny
Date published: 2019-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BR 430 Great power, more than I need for residential landscaping, and general cleanup around home. Will blow rocks & debris, be careful around vehicles.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior Blower Absolutely love and would highly recommend this product
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine. Many purchasers mention the problem of the shoulder straps slipping off their shoulders. I solved this problem with a couple cable ties like the electricians use to bundle electrical wires. Loop the cable ties around the top of the shoulder straps right near where they fasten onto the frame of the blower. If you did not cinch up enough slack on the first attempt, you can adjust the cable tie easily. If you get it too short you will have to cut the tie and start over. No problem, They cannot be reused but they are cheap. The ties can be joined end to end to make a tie long enough to loop over both shoulder straps.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Weight is average, would be nice if it came with a chest strap for more support. Starts and runs great. Has plenty of power. Love the cruise control!
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BR430 Backpack Blower I purchased this blower a couple of months back and have used it several times. It starts on the first and second pull every time. This thing has a tremendous amount of power and doesn't seem to burn a lot of gas. Its very simple to operate and comfortable to wear. The only downfall I have is one strap will come off your shoulder. I remedied this by purchasing a chest strap. Solved the problem. I notice very little vibration. Its a little louder than my hand carry one but this one is much larger. I can only say good things about Stihl products. I have a Stihl chainsaw, a shop vac and now a blower and have nothing but praise for them.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great so far. My company has had one of these models for approximately 4 years. We have been very pleased with it.I needed one for around the house and am equally pleased so far.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely happy with a Stihl I bought this as a replacement because I had my other backpack blower stolen. I'm glad I spent the extra money and got myself a Stihl instead of just replacing what was stolen. Much better!
Date published: 2019-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from plenty of power I purchased this blower for home use. We have many trees on our property. The blower starts easily, runs relatively quietly (although ear plugs helpful) and has plenty of power to move leaves anywhere. Anti-vibration design is also a plus. I received an extended 4 year warranty by purchasing the Stihl 2 cycle oil. The unit appears well built to give many years of use. The only cons I have are that the instructions are weak with regard to blower tube assembly and the shoulder straps tend to slip off at times as there is no chest strap.
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First gas blower I have a battery blower for doing light sweeping, and a corded electric one that does OK but managing the cord is a pain. Enter the Stihl 430. Wow. Far more power than I've ever had and I can go anywhere. It's the best of all worlds. Fairly easy to start, and I wish I hadn't waited so long to buy it!
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!! I love it! I debated on spending the $$ on a top quality blower. I used my friends BR350 and loved it. Though the BR350 was great I opted for the more powerful BR430. I’ve had it for three months now and couldn’t be happier. I’m so glad I spent the extra $50 and got the 430. One of the best purchases I have ever made. I know when I go out to blow away wet leaves, I won’t have any problems. I blow away gumballs, pine cones, and small sticks. Acorns are a bit stubborn but I get them as well. My wife is small but an athlete. In the beginning she had troubling with the pull start. Now it isn’t a problem. Great buy. Highly recommend
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What once took 5 fuel refills, now takes only 2! The added force and fuel efficiency of this blower totally blowes away the performance of my original leaf blower. It’s powerful enough to move wet leaves during a rainstorm (I was caught out finishing my leaves this past fall). My original blower was worthless when it had to move wet leaves. Not true with the aStihl BR 430. What used to require five refuelings now takes only two. The added power and efficiency of this blower has made me a true Stihl fan!
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of power Blower keeps wanting to fall off your shoulder. I found an old strap with plastic connector and put it around the chest straps. Holds it secure now.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding blower. We bought this for our yard. We have probably about an acre of land by a lake. The previous owners did not remove leaves in the fall so I estimate there was about 20 years of fallen leaves or nearly 2 feet thick of leaves around the property. I had a battery powered leaf blower from Lowe’s that was adequate to clear the driveway but that’s about it. A neighbor recommended STIHL. Although the price was much higher than a gas powered model from HD or Lowe’s I purchased the 430. To say the 430 is life changing almost does it justice. In a few hours I was able to completely remove all the leaves. It was powerful enough to blow anything but also adjustable so I could get the leaves in nice piles. Other cheaper gas powered models are out there but you get what you pay for. The 430 is strong, solid and comfortable. I highly recommend it to anyone!
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blower Ever I have had a few blowers but this is the last. It’s Awesome.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful blower works Great! I had a Roybi back pack blower. What a piece of Junk! As always I should had bought a Stihl. Needed a blower that would blow the leaves and small stick out of my rock area. This guy does the job and more. I have a Stihl chaninsaw for some time, but now that I can pay for less aggravation get a stihl. I have a weed eater and a blower now. Next a hedge trimmer.
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great performance for size I was looking at the 350, but the Stihl expert showed meThe differences from this to the 430. Thank goodness I went with the bigger one. Wet leaves are fairly tough to blow. I am very pleased with my purchase. Eddie a Stihl Guy
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I had a Stihl BR 340 for 12 years and it was adequate to blow dry leaves if they weren't too deep. I upgraded to the BR 430 and it made a world of difference. It takes half of, the time to blow leaves, and takes less effort to get the deep piles moved. The newer technology starts easier, and gets better run time on a tank of gas. The extended warranty offered by the dealer makes it doubly worth it.It doesn't weigh any more than the BR 340, so that's a don't care. I'm a big Stihl fan and wouldn't buy any other brand.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blows me away, BR430 I had been using a crappy blower. Got this model and OMG! once you use an excellent blower you will find using it can be addictive. I have a lot of Oak and Hickory trees that drop nuts and plenty of leaves. Wet leaves and nuts and twigs blow right off lawn and driveway.Stop wasting your time and get out to your local dealer and you will find the model that fits your needs.BTW, this model blower is great for blow drying your car or motorcycle after a wash.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be happier I was torn between the BR350 and the BR430 and decided to spring the extra bit of money to go with the 430. I can't say the 350 couldn't have done what I needed, but I couldn't be happier with my 430. First day using it was the day after it had rained all day and it blew stacks of wet leaves with no effort.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I use the same one at work I've used I'd there for 4 years never had a issue with it I bought mine 2 years ago for home and I love it holds up great has great power it's a great blower to own I love mine
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from From Maple leafs to pine needles in gravel Was going to go with smallet vac but was told the BR430 will move wet maple leafs better. It moves all the wet leafs, pine needles, pine cones does a great job. You get what you pay for
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good machine and a fix for the harness falling off the shoulders I love my new 430BR. My only concern prior to purchase was the comment, repeated several times above, about the harness slipping off the shoulders. I'm a relatively small guy (5'8" and 160lb) and that happened to me as well.Here's how I addressed it. I went to a backpacking supply house and bought a backpack chest strap and a backpack belt. The front of the harness , at the bottom of each shoulder pad, is an strap through which the chest strap can be threaded. I used this to put on the chest strap. When I have the 430 on my back, the chest strap rides on my upper chest. This solved the problem of the harness straps falling off my shoulder.However, this also caused the 430 to move away from the small of my back. I solved this with the backpack belt, bringing the bottom of the 430 to rest in the small of my back, just above my hips. For under $20 I solved the harness problem. I'm surprised that Stihl does not install the strap and belt as standard equipment.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worked great for 20 minutes and then died...now it's been in the shop for almost a month... I love my Stihl chainsaw and brush trimmer, so I was surprised and disappointed that this blower broke on its maiden voyage after less than 20 minutes. Now it's been in the shop for almost 4 weeks with little faith that I will ever get it back. Meanwhile the leaves are falling....
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower, I can't wait for fall I really am happy with this blower. It literally blows away my previous backpack blower. I can stand in one place and completely clear a space that required several minutes of walking back and forth to clear. I have a lot of trees that drop a lot of leaves each year and I anticipate cutting my blowing time at least in half.
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good power I got this blower after originally getting the BR350. While the 350 did a decent job, I just was not happy with the performance related to the price. I was allowed to return the 350 and try the 430 and I am glad I did. The 430 has significantly more power and a few other nice features that make it work the extra $50. I think the 430 is a great blower for someone who wants a backpack blower but is not willing to make the step to a BR 600+.
Date published: 2018-10-08
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_151
  • loc_en_US, sid_br430, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Backpack Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL backpack blowers.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

BR 350/BR 430 STIHL Backpack Blowers - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer