BGA 45

Image of bga45
A battery-powered blower with an integrated Lithium-Ion battery and the performance of STIHL.

Product Description

Part of the AI Series, the BGA 45 handheld blower delivers the power you need at an incredible value. It is exceptionally quiet and lightweight at 4.4 lbs., including integrated battery. On a single charge, the BGA 45 can clear more than 13 parking spaces (2,153 square ft.) with a blowing speed of 85 mph and an air volume of 235 cfm. If you own a small property and need a quick go-to blower for your driveway and walkways, the BGA 45 is the complete package.

Usage claim tested and verified by an independent third-party test laboratory. Run time may vary based on battery type, charge level and capacity, model, operating style and conditions. Comes with integrated battery and charger.

View Our Usage Chart



Model Features

  • Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More information

  • Rubberized Soft Touch Handle 
    Soft rubber texture is both easy to grip and makes the product comfortable to hold for extended periods.
  • Activation Key
    When removed, the activation key helps prevent accidental use/startup of the product. Battery will still charge with activation key removed – charge lights also work as well
  • Battery Indicator Lights
    This product is equipped with built-in indicator lights, showing the battery status and remaining level of charge.
  • Compact, ergonomic design
    The compact, ergonomic design provides more comfortable use.
  • Lightweight Portability
    Great for maneuverability and extended use.

Specifications

BLOWING FORCE*
5 Newtons
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE**
400 m3/h (235 cfm)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY**
44 m/sec (98 mph)
AVG. AIR VELOCITY**
38 m/sec. (85 mph)
SOUND PRESSURE LEVEL
60 (dB(A))
POWER SOURCE
Battery
BATTERY SERIES
AI Series
WEIGHT (w/ Integrated Battery)
2.0 kg (4.4 lbs.)
RUN TIME (w/ Integrated Battery)
Up to 10 minutes
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. Comes with integrated battery and charger.

Important Information

Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.

WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.

Reviews

BGA 45 is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very short run-time I have a 1500 sq. ft. driveway and with a full charge, this blower will not clean it when there is only a small amount of debris. Less than 20 mins. run-time.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super tool I bought this blower from a local distributor a couple of weeks ago, for my wife since she has trouble getting our heavy duty Stihl gas blower started being petite. It is great not only for her but i use it all the time for small jobs.After giving it a full charge, i found it worked for 15 min straight doing a gravel road at about 80 F today. interesting, it runs at full power all the way until it just stops. I didn't get a warning by it running sort of slow before it just stops! I am okay with that as long as i know it is going to stop after 15 minutes of continuous operation.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY HAPPY I am happily surprised how great this blower is. It is light weight (with Rheumatoid Arthritis lightweight was a must) but still very powerful. It does all we need it to do with ease and quickly. The charger is easy to use and charges quickly and keeps the charge for a long time. We are very happy with this blower!
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight! Bought for my wife to use, she loves it for blowing off the porch and patio
Date published: 2019-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little tool I don't think the review score matches up with how great this tool is. I think the expectations are probably too high it does a great job of clearing a sidewalk of about 100 ft and I think that's what it's intended for it clears a deck easily enough and walkways and pathways or driveway after you dust it up with sawdust
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product. Be embarrassed Terrible product. Surprised Stihl would manufacture such a inferior product. Tech supports at Stihl headquarters said he has competitive brand at his house because all Stihl blowers are inferior to competitors
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love this blower! I wanted a lightweight blower to use on walkways, decks, and an asphalt driveway, and this model is PERFECT! Hubby has a gas blower for the lawn, but it’s to bulky for me. This Stihl unit is so simple to use and so lightweight, I love it. While it does need to be charged every other time I use it, I’m able to easily clear two 600 sf decks with stairs, a concrete patio, walkway, landings, and stairs down to the dock each time. It’s so simple to charge, it’s not a big deal. I absolutely love this tool.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect if used as intended Just purchased today. Bright it home, plugged it in to charge, and used it immediately. Was able to test it at the store before I bought it. The power is great unless you think you are going to go out and blow a yard full of foot deep leaves. Cleared two porches, under one porch, the garage and my backyard patio on the first charge. It was not dead at the end but was down to one bar. Cut it off between spots, don't blow aimlessly and be efficient with your time. It does only last probably ten minutes but if you minimize waste, it will do the job just fine. Do not buy this blower thinking you are going to blow your yard full of leaves. It's strong enough to blow some leaves but will need multiple charges.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great tool for small jobs I've read several unfavorable reviews about this blower, but my experience with it has been very favorable. I purchased the blower for my wife who uses it to clean of our front sidewalk after I mow. It's light enough and easy enough for her to use, and it has more than enough power to blow grass off of the sidewalk. Some of the unfavorable reviews complained about the length of time one can run the blower on a battery charge. This is an economical light duty blower, and one shouldn't expect it to have the run time of a gas powered unit. My wife has used the blower 5 or 6 times to clean off our 4' X 24' sidewalk, and the charge indicator still shows three lights; that seems very good to me.If you need a blower for small cleaning jobs, the BGA 45 is a blower worth considering.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Battery only lasts 5 -7 minutes Has decent power but you only get 5-7 min on a full charge
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good lightweight blower We wanted a blower that could clear the back deck of leaves, and it needed to be easy to operate and lightweight. This unit certainly fit the requirements; it makes cleaning the deck easy and fast. Now we can enjoy more of our evening time, rather then spend time sweeping off the leaves-we just blow them away. Great value for the money.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Battery sucks Brand new and the best I get is 7 minutes of battery life. You can't get anything done in 7 minutes. By the time it recharges I've got the rest done with a shovel. Waist of my money.
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blower and good value! The BGA 45 is a good blower. I did expect a bit more power, however. Couple of suggestions: 1) After charging the battery and letting it sit, when you first apply power, it would help to show the battery level ... just in case you forgot when you charged it last. 2) While using it, it would help to show the battery level as it declines so that you can plan on how much longer you can use the blower before having to stop and re-charge it.
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product sucks. Battery lasts less than 10 minutes. Took it back. Seemed like a good idea. Operationally it had enough power to do what I expected for a small blower. The battery lasted less than ten minutes!!! Worthless to clean anything larger than a 40 square foot area!! I took it back to the dealer. Don't even think of buying this unless you have a VERY small area to blow.
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for a large covered patio powerfull enough, battery last for a month of daily short use. and it is so quiet I don't need my headphones. Perfect for what I needed.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed!!!! My husband bought this for me so I wouldn't have to bother unrolling 75 ft. of extension cord. Once I knew it's limitations, I was quite happy with it. It's perfect for clean-up work after he mows the lawn, etc., and the battery lasts long enough to accommodate these kinds of quickie jobs, and my stamina. When I'm finished, I recharge the battery and am ready for the next day's work. Great for a 77-year old woman!!!
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very limited battery charge I purchased this product as it was from Stihl (love their chain saws) and thought that this would be a good foray into battery powered yard equipment. This blower is very light and rather quiet, but when I first used it, the charge only lasted for about 10 minutes. I thought that perhaps it was only charged for demo purposes and plugged it in to get a full charge. I took it out again the next day and it again died after 10 minutes. That's great if you are cleaning off a city driveway of have a postage stamp sized yard, but it is totally inadequate for a regular sized yard.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The main thing is lightweight and it is strong for a small motor You could probably blow out for two car garages I don't think you'd use it to blow out a yard though but you could blow out your driveway and your carports and garages and Patio but it does it lasts about 20 minutes
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need more Love Stihl products. Unfortunately this did not measure up and had to be returned. Battery life seemed to last about 10 minutes. Facing the choice of spending more for a Stihl upgrade or spending less on a comparable competitors model that has a battery life of an additional 10 to 15 minutes....returned the Stihl and kept the Competitors model. Would have loved to keep the Stihl...but....
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed in battery life Battery runs for 10 minutes (at the most on a full charge).Very disappointed regarding run time. I like that it is light and easy to handle. I would not recommend this product to blow leaves and such off a 16x20 deck, or snow off steps! It just does not last long enough.
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT I purchased this product to replace a perfectly good gas blower. It was difficult for me to start and was heavy. I use this to blow the drive and sidewalks after mowing and trimming and blow the garage floor several days a week. It's not very powerful, but it does the job and is lightweight and doesn't require mixing any fuel or yanking rope to get it to start. I charge it after every use and keep it clean and stored out of any dangers.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The product looked good The blower has about a 20 min battery life at most.
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for job at hand Almost didn't buy this blower after reading reviews.Glad I Did! I need a lightweight blower for my wife for cleaning garage and back patio. Plenty enough power and Battery for both which was main complaint in reviews. I have a stihl gas blower for the yard and fall leaves. Talked to my stihl dealer about power and battery, he told me if I wasn't happy he'd take it back and we could go to a bigger battery powered unit. No need this is perfect!
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with price and service lightweight but powerful happy with it priced reasonably
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy handling I really enjoy the ease of using this blower. My garage is always clean now that I have this blower. I was so tired of using a broom. It's so easy to just grab the blower and go! I also use it too clean driveway and sidewalks after mowing. It blows at 85mph, but do wish it was a bit more powerful. I would still recommend this product. I think it's a good value for the price
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect tool for my camper I own a fleet of Stihl cordless tools for home and love them all but needed a small cordless blower to use while camping to blow off our patio rug and awning. It works perfect. We like remote camping without electricity and one charge of my BGA45 lasts my entire camping trip. Great tool!
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No power. Last 11 min per charge Will not recommend to anyone needing a REAL blower
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 9 minute battery life From a full charge this will run for exactly 9 minutes.My dad bought this for me without reading any reviews or doing any research on it.I am extremely annoyed to have to make an hour long drive to give it back to him so he can hopefully be able to return it.Why Stihl thought that putting an integrated Li-Ion battery device on the market with such an unacceptably short run-time is beyond me... they're obviously losing brand loyalty by selling this kind of junk product.
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product My wife and I are very pleased with the product it is light ,quite and recharges quickly.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'm blue once again The battery doesn't even last 15 minutes. I can't even do my side walk and drive way. I fell for this one. I thought, spend the money, get the name, splurge on yourself for once. Names mean nothing anymore.
Date published: 2018-06-13
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_bga45, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl

Standard Features

  • Common Features for Handheld Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL handheld blowers.

We Also Suggest

For Your Safety

Support

Product Instruction Manual (PDF)
Read what our customers say about STIHL blowers
Product Safety Manual (PDF)
STIHL Limited Warranty
Contact Us

Share

My Preferred Dealer