BR 200

Image of br200
A lightweight, professional-caliber backpack blower for use around the home.

Product Description

Comfortable. Affordable. And more power to you. The fuel-efficient STIHL BR 200 blower puts the quality of a professional backpack blower in the hands of homeowners everywhere. Its single-handed operation is easy to control, while its lightweight design and anti-vibration technology enhance operator comfort. The 35.5 oz. fuel tank also means fewer refuels compared to handheld blowers; hence, fewer interruptions to the task at hand.

STIHL Expert: An up close look at the BR 200 Backpack Blower - Watch Video

Model Features

  • Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More information

  • Anti-Vibration System
    The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle makes it easy to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Adjustable Support Harness
    STIHL backpack blowers and sprayers are equipped with an adjustable support harness that distributes weight evenly across the shoulders and back, reducing user fatigue.

    See it in action!

Specifications

DISPLACEMENT
27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER
0.8 kW (1.07 bhp)
WEIGHT
5.7 kg (12.6 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY
1050 cc (35.5 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE*
12 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY**
56 m/sec. (125 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY**
67 m/sec. (150 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE**
680 m3/h (400 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING**
70 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE
Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI B175.2 standard. All specifications provided by ANDREAS STIHL AG & Co. KG. As of April 2016.

Important Information

Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

BR 200 is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 148.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great economy blower ! For your home and outdoor use, this is an incredibly powerful little blower !! I am on a bit over an acre & this baby does all I want and more !! Light weight compared to the others of commercial quality, but packs a punch far beyond any of the handheld blowers on the market !!
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average Blower Excellent quality... Subpar blower performance even for a home owner.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great so far Great product! Start fast and run smooth. Only issue is the blowing power is a bit weak, but it does the job.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from As far as dependability of blower, it is as good as any other Sthil product. Disappointed in power of blower. Good for light duty needs. Would have been better off spending extra dollars for commercial blower.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back pack blowers are the way to go! I don't miss my handheld electric blower at all! Stihl makes dependable and easy to use products. The strap padding dulls the engine vibrations and the unit is light weight. Starts on the first pull every time!
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy Even A Young Boy Can Use It I am a lady who loves yard work! After working in the yard I usually saved the blowing until last. Often times, my big blower was just too heavy for blowing grass clippings. I don't like handheld blowers they seem awkward to me. I found this great little backpack blower at my Ace Hardware Store. It is lightweight, easy to start*, (after the initial start of the season) and it does a great job on light to medium duty chores. I would definitely recommend one of Stihl's bigger blowers for heavier duty jobs, wet leaves, etc.... This blower is so lightweight and easy to start that my seven-year-old grandson can use it! I had purchased him a battery-powered handheld blower but he did not like it. He asked me for mine and of course, I gave it to him (he didn't want a "new" one he wanted his "Lovie's!). So, back to Ace Hardware in Chickamauga, GA. I went to purchase a second Stihl BR 200. Yes, I like it that much.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little blower lots of power I have had this blower for three days and have been using it everyday all day to keep my yard looking nice to clean up the leafs its been a great blower i even took it to clean up a ladys house witch it was Atleast used for an hours however the factory didn't tie down the clamps that hold the tubes that the air comes out of on so make sure u get the long l shaped star tool to tighten it before u use it dont let that stop u from getting it its really easy to do
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower We like this unit. It is light weight, easy to start and powerful.
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't start after 20 hours I bought this less than a year ago , have used it 6 times and now it doesn't start. It will take 3 to 4 weeks to get it back! I love Stihl products, have 2 saws and never a problem. Who is going to finish leaf clean up now...not sure it was a wise purchase. Agree with curved blower tube comment.
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Attachment for all the wrong reasons... Bought this unit after considering the BG86 C. Primary purpose was to use a unit with the gutter cleaning attachment. Salesman assured me that the attachment would fit. Not...Chose this unit due to the back pack functionality versus the handheld models. Surprise, surprise, the BR200 nozzle is larger than the handheld units.Back to the store, to trade the BR200 for the BG86 C; unit works as advertised. Happy camp...
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it but... The BR 200 is a little under powered, I realize I bought a homeowner unit, not a commercial unit. Also, I wish you sold a curved tube to get closer to the ground to control the direction of the blown leaves better. I think some of your competitors do. You do make good products, I own 2 of your chains saws.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy starting My first Stihl product and it won't be the last sure bets the other brands hands down.
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to use and perfect for my yard work I bought this because my hand held was tedious to use for longer than a few minutes. This one is light enough for me and yet powerful enough to keep my driveway, yard, and ditches free of leaves etc. I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, I always purchase Stihl Stihl products are the BEST! I have in many years past purchased cheaper tools but quickly learned that you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More power than expected I had first looked at this blower for my Dad who is in his 70s and has 8 acres with a lot of trees. I wanted something lightweight. I ended up not getting it for him, but had always remembered my youngest son putting it on his back and it was light enough for him. He is 10 now and has started blowing leaves and doing yard work for a business with his older brother. His brother was always stuck running the blower instead of the rider because the handheld was too heavy for my 10-year old. So I bought this for them to use and it has more power than any handheld i have ever tried. You don't get tired running it and works great for all sizes as I am 6'4" 300+ and love using it. If you are tired of handhelds but don't want something big and noisy on your back this is a great option.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This was exactly what I needed: powerful, light and reliable. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2018-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded Expectations The BR 200 has surprising power and very low noise level for such a light weight machine. Turns out the 12 Newtons is perfect for getting leaves and debris out of the gardens, blowing the leaves into piles and moving them (in reasonable amounts) to where you want them. It started very well and ran smoothly. Only minor issue is the corrugated tubing coming off the back pack is stiff. Could be the newness or the very cold weather? Overall, pleasantly surprised and very happy with it.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A arm and bad saving way to remove leaves For years I'vet either raked, used mower or electric blower to remove leaves from lawn and planting beds, not anymore. The BR 200 is a lightweight powerhouse that has freed me from the exhausting process of fall. No more sore arms and back, no more constantly empty mower bag or being limited by a electric power cord.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleasant surprise I’m happy to say that my new leaf blower works like a charm. Lightweight but powerful enough to do the job!
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lightweight blower If you are reading this review, I highly recommended paying the extra $30.00. the other 2 large blower manufacturers charge for a comparable about $30.00 less.This blower has a lot of power. I have owned both of the others and they were pure garbage compared to the BR200. We own an acre of property and I was amazed how this blower cleaned out the flower beds. The other 2 barely moved the debris from the beds.You will not be disappointed!
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little blower! I was a little skeptical about this little blower, as "how good could it really be at that price and size?" Very good.......that's how good! It's light weight makes it ideal for climbing my hill and doing gutter cleanout. Number three in my Stihl team, and I have zero regrets in purchasing it!
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has everything I need It's not the biggest, but it serves my needs. When we were having lots of rain this summer, I even used it to scatter the clippings rather than leaving clumps on the lawn. It's easy to handle, and comfortable to operate. I don't know how I got along without my "Man Broom".
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I love the BR200. It is light, easy to use, and quite powerful for a small blower. I just finished an hour job blowing leaves off of our 1/4 mile long road and could do another hour easy it is that light. I wear ear plugs and ear muff hearing protection so it is just fun blowing stuff around without the noise.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower is the real deal! We bought the smaller back pack blower wiith my wife in mind for much of its usage. We were a little concerned the blower wouldn’t be powerful enough to handle the debris after tropical depression Michael blew through. The 13 pound blower was just the ticket. Thank you Stihl!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower works great Beats the Heck out of any handheld blowers - I couldn't go back to anything else after using this blower - AWESOME
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The design allows my 5-5 wife to use it easily Previously we had a cheaper, hand-held blower design where the engine, blower and tube were one long device. Its design meant that you had to support the weight with one hand. After finishing a session, my wife always complained of back and muscle problems.The BR200 puts 95 percent of the weight into the backpack, which my wife describes as very comfortable, and easy to use. She likes using it so much, she occasionally blows leaves at the neighbor's house because using it is almost fun.
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2nd time using would not start I bought a Stihl for dependability, but this one does not have it. 2nd time using it, the leaf blower would not start. I had to take it back to the retailer I bought it and have not heard anything. I was also a little disappointed in the power of the BR 2oo.
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Blower I wanted a small lightweight blower for use in our landscape beds. This is so perfect for our size home and has plenty of power to spare for bigger jobs like clearing our driveway of snow. An added advantage is it's so light and maneuverable makes blowing our drive a breeze. Works great on fall leaves and gutter cleaning since it's so light. Starts every time on the second pull just like clockwork. I'd buy this again in a heartbeat if it ever quits which I doubt it will. Simply great blower!
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely satisfied I'm extremely satisfied with this light weight blower which is why I went with this one. It only weighs 12 pounds. Very easy to start and holds enough fuel to last quite awhile. I was worried it would get to heavy for me or the vibration would get to be to much but that is not the case. If you snug the straps down its very comfortable and I am able to get my very large yard almost done before I need a break or more fuel. Definitely recommend buying.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Light Weight Blower I purchased this blower for the upcoming leaf season and I couldn't be happier. It starts very easy and is super light. The power is average for what it is. I have a smaller yard and it is perfect for what I need!
Date published: 2018-10-12
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_148
  • loc_en_US, sid_br200, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Backpack Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL backpack blowers.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

BR 200 Backpack Blower - Video
STIHL Expert: An up close look at the BR 200 Backpack Blower - Video
Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer